petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Small Animal High Rise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Small Animal High Rise

Turn your ten gallon aquarium into a multi-level home for your small animal with our Small Animal High Rise. Wire top secures to almost any ten gallon tank. Gives your pet great ventilation and includes wire ramps and shelves. Easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
53 out of 59(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Small Animal High Rise
Review 1 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

VERY good purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I think this is a VERY good cage!
It gives my hamster a TON of room and he loves it!
It has enough room for his wheel, his toys, every thing else, and more!
The only bad thing, and the reason i gave it 4 paws is because when "Rumpy" pees in the corner on the top, it runs down the side of the tank. Its not really a big deal though, because you can wipe it right up! :)
It definently gives him a LOT of room.
After he runs on his wheel he runs up the next level to his food then runs down to the 2nd level and goes back to his wheel. He LOVES the extra room.
I even got one for my brothers hamster! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great expansion!

PostedJanuary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
When I bought my gerbils from a breeder, she sold me the 10gallon tank they lived in along with this topper. They do gnaw the paint off, but I did get it with most of the paint gone already. It overlaps the edges of the tank and the gerbils do occasionally do business where the overlap occurs and it gets on the table. My advice would be to get a cheap laminate tv stand and make sure that when the leakage does happen that it gets on the cheapo table. Then, you can just wipe it up occasionally. The leaking isn't terrible though, and the added benefit of extra space far outweighs any mess!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not ideal for gerbils

PostedDecember 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Just a warning for gerbil owners, this gets very messy. They chew on the bars which are coated with black plastic, so you'll find those pieces strewn all around the cage. Also, whatever else they chew up can fall out of the cage. You may also find some urine and feces may leak out too occasionally if they decide to go on the high rise and not the aquarium. But they do seem to enjoy the extra room. If you don't mind the mess, go for it. But for me, for $40 dollars plus the mess, I'm not sure if it was worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall i recommend

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
this product is great for hamsters and gerbils and rats who have a 10 gallon aquarium currently and are hoping for more space. i got this for christmas 2008 for theodore the gerbil and he loved it. it is completely normal for your small animal to be confused at the beginning and walk up and down the stairs (ladders) cautiously. the top platform is perfect for a medium sized mesh weel if it goes sideways. this small animal high rise is a great additional peice for your hamster/gerbil/rat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just okay

PostedNovember 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
I just recently bought this for my new hamster named Desi, and he really enjoys it. It gives him alot of extra room to run around rather than just running around in the space of a 10 gallon fish tank, which I personally thought was way too small for him. Overall, I would recommend this product for extra exercise for your hamster, however the cage does extend out a little father than the tank. So, when Desi goes to the bathroom near the edge, it ends up on the floor. I have found a way to prevent that from happening by simply taking a piece of poster board and sticking one end under the lip of your tank and then zip tieing the other end to the side of the cage. It prevents almost all fecies from hitting the floor, which is definetly a positive. If you don't want the extra work, don't buy this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Purchase

PostedOctober 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
I got one for hamster number one and can't wait to get one for hamster number two! Adds 3 stories to the aquarium, which provides extra opportunities for much-needed exercise :). Also, the aquarium as a base is much better than any other cage I've used because it is neater and the hamsters like it better for burrowing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Home For Hams!

PostedOctober 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
We have 4 adult hamsters and occasionally breed. We have 1 male teddy bear hamster who likes to play "spider" ham and hang from the top of the wire lid. All 4 adults love it and we recommend this as the best cage for our babies when we sell them, a 10 gallon aquarium and this cage topper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful addition!

PostedOctober 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Union City, IN
My classroom recently received two female rats in a ten gallon aquarium. The family suggested that they really needed something bigger and something where the kids could interact with them more. I wasn't expecting to even have the rats, let alone make purchases for them, so I was looking for an inexpensive solution. This really fit the bill! The "girls" really loved their new addition! I was able to spread out their wheel and get a nice big water bottle attached to the side. They really seem more comfortable. Plus, the kids get to be a little more up close and personal with them.
An excellent purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall worth it

PostedSeptember 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
The only downside to this cage is the difficulty of getting into it. We got it when we got a couple of male rats the other day and we're still trying to socialize with them and they aren't at the point where they'll necessarily come TO us so getting any access to them requires more effort than I'd like but at least they have all this room which is worth the struggle, I just wish there was a door on the side at least.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I have two male gerbils and they absolutly love this cage!!! They will run around and chase each other all over the place! I can not get over how much room they have now!!!! I would definantly buy it again! all though it is difficult to get them out since the only door is at the top! but overall its exelent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect addition!

PostedAugust 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
This liitle add on is great! I t has plenty off room for my little ratty to run around in, its super easy to clean, and has three locks on it so your little buddy cant escape! its easy to get in to because the whole top pops off, which also has a lock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small animal high rise

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Nutley, NJ
This tank topper is very well made and a perfect way to more than double your little critter's living space. My gerbils love the added room and it lets me keep their food on the upper levels and out of the litter. With the 2 floors on top I can have their wheel, water, food & bath sand on the upper levels and allow them a ton of litter to burrow in the tank portion and the love it. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
My rat absolutely love this cage! It fits wonderfully on top of the 10 gallon tank and locks into place. Everything she could ever want to play with or could ever need fits inside of this cage. She runs like a maniac up and down the ramps and since she won't run on a wheel it lets me know she's getting the exercise she needs.
When its time to clean up all I have to do is remove the wire cage from the tank and set it on the table (I place some newspaper under it just in case she must "go" while I'm cleaning). I dump the old bedding, pour in the new and replace the cage topper. It's so much nicer than having to reach into a cage and remove all of the items to clean it.
I will agree that it is a bit inconvenient having the only opening at the top, but with clever placement of her necessities (food, water, shelter) it's all quite within reach. (It is not just a door at the top... the whole top of the cage hinged like a lid, but very secure for those escape artists like my Chyna!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
It was a very good choice and my hamster loves it. I would definately recomend it to a friend. It is very big!
It could even be good for rats. I bought it for my hamster however. It is easy to clean and get your small animal from. But to get your hamster from the tank you will have to take the high rise off. This is not a problem though. Make sure it is not too big for you though it is 2 ft. and 5 in. tall! Great for multiple amall animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't feel guilty anymore

PostedApril 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
I felt guilty once my Syrian hamster was fully-grown because the once perfectly sized 10 gallon tank now seemed too small. This High Rise allows the perfect amount of room for running around and climbing. Also: allows for great ventilation.
It's also great because a LOT of small animal accessories are designed to latch on to the side of a wire cage, which helps keep my hamster from knocking things over and off the platforms.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's very nice

PostedApril 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
It's a nice high rise and serves it's purpose. It seems that my hamsters are more concerned with chewing on the bars than anything else, but they haven't chewed through the bars so I say that's very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad...Not bad at all.

PostedApril 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
It fits perfectly on my 10 gallon aquarium. And like everyone else says, The only negative part is that the only entrance is on the top, so if you need to get to the bottom you have to take the whole thing off (which really doesn't bother me beacuse it's not to hard to do). I have 2 Degus and they love it. I made some modifications to the cage though. I put wood down on the floors (the wire floors are hard on my degus feet). In the end I believe this is a good product. It provides lots of extra space for my Degus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Taking It Back

PostedApril 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Unfortunately, this cage doesn't leave any openings to clean out the middle levels. I was lucky enough to see the future nightmare before we officially installed it on the aquarium. I'm taking it back tomorrow. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not so good

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from vacaville, ca
i got this for my 2 rats and they did have alot of room to play but there are no doors on the front so you have to open the top. it was awful to try to get there toys and things in there unless it was on the very top or on the bottom. if the rats werent on the top then you had to take the whole thing off just to het them out of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Small Animal High Rise
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It adds so much room.

PostedMarch 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
My hamster has so much room to run. I have 2 different size wheels hanging. He runs back and forth having so much room to roam.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>