petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food

Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food

Nutrition with taste for kittens and pregnant or nursing catsBalanced nutrition for healthy growthHelps support a healthy immune systemFormulated for healthy skin and coatBuilds strong bones and teethTaurine fortified for good vision and heart functionSteam cooked in brothMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Review 1 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

has gravy in can

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tallahassee,fl
love this kind of kitten food, the other nutro kitten food is great too but my kitten has got to where he only eats this one as hes gotten bigger in last few months and picky.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hungry Hungry Kittens

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
We recently picked up a pair of 8 week old Ragdoll brothers as we had lost our senior cat. I did a lot of research and learned the new recommendations for mostly or all wet food for cats to keep their liquid intake appropriate. I then went through some web sites and read the foods that had decent and healthy ingredients.
Some of these new designer foods can get a bit pricy. I looked for a good balance of price vs quality and the Nutro Max made the short list. It certainly is not the best, but it is a clear cut above the mass grocery store brands that I used to feed my previous cat. The kittens come running and sqeakin when they hear the can open and scarf it down. They are eating well and gaining weight. They like the food, and I know they are getting decent quality and nutrition from it.
I gave it four stars for two reasons. One the kitties are a little gassy on this food. It's only been about 3 weeks so I'm hopeful their systems are still adjusting from the less than stellar Meow Mix they were getting from the previous owners.
Also I really wish the 5 oz cans were more widely available. Apparently they do put the kitten food in a 5 oz can but it is almost impossible to find. I'm going through 3 of the small cans a day right now with a small supplement of the Nutro Max dry food between feedings and I sure wish they had the more economical 5oz cans so I could save a bit more on cost.
Other than that the kitties are adorable, happy, and healthy. My vet also carries this food among others which helps me feel good about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good food, good service

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
The Nutro MAX CAT from Mars Petcare U.S. is a good choice in moist catfood, both for adults and kittens. Look at the ingredients, and you'll see no animal byproducts (heads and brains) or even chicken meal (skin and bones). This is a good price for canned catfood of this quality. It does have mixed protein sources, but my cats don't seem to be super allergy-sensitive. I have two adults cats and a wee little kitten, and all three like MAX. Petco service on the processing and delivery of orders is consistently very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Kitten Food

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
This product is great for kittens up to a year old. I have two cats and usually split one small can between them each night, and they absolutely love it. I will admit that since it is cheaper than some of the natural wet foods the ingredients are not totally "natural", but it is definitely better than some of the other cheaper foods such as Friskies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kitten runs for this food!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Waffles, my 10 week old kitten, comes running for this food as soon as he hears the can lid pop. I did a lot of research about what food to feed him and I decided on on Nutro Max kitten. It has the most protein ingredients of almost all the foods I looked at. I feed him this 3 times a day and leave a small amount of dry food out to snack on and to keep his gums and teeth clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kittens love the soft food

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, Washington
My kittens love this soft food. i feed kittens this food until about a year old. they have shiny coats, great disposition and just an all around healthy playful kitten. Thanks you
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice, just wish the cans were bigger.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee, WI
I've been feeding this to my girl since she was about 4 months old, and it's one of the only canned foods she'll eat consistently without getting bored or a stinky butt. I love that the grain ingredients aren't first in line - they come after chicken, turkey, mackerel, or whatever other flavor you buy. Meat first is always a win! My only gripe is that, of the kitten varieties, the only flavor you can get in the 5.5oz cans is the Chicken and Ocean Fish...fish breath isn't fun. I would buy the smaller cans of the other flavors, but they aren't very cost-effective for an older kitten with a big appetite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

happy kittens

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have 2 ten week old kittens and they love both the chicken and the turkey canned food. I wanted something that's first listed ingredient wasn't "by-product" and this has really fit the bill. I would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so good

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
My 2 month old kitten has not proven to be the pickiest eater so far but he will not go near either flavor of this food. It seems to have decent ingredients and looks a lot more wholesome than a lot of other canned foods I've seen, but nonetheless it did not work for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Healthy Food

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Our kittens love the flavors and we know we are providing them with good nutrition. A high quality diet can affect their health throughout their lives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

on the fence with this...

PostedMay 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
the only flavor my kitten will eat is the chicken and ocean fish flavor. Every other flavor was a thumbs down. Adding insult to injury, is that she'll only eat this if she's really hungry. Back to the drawing board!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

he like's this food

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I purchased sky from a pet store he is 10 weeks old. When I first brought sky home he became sick the next day with diarreha. I figured that it might be his food so I went to petco to see what other food they had for kittens. I ran across this kitten food and now he is much better he is playing and happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No thank you

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have two babies, one that is really picky and one that eats everything including things she is not supposed to like newspaper and carpet and neither one would eat this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Yummy~

PostedOctober 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
I recently adopted Sassy, a 7 week old kitten who was found abandoned along with her brother and sister. Wanting only the best for my little one I researched several leading brands of kitten food, this was the ONLY one that does not use animal by-product (heads, feet, intestines, brains etc.)
She loves it! After only 2 days she comes running when she hears me open a can or pick up her bowl!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitten loves it

PostedJune 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
Yesterday an abandoned 4 week old kitten found its way to my apartment and I bought this food for her. She scarfed it down like she had never eaten before. She has eaten 4 times now, I think she really likes this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not favored..

PostedOctober 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Neither one of my kitties like this canned food. Lulu eats almost anything I give to her with few exceptions. But she gives this food a paws down! I gave her less than half a can to try after she hadn't been fed for awhile, and she wouldn't eat any after smelling and tasting it. Stormy took one sniff and walked away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutro MAX CAT Gourmet Classics Canned Kitten Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitten and Mama Cat Love It!

PostedMay 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
My 5 week old kitten had been fussy about food but she loves Nutro Max kitten food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.