petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate

Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate

Brick of compressed coconut fiberExpands to make seven to eight liters of substrate per brickNaturally absorbs and breaks down odor and waste productsIdeal substrate for burrowing animalsPerfect for all types of reptiles, amphibians, small animals, or insects
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
46 out of 52(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Review 21 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Humidity Saver!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clifford
I live in eastern Colorado and to keep optimal humidity in my boa’s cage has always been a challenge till I used this product. This stuff holds humidity unbelievably well and I recommend it to any one having problems holding humidity in their snakes or frogs enclosures. Very happy about Eco Earth :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I swear by this stuff

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kerrianne
Eco Earth is the only substrate I use for my hermit crabs. I could not find it in any store in my area so I ordered it off Petco.com and for a great price. I'll keep ordering it each time I need it because it's the only substrate I'll ever use. It naturally breaks down waste and the used dirt can be used in our garden. Nothing goes to waste and we recycle it with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Purchase

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
bostic
from GA
I love this stuff!!! It helps keep the humidity up for my hermit crabs & they love to dig in it !!! They went wild when I put it in !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Substrate!!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
kippazsis
from Berkshires,MA
This is the best substrate out there, hands down. Easy care, great for tunneling, easy to keep moist/dry (whatever your needs are). I use for my snake and my mice. I don't have to worry about anything getting stuck in the snakes mouth when she eats, and it's extremely good for mice (think odor control!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Juniornbop
This substrate expands really well with minimal effort, unlike some others we have tried that were very difficult to get apart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic!

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
bustertheboa
from South Central PA
This stuff is AWESOME! It holds humidity extremely well, which is crucial for hermit crab husbandry. It also is great for the crabs to dig in and bury themselves -- a MUST for safe and proper molting. It is vastly better than any other substrate -- aquarium gravel, sand, bark, mulch, crushed coral -- that I have used before. The hermies LOVE it!
The stuff expands to make a lot of substrate, Two bricks was enough to give 3-4 inches of substrate in my 20-gallon long. It doesn't take long to make and is easy to store when not in use, thanks to the brick compression. Once in the tank, the dark brown color is very attractive and gives a sharp contrast with the crabs and their various toys and tank decorations. It looks really good.
My only very minor "complaints" are as follows: The stuff is quite messy. The crabs trail bits and pieces of coconut husk into their food and water bowls. Also, the aroma is not particuarly pleasant. I wouldn't go so far as to call it frankly offensive, but I'm glad that the tank is largely covered by clear plastic to keep the humidity in the tank (and hence the aroma as well).
Lastly, you really can't clean the stuff by simply rinsing and washing it -- at least not like you can with crushed coral and gravel. You need to throw out all the substrate and replace it de novo. That is, unless you are willing to comb through it and manually remove all the decapod waste. With gravel and crushed coral, I would just wash the stuff out and reuse it. On the flip side, this product is infinitely better for satisfying the digging and burrowing needs of my hermies.
Overall this is a FABULOUS product for hermit crabs. It is reasonably priced and lasts a long time -- with a month or more, even up to 3 months if you do "spot cleaning", between changes -- so the inability to wash it and reuse it is not a big deal. I will most definitely keep getting it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
HermitCrabandDogLover
from Louisiana
This is a great cheap substrate for my hermit crabs. It doesn't take long to expand and my crabs love to bury in it. It also holds heat and humidity very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arachnophile
I use this in my Anole and Scorpion cages whenever I can get it. It holds humidity well and is a good substitute for the cypress mulch I used to use. It makes it easier to clean up little lizard and scorpion droppings because they don't fall into the gaps like they do with the mulch. Great product! I think I'd buy this in 100 pound cubes if they had them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this stuff

PostedMay 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
NewFroggyMommy
from NH
This is an excellent product to use. I use it for my Whites Tree Frogs as well as my Amazon milk frogs. Also when purchasing live plants for the viv. take out the potting soil as this causes impaction issues and replace it with this bedding. Its safer and the plants/frogs love it. I love that its inexpensive and goes along way. Ive had NO MOLD issues like others. I have had my humidity as far up as 99 when first placing this in the viv. I typically take things out of the viv and move the bedding around with my hands. No problems here !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for hermit crabs!

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
ratykins94
Really good for hermit crabs to dig and have fun in! Mine love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Substrate for Crabs

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
megamelfina
This is an excellent substrate for hermit crabs. They love digging in it and it is lighter then sand! It also holds humidity really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
LadyRaven
from Nevada
I used the carpet floor covering for my Jungle Carpet Pythons, but needed something to keep the humidity higher. I purchased Eco Earth and I’m so glad I did! It keeps the humidity at the right level when misted daily. It is important that you don’t have it soggy or it can mold, just mist it enough in the morning that the humidity is maintain but it can become dry by the next morning when you mist it again. I expanded a whole brick and then put what I wasn’t using into a container already expanded so that it makes changing it out quick. I do not feed in their terrariums with the soil as it can be ingested, I use a separate feeding tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product, will buy again.

PostedMarch 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Souli
This product is amazing, its ecologically safe, it stays moist constantly, is easy to use and is like dirt, but much cleaner
i have a chaco gold knee tarantula and it LOVES to burrow in it, you have to mist every day or two but other than that it holds moisture excellently and its soft and easy for critters to walk on
i will buy this product again but not for a couple years because according to some research, i don't have to change it for about 1-4 years!
coconut fiber prevents mold growth!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mold?!

PostedFebruary 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
KTcat
from Omaha, NE
I bought this for my juvenile Chinese Water Dragon, Cosmo, about a month ago. I used to have paper towels in the bottom of the cage but I couldn't keep the humidity up.
On the label it says this is good for tropical habitats- that's why I picked it.
Yes, it keeps the humidity up and it looks fantastic but after only a month there is a thin layer of white fluffy mold everywhere! (the cage is otherwise spotless) It also sticks to Cosmo's mouth and eyes and he doesn't like sitting on it.
I've sanitized the cage and went back to paper towels and he seems more lively.
All in all I do not recommend it for something like a Chinese water dragon which requires such large amounts of water and humidity.
But as long as you keep an eye out for mold I say try it for yourself, you might have better luck...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good!

PostedDecember 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amphibafreak
This is an awesome product! I use it for my two frogs and it works perfectly. It is very absorbent, so you need to keep it moist though. The only problem that I have with it is that you have to soak it for a long time in water so that it loosens up (it comes in brick), which takes forever and is messy. But other than that, it is a good choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT substrate!

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cellphonebutton
from DE
OMG, this substrate is just perfect! Keeps the humidity in, lasts long (you don't need to use that much, you get a lot in a little bit!) it's a good price, & stays damp long. My hermit crabs love it, & find digging in it easily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Substrate for Hermit Crabs

PostedJuly 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Herm
I've found that Eco Earth makes a very good substrate for hermit crabs. It is much better than gravel or calcium sand as a main substrate, because it allows the hermit crabs to easily dig underground to molt, which is vital to their well-being. Eco-Earth also has a nice appearance and is reasonably inexpensive. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a little goes a long way

PostedJuly 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
minpinlady
This product is a really good substrate for the bottom of a cage as long as you are going to put something else over it. It kept sticking to my frogs really bad so I had to put bark over the top of it. After that it worked really good at keeping the humidity up and it didn't get on my frogs as much. You get a good value for your money because it swells up so much that you don't need much of it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vash
from PA
I bought four bricks for my fifty five gallon tank thinking I would need all four to cover it but it expands so much I only needed two bricks to cover the bottom. It looks great and it was a good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Briee
My pac man frogs just love this bedding. They love to burrow themselves in it. It can dry out if the light is really warm, but they should be sprayed daily anyway, so its not a big issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>