petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium

Introducing the R2-D2 Aquarium!Finally a complete working aquarium in the theme of your favorite Star Wars(TM) characterR2-D2(TM)'s head moves back and forth and has sound effects when motion sensor is activatedLED light changes tank to red, green, and blueTelescope rotates 65 degrees for up close view of fishFeed fish through the secret feeding trayDouble-sided background graphics
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
5 out of 12(42%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Review 1 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please Please do not buy

PostedJanuary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Please Please do not buy this tank. It is horrible. The legs are at a tilt, and the condensation builds up at the top and then drips down the back of the tank. We have actually exchanged this tank twice, and the problem continues to happen with each new tank. We have one fish in the tank, but you can't see him. The filter is also very poorly designed and will not work unless the tank is almost completely filled. However the higher the water, the more water leaks out. My son's dresser top was completely soaked before we realized about the problem with the tank leaking. Like the others, we can't return the tank completely because our son would be devastated. Everyone would be much better off, to buy the moving r2d2 that is sold at Disneyland for the same $100. At least that one will move and follow voice commands.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A so-so tank with some exceptions

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New England
Hubby bought this tank to house his goldfish because the tank fit in with my star wars collection. Not a great tank for the money but it is do-able if you want to put the time into modifying it.
The periscope that everyone complains about can be removed leaving more room for the fish to move about. It is useless anyway as you can't see anything at all when looking through it.
The filter doesn't work great but there are so many inexpensive great filters out there suitable for small tanks that it's easily replaceable. The condensation that everyone complained about went away on ours after a couple days.
The other thing is you don't want to over-crowd this tank with a lot of gravel and decorations as even though it's listed as a 1.8 gallon tank it really isn't once you add the filter and if you leave the periscope in and add decorations/gravel. In ours we have an inch of gravel at the bottom with 2 little fake plants and some small decorative rocks. Petco sells some great little betta decorations that would be a good size for this tank.
Also, the lighting is very dark in the tank so the best idea is to use very light colored gravel to offset all the darkness.
This tank is not suitable for goldfish and we've since moved our goldfish to a bigger tank and plan on using the r2-d2 tank for a small school of small fish...maybe 3 or 4 little danios or something?
It's a good gimmick tank if you want to show off your love of star wars but in the world of the fish enthusiast not really practical.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A fun tank to watch

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
I ordered this for my nephew who is a big Star Wars fan. I also got one for myself. It is different but it does work well. I have two small white fish and they are doing okay so far. The only draw back it the feeder door. It is difficult to feed the fish but I use a small clean paint brush to push the food through the holes. The lights are great but the sound that R2 D2 makes does startle the fish. Other than that I do love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cool, but poor design

PostedJanuary 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Neat idea, but the tilted lid collects condensation then leaks as it drips to the back. Also, the bubbler is misplaced at the top of the tank so you have to fill it to the top edge to work. Bubbler is too big for the tank and creates lots of bubbles on the interior surface so you can't see in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible...

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is probably the worst tank I have ever purchased.
1) The scope in the middle of the tank is useless
2) You can't even see the fish, the lighting is very poor, more like a colorful dark cave, even in a well lit room
3) Feeding tray quickly gathers food build up and its difficult to get food through the slots
4) It isn't very responsive with the lights and sounds for some reason
5) Filter is really cheap, though I didn't really need one for my Betta, but getting in the tank is a chore in itself (because you have to lift off the entire head to get to the water)
Definitely not fish friendly, my poor Betta looked miserable. I am exchanging this one for another tank tomorrow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impressive reproduction but.....

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Kennewick,WA
poor execution of the build. I just set up the tank 48 hours ago and the R2 unit has a slow leak at the bottom base of the tank. The "Sensor mode" that makes the noises R2 is famous for still goes off, but the mechanics for the head stopped rotating. The secret feeding tray is useless, not only are the slots tiny but it also builds up condensation and any food flake or pellet you drop in to feed get stuck in the tray. The telescope was also a great idea, however there is so much condensation from the tank that it's fogged up the lense and you can't see anything. The lighting also doesn't allow you to see your own fish in tank.
I love the look of the tank, but knowing what I do now I would never purchase for the purpose of a fish tank.
I'm exchanging it tomorrow for a standard fish tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

darth vader made it

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
the sound effects and overall look of the tank is cool, but the quality of the workmanship is not worth the money. the tank has only been plugged in for 24 hours and the blue and green lights quit working. the slots in the feeder door make it difficult to put food in the tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's so unique!!!!!!

PostedDecember 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Bedford, NH
I work at the Manchester NH store and we have this setup as a model. It is so much fun to make all sorts of sounds. All of the R2-D2 sounds. I also love the movements it makes. The only thing that I don't like is if you go to look in the telescope he starts to move. But anyway that's only one thing!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a great tank for the price

PostedDecember 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sure it looks kinda cool, but it is the worst tank ever made. I just had bad experience with this tank. first of all it was expensive. second the fish kept dying. i got another tank and guess what my fish are alive, yay. Don't buy this tank if u want fish to be alive. the feeder door is very small and when u try to put food for the fish it goes over you're counter. the light inside is very dim, you cant see you're fish. the wall paper you see on that pic you cant even see it in person when u put the water in. I am very disappointed in this product. It does make cool sounds and the head turns.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Star Wars Fan

PostedDecember 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Moline, IL
We bought this tank a couple days ago at our local Petco. The tank itself is neat and the lights and noises are awesome. The one problem that we are having is that the bubbles on the wall of the front of the tank prevents you from seeing the fish. There is to much condensation on the tank itself and on the telescope lens at the top of the tank so you can't see the fish. The bubbles are coming from the filter and I think that the tank is to small to have all them bubbles because there is no where for them to go. The tank is neat and for any fan of Star Wars its a must have but for the money it should be glass instead of plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

May The Force Be With You!

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
This Star Wars R2D2 1.8 gallon fish tank is ideal for goldfish, tetra's or gouramis. The domed head rotates with any loud noise or movement and he utters his bleeps from the movies. The radar eye houses the eyepiece to a built in periscope to see the fish in a larger scale. it has a double sided background with scenes from the actual movies and has blue, red, green led lights to give it that Star Wars movie scene feel. It's an absolute must have for Christmas and one of the coolest tanks i have ever owned. Highly recommended for any age!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Star Wars R2-D2 Fish Tank Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gift Ever!

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
from West Hollywood, CA
If anyone in your family is a StarWars fanatic you MUST pick this up for them as a holiday gift. I bought one last weekend at my local PETCO store and went back last night and bought 2 more for Christmas gifts. Set it up last week .. the motion sensor and sounds are so freakin cool. I LOVE IT. HIGHLY recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.