petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate

Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate

Brick of compressed coconut fiberExpands to make seven to eight liters of substrate per brickNaturally absorbs and breaks down odor and waste productsIdeal substrate for burrowing animalsPerfect for all types of reptiles, amphibians, small animals, or insects
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
49 out of 55(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Review 1 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

eco earth compressed coconut fiber

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
mommyt5
from sedalia mo
Each one of the blocks contain enough material when water is added to fill a 15 gallon aquarium more than 7 inches deep. It is a healthy choice for salamanders.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Enclosure Bedding

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
VScott
from Idaho
Been using the Eco Earth coconut fiber substrate for several years, it is reasonably priced and easy to work with
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Substrate

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Newday1386
from Milwaukee, WI
I use this in my 50 gallon and 10 gallon tanks for my Hermit Crabs. The substrate retains the needed moisture and temperature needed to keep my Hermies happy. They love digging in it and move along it with ease. It also does not stick to their shells or legs. Will keep using for many years to come!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
champe2
from KY
This product works very well will animals thsat like a moist substrate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For Crested Geckos!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crestie22
from Racine, WI
This is perfect for my crested gecko. I just put the right amount of water in a bucket, put the brick in, and 5 minutes later the brick was soft and 3/4 of the water was gone. i broke the brick up a little, and 30 minutes later all of the water was gone and the brick turned into the perfect substrate for crested geckos. It was perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Alot of mess

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
DORTIZLuna
from Houston
The coconut substrate is cheap and it is comes in large quantities but it makes alot of mess and gets everywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Messy And Time Consuming

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
MiraLovesReptiles
from Jefferson City, MO
Once you have the actual dried product then it works about as well as dirt, albeit dirt that holds moisture well. The hassle of soaking it then drying it and having it not dry all the way and having to spread it out on a tarp to get it to dry was just not worth the hassle. The price is great and if you have the patience to get the end result then it works well, but for about the same price you can get organic dirt from general stores that works just as well. Overall I dislike how much time and effort go into getting it ready to use, but I agree that for being a cheap and easy to store substrate it isn't too bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
HermitCrabAddict
from USA
I use Eco Earth as a substrate for my hermit crabs. It holds hudmidity well and the crabs love to dig in it. The only minor issue I have with it is that it compresses a lot over time, so if you put 5 inches in originally, in a few months, you'll only have 3 inches of substrate. Just be sure to plan ahead if you have a critter that needs a certain substrate depth.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

eco earth

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikev
from downey Ca
Thisnis great substrate to se for any type of tropical repitle i use it for my columbian red tail boa i purchased from petco. It great for holding humidity and allowing my pet to burrow. If i ever goes dry just srpay a bit of waer and its like brand new. It also works as a great natural look for my terrarium as well as a deoderizer from any smell that comes from a snake habitat. I do reccomend it its the only thing i use. Great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Substrate

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JulieTRLI
from Centereach, NY
We use this mixed with equal amounts of play sand and it's the best substrate for most reptiles, especially our tortoises, turtles, hermit crabs, bearded dragon, etc. More like the natural earth than any other. Highly recommend. If you keep it clean it doesn't get mold, only where you leave old food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great stuff

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelliet
from paulden,az
I use this product for my garter snake all the time.
i like how it looks and it does not smell bad. i buy it in the three pack so i don't have to go out and buy more for a few months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very safe

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
petgirl1028
The coconut fiber can attract mites, and you dont want theat. also hermit crabs prefer sand because not one hermit crab was born in captivity, and they love to dig! :) hope i helped
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Death trap with mold included!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
saddragon
from Tacoma, wa
I had purchased this when I bought my Neon tree dragon, had never heard of it before, but was highly recommended. What they fail to mention, and I have read other reviews that state this as well, if you have a lizard that is a very active hunter, they will get the substrate in their mouth and choke. I had my dragon for all of 19 days after i got her. Also, molds very very quickly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Substrate for Hermit Crabs

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wyvern
from Saugus, CA
I like this substrate because it is easy to clean and my hermit crabs can dig in it. They dig holes in the corners of the tank so they can't be found most of the time. My hermits like to eat this more than the carrots and pellets set out for them (not sure if that's good). The humidity is kept at a good range since it can absorb a lot of water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
TortoiseLover101
from MD
this substrate was recommended to me by the staff at Petco for my russian turtle. she loves it! she can dig through it. one brick is the perfect amount for the size tank that i have :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
hermitlover01
The Eco Earth substrate is amazing. I just got this for the first time yesterday and i already love it.. my hermit crabs have been digging through it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

♥LOVE♥

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shopper101
from New Jersey
This is the best substrate ever! The brick absorbs the water in less than 20 minutes. One brick covers more than 2 inches in a 10 gallon aquarium and it gives it a natural look. In addition, my hermit crabs go crazy for this! Nice price, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Substrate Ever

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
animallover4567
from San Diego, Ca
This is the best hermit crab substrate ever. It helps with the humidity and crabs love it. This substrate also makes your tank look very natural and beautiful. This substrate is also good for molting crabs because it holds up better. Also with sand you have to clean the cage once a month but with this you only have to clean it every 6 months because it naturally decomposes the waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied customer

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
arcbuilder
from Pa
Crabs seem to like it ,was surprised how much is in one brick. would purchase again when needed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Eco Earth Compressed Coconut Fiber Expandable Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle Heaven!

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
BethLenee
I have a box turtle and I recently tried this product for her. She seems very happy as it allows her to easily bury herself, and I can hide her food in it for her to "hunt" for her food. Very clean smelling too as opposed to litter/bedding that soaks everything up and just stinks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>