petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PediPaws Nail Trimmer

PediPaws Nail Trimmer

Fast, easy & gentleWon't crack, splinter or break nailsRotating emery bands gently file nailsCordless and lightweightFiles to smooth rounded finish
Average Customer Rating:
3.347 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
12
30 out of 49(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Review 1 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginder

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bronxby
from Greensboro NC
I have two toy dogs both not happy to have nails clipped. But I have no struggle when I use this item........A ++++
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
KDArthur86
from Sanger, TX
Lets just accept it... cutting the nails, of dogs, especially large breeds, is always going to be difficult and slightly uncomfortable, for the animal, whether one uses clippers or a rotary trimmer, such as, the "Pedipaws Nail Trimmer". "PediPaws", is nothing more than a gimmick and really, you should either learn how to use traditional clippers or start taking your dog, to the vet, to have their nails trimmed. My vet, will trim the nails of my dog, free of cost and without an appointment. I don't know if all vets will do this, but the best way, in my opinion, to trim your dogs nails, is to take them to the vet, where a professional can do it, causing the least amount of discomfort to the animal and making it much easier on you, as well. I would NEVER recommend this product, to any dog owner... either go with traditional clippers or take your dog to a professional, but DO NOT waste your money, on a shenanigan, like the product "PediPaws Nail Trimmer".
TRUST ME... YOU'LL BE WASTING YOUR MONEY, PURCHASING THIS PRODUCT!!! .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pedipaws nail trimmer.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda082
from Oil City, PA
Absolutely love it. followed instructions on familiarizing my dog and 5 cats with it and now they love it and want me to do their nails every day. lol
Well done !! Best invention ever made for our pet families.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good product.

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dixie1
from kansas city, mo
My Dixie has always liked the battery operated nail filer. We can be in any position that make her feel comfortable for her and the vibrations are not as bad as the electric charged nail filer. I love the convenience of not having to wait to charge batteries and the being in any position that Dixie feel comfortable. Does a great job on the nails. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
dogs1
from hemet
dogs love it fall a sleep when doing there nails plactic catcher it hold the waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pedepaw

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Groomergotoo
from Kansas
these are awesome i have been through a couple of these but I also do others. most dogs will ajust to them with a little work. my dogs usually chill on there back while I do there nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PediPaws Nail Trimmer

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sultan
from Winston, Georgia
Very easy to use. Our dog does not like for us to work on her feet, but the PediPaws is so quite and does not hurt her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nail filer

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
goldendogs3
from tn
This product is useful. I found that holding the dog's nail helps with the vibration.
I hate using traditional nail clippers and this lets me trim their nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pedi Paws

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
grandmaRae
from Ohio
I bought this about 6 years ago and this is my 2nd one.cause I am temeraryily stay with my daughter while waiting on my house i bought. So all my stuff is in storage. nothing else works as well so I bought another one sure will not hurt to have an extra.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Goes the wrong way!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
LucysMama
from Las Vegas, NV
I love the concept of this tool! My oldest dog hates her feet being touched and I am scared of the traditional clippers (she yelps and it freaks me out that I'm hurting her). I needed to find a product that made it quick and easy to do her nails without hurting her. I bought a different brand (the tool is Blue) and I loved it (her not so much, but it was better than the clippers). It made fast work of a task I hated to do. Then we moved cross country. Couldn't find my trimmer so I had to borrow one of these from a friend and much to my surprise, the head rotates in the wrong direction! I'm right handed and it was very awkward using this trimmer! It kept catching on the tip of her nail and she just wasn't having it. Thankfully I have found her regular trimmer and we are very happy with it. I gave it two paws because it's comfortable to hold and the concept is amazing. I just can't see using my left hand for something as important as trimming my dogs nails.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ASGLRain
from Hawaii
I originally thought this was a cheap knockoff the peticure, but this is better. 1st off its cheaper than the original and it has a pressure safety to prevent heat. If too much pressure is used with this then the thing stops till you ease up. The other will keep going and cause alot of heat. The speed at which it turns is alot slower but that also translates to less heat. The only thing I dont like is C batteries are not common, but it is better than a cord which the dog would eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Help At All

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChugMomma
I own a 12 week old pug/chihuahua. His nails are all solid black, so it's impossible for me to trim him with regular clippers as i always end up cutting too deep. We happened to have one of these lying around the house, and i though "perfect", but it's far less than perfect. For 1, i can't get my dog to sit still, but that my be my dog, for 2, while it files the nails, it also sharpens them, making them sharp and hard to deal with for several days, even after taking him out on cement. and 3, the small inner nail on his front paws wont even fit into the slot to grind due to the guard. I'd say this is a horrible product to waste your time and money on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-24points
4of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small dogs

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
RachelandUgMug
from Washington
I used to do professionally dog grooming and I can say that while this product is not professional grade, it is great for home use on small to medium sized dogs. For those of you complaining about how long it takes to cut the nails, you are letting the nails GROW WAY TOO LONG. You can't expect a dremel (even a pro one) to take 1/2" or more off the nail. If our salon, we always trimmed with a clipper first if the nails were that long. HOWEVER, if you do own a dremel, you have no excuse for letting the nails get that bad! Too long nails are not comfortable for your dog and can even cause arthritis because they will make your dog walk funny. My rescued Chihuahua's nails were curled over and her poor little feet hurt! It took a lot of work to get her toes back down to normal and now I actually get compliments on how nice her nails look (no pawlish, just well groomed!). Unless you have a very active dog who wears their nails down to stubs, you need to trim every week. I take the tips off every week and it takes less than 10 minutes. This might not be the best product for a large dog with thick nails as it is not as strong as some of the more expensive grinders, but its good for a small to medium sized dog. You can buy a pack of replacement heads for $4.99 (can't beat that), though you do need to buy batteries. Overall a good product, very affordable, but I gave four stars because it isn't the strongest and needs the batteries replaced frequently. If you haven't used a dremel before, I would actually recommend a product like this because its a little bit slower and although it takes longer, it is harder to cut the quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it worked well

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angelrnob
from Iowa
My cat is hard to hold to brush and so thought this would be easier then a file, It was. The noise did not bother him at all. He did not pull away anymore then his normal behavior so yes i would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low power

PostedMay 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
MikeInOr
from Oregon
It's not rechargeable! and the power is very low. There are many other rotary tools that may work better.
The bit cover is helpful for keeping the nail dust out of your face. I like that feature.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllsmom
from NY
Works great on my chihuahua! I was getting desperate when my pup wouldnt let me clip his nails and they were getting way too long. As a last option before paying for a groomer to do it i tried pedi paws. Phyll doesnt mind at all it almost seems like he likes it. The only trick I use is holding him as I do it, once he got used it it's been great and saved me so much money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keeps the dogs off the couch...

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Calicoast214
This thing takes ages in comparison to a regular set of clippers. Can't get either of my dogs to sit still long enough for me to file down their nails to the appropriate length (you have to file in short bursts, produces too much heat otherwise). Better off going with clippers, they're quicker and your dogs wont fuss as much.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy One Now

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
PatDE
from Middletown, DE
Why did we ever waste time and money on the conventional clippers? This product is ideal. Both dogs accept it with ease and the stress of clipping nails is gone for us. One dog has black nails, therefore we had to clip less nail and clip more often to avoid accidentally moving into the quick. Thanks, PediPaws!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Useless

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Recky
I have 2 standard size dachshunds.I use this on them, and they claw me each time I turn it on.You have to replace the batteries every 15-20 minutes, and now, it broke, by itself.I say DON'T get it because it's going to take too long and it doesn't work as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nail Trimming

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaitybird
from Boise
We got this as we didn't believe that the regular trimmers would work. We adopted a 7 yr old min pin and she is VERY touchy about her paws, so it takes some coaxing and this is a good way to do it..
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>