petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for PediPaws Nail Trimmer

PediPaws Nail Trimmer

Fast, easy & gentleWon't crack, splinter or break nailsRotating emery bands gently file nailsCordless and lightweightFiles to smooth rounded finish
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
13
35 out of 56(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Review 1 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is great

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from york,pa
My dog had long nails so I used it every other day to get her familiar with it. She is getting better about having her nails trimmed and it's cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too weak of a product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
The sound of the device is not very loud, though they provide instructions of how to get your pet used to the sound if they are afraid. Thankfully my dog was introduced to the sound and feel of a Dremel at an early age and it no longer scares her, so no issues there. The device is easy to use and convenient but my only issue is that it is not powerful enough on my husky's nails. The device has a built in safety that when too much pressure is applied it will shut off but it takes more than the "correct amount" of pressure to get her nails ground down. It takes too long to get her nails trimmed down because the emory on the rotating filing head is not strong enough. I purchased the devise so that I could grind her nails at home and save money every few weeks at the grooming place but now I have to decide if it's worth the time and effort to do it at home or would I rather pay the money to have someone else do it. It may be a breed specific thing and might be easier on a smaller sized dog. The product is not garbage by any means, but I certainly didn't get what I expected.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No power

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Running Springs, California
This unit is gutless. No power and the "safety" feature that stops the unit if too much pressure is applied is self defeating.
Don't waste your money or your time. Took me over 30 minutes to trim one dog's nails. And that was after I had used regular nail clippers to remove the bulk of the nail.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from E. TN
My dogs can't stand clippers. It's a struggle to trim their nails. None of them (I have 4) mind when I trim their nails with the PediPaw. You'd think they were lounging at a spa getting pedicures. I lay them on their backs and/or sides and trim without having to struggle with them. Great (and safe) product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works great

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Odessa, TX
Only thing I have been able to trim my daschunds nails with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

life saver

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from sumter,sc.
my Rottweiler hates to have his nails trimmed. he gets so upset he either passes out or he tries to bite . he has to be sedated to keep him calm... with this trimmer he's cool and calm. no drugs needed. now he enjoys having them trimmed and I enjoy keeping my limbs intact.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good but not for small dogs

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
works great but hard to use on my little doxin/lab mix just too big to get to her nails
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ginder

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greensboro NC
I have two toy dogs both not happy to have nails clipped. But I have no struggle when I use this item........A ++++
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sanger, TX
Lets just accept it... cutting the nails, of dogs, especially large breeds, is always going to be difficult and slightly uncomfortable, for the animal, whether one uses clippers or a rotary trimmer, such as, the "Pedipaws Nail Trimmer". "PediPaws", is nothing more than a gimmick and really, you should either learn how to use traditional clippers or start taking your dog, to the vet, to have their nails trimmed. My vet, will trim the nails of my dog, free of cost and without an appointment. I don't know if all vets will do this, but the best way, in my opinion, to trim your dogs nails, is to take them to the vet, where a professional can do it, causing the least amount of discomfort to the animal and making it much easier on you, as well. I would NEVER recommend this product, to any dog owner... either go with traditional clippers or take your dog to a professional, but DO NOT waste your money, on a shenanigan, like the product "PediPaws Nail Trimmer".
TRUST ME... YOU'LL BE WASTING YOUR MONEY, PURCHASING THIS PRODUCT!!! .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-45points
8of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pedipaws nail trimmer.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oil City, PA
Absolutely love it. followed instructions on familiarizing my dog and 5 cats with it and now they love it and want me to do their nails every day. lol
Well done !! Best invention ever made for our pet families.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good product.

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from kansas city, mo
My Dixie has always liked the battery operated nail filer. We can be in any position that make her feel comfortable for her and the vibrations are not as bad as the electric charged nail filer. I love the convenience of not having to wait to charge batteries and the being in any position that Dixie feel comfortable. Does a great job on the nails. Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from hemet
dogs love it fall a sleep when doing there nails plactic catcher it hold the waste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pedepaw

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
these are awesome i have been through a couple of these but I also do others. most dogs will ajust to them with a little work. my dogs usually chill on there back while I do there nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PediPaws Nail Trimmer

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Winston, Georgia
Very easy to use. Our dog does not like for us to work on her feet, but the PediPaws is so quite and does not hurt her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nail filer

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from tn
This product is useful. I found that holding the dog's nail helps with the vibration.
I hate using traditional nail clippers and this lets me trim their nails.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pedi Paws

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I bought this about 6 years ago and this is my 2nd one.cause I am temeraryily stay with my daughter while waiting on my house i bought. So all my stuff is in storage. nothing else works as well so I bought another one sure will not hurt to have an extra.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Goes the wrong way!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I love the concept of this tool! My oldest dog hates her feet being touched and I am scared of the traditional clippers (she yelps and it freaks me out that I'm hurting her). I needed to find a product that made it quick and easy to do her nails without hurting her. I bought a different brand (the tool is Blue) and I loved it (her not so much, but it was better than the clippers). It made fast work of a task I hated to do. Then we moved cross country. Couldn't find my trimmer so I had to borrow one of these from a friend and much to my surprise, the head rotates in the wrong direction! I'm right handed and it was very awkward using this trimmer! It kept catching on the tip of her nail and she just wasn't having it. Thankfully I have found her regular trimmer and we are very happy with it. I gave it two paws because it's comfortable to hold and the concept is amazing. I just can't see using my left hand for something as important as trimming my dogs nails.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
5of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
I originally thought this was a cheap knockoff the peticure, but this is better. 1st off its cheaper than the original and it has a pressure safety to prevent heat. If too much pressure is used with this then the thing stops till you ease up. The other will keep going and cause alot of heat. The speed at which it turns is alot slower but that also translates to less heat. The only thing I dont like is C batteries are not common, but it is better than a cord which the dog would eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Help At All

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
I own a 12 week old pug/chihuahua. His nails are all solid black, so it's impossible for me to trim him with regular clippers as i always end up cutting too deep. We happened to have one of these lying around the house, and i though "perfect", but it's far less than perfect. For 1, i can't get my dog to sit still, but that my be my dog, for 2, while it files the nails, it also sharpens them, making them sharp and hard to deal with for several days, even after taking him out on cement. and 3, the small inner nail on his front paws wont even fit into the slot to grind due to the guard. I'd say this is a horrible product to waste your time and money on.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-26points
4of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PediPaws Nail Trimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small dogs

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I used to do professionally dog grooming and I can say that while this product is not professional grade, it is great for home use on small to medium sized dogs. For those of you complaining about how long it takes to cut the nails, you are letting the nails GROW WAY TOO LONG. You can't expect a dremel (even a pro one) to take 1/2" or more off the nail. If our salon, we always trimmed with a clipper first if the nails were that long. HOWEVER, if you do own a dremel, you have no excuse for letting the nails get that bad! Too long nails are not comfortable for your dog and can even cause arthritis because they will make your dog walk funny. My rescued Chihuahua's nails were curled over and her poor little feet hurt! It took a lot of work to get her toes back down to normal and now I actually get compliments on how nice her nails look (no pawlish, just well groomed!). Unless you have a very active dog who wears their nails down to stubs, you need to trim every week. I take the tips off every week and it takes less than 10 minutes. This might not be the best product for a large dog with thick nails as it is not as strong as some of the more expensive grinders, but its good for a small to medium sized dog. You can buy a pack of replacement heads for $4.99 (can't beat that), though you do need to buy batteries. Overall a good product, very affordable, but I gave four stars because it isn't the strongest and needs the batteries replaced frequently. If you haven't used a dremel before, I would actually recommend a product like this because its a little bit slower and although it takes longer, it is harder to cut the quick.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>