petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds

ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds

Stimulating, high quality bird food contains fresh ground fruit in every biteNugget size is perfect as a medium or large parrot food21 vitamins and minerals – no supplements requiredResealable package keeps contents freshNaturally preserved – no artificial preservativesRecommended by veterinarians and top breeders around the world
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Review 1 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete Nutrition In Fruit Flavor

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angelsue256
from New York
My birds thrive on the Zupreem pelleted foods. This time it's the fruit flavor. My Grey LOVES it! It's a handy way to get him all he needs in daily food. (Also feed fresh fruits & veggies.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
noelchickens
from Stevens Point, WI
I can't believe how economical it is to get the 17.5lb bag of ZuPreem compared to the 3.5lb bag! I thought that it would take a long time to arrive at my house and was a bit worried that I would have to go to the store to buy more food for my African Grey in the meantime, but the food arrived in only 3 days when I was told about 7 to 10 business days, wow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

African grey loves this food.

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
jpdreams
from Climax Springs, MO
Our African grey loves this food. His stools are more solid, there is less waste, and less mess to clean up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Pellet Blend I've Used!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
DestroyerDragon
from South Carolina
I was always torn between ZuPreem Fruit Blend and the Kaytee Exact Rainbow Pellet. The best way to figure out which of these pellets will be best for your bird is this:
If your bird likes to eat with his feet, even if it's smallish food.... but the Kaytee Exact Rainbow Pellets. The pieces are much larger and thicker.
If your bird likes to eat with only his beak, this ZuPreem Fruit Blend is the best due to it's "cereal sized" pieces that break down easily in moisture.
My rescued Blue Front Amazon is on a diet of these as well as Kaytee Fortidiet to get optimal nutrients. He loves them (particularly the red ones) they have a very pleasant odor to them and bright colors. They're loaded with "all the good stuff" and a great diet if your bird is willing to eat them. I feed about 70% Zupreem, 20% Kaytee Fortidiet, and 10% Fresh Fruits/Veggies. As you can see from the pictures below, it's made a huge difference.
Don't be offended if your bird doesn't eat them at first. Mix them in with his current food or maybe even soak them in a non-sweetened juice/water blend to get him to check it out. It's always tough to switch a "seedy" to a pellet diet, but patience and persistence pays off in the long run.
Give it a shot! Worse comes to worse, you mix it with a bag of cheaper seed to make your own Fortidiet of sorts, LOL!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The proof is in the birds.

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
KoaCub
from Hawaii
Zupreem Fruit Blend has been a mainstay in my home for the past 10 years. My parrott and cockatoos are healthy, happy, and have show quality feathering. The Zupreem is supplemented with a small amount of parrot blend seeds and a share of their human's food. They won't touch Harrison's, or any other flavor of Zupreem. Easily said, I highly recommend Zupreem Fruit Blend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our conure loves this

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dingocat
from MO
Our Dusky Headed Conure loves the size of the pellets, easy for her to pick up with a foot and eat. Some days she picks out one flavor and leaves the others, the different flavors give her a choice and she like the different shapes. Not messy. She keeps a good weight and has good color. She is active and has lots of energy for out of her cage playtime. Good feather. Good value with the large bag. I would recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Feed

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimisaidso
from Arkansas
My Green Cheeks love this food! They are healthy, happy and vibrant on this feed. You won't go wrong with this choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
KIKAsMOM
from Austin, TX
This is what my eclectus' previous owner fed her. I chose to continue feeding it to her after reading about it, it sounds like a decent maintenance diet, however it is always best to add fresh fruits and veggies for them to enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is wonderful!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zoogeek23
from Verona, Pa
I was using a different brand prior to switching which contained a lot of seeds. My vet had recommended Zupreem as it is still tasty for the bird, however would probably help as my bird was slightly overweight. It did just what my vet said and now my bird is happy and at a healthy weight again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for right sized bird

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MySunConure
from Maine
This is the food that my breeder recommended for my sun conure, and he enjoys the fruity flavor and fun colors/shapes. However, I would NOT recommend this product for smaller conures. The pellets border on too large for my sun, so if you have a green cheek, black capped, etc, I would go with the cockatiel sized pellets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect food perfect bird

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
luckylargo
from vt
i have fed my african grey zupreme for longer then i remember. he loves it and the fruit smell is so good .
also i give her seeds and nuts that i call her junk food because we all like that once in awhile. with fruits and veggies, what do you get? happy bird and happy bird parent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zupreem CHANGED the Flavor!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
greybirdmom
from Massachusetts
As usual, Petco has great pricing on this item and quick shipping. They take good care of customers.
However - Zupreem has changed the formula for this food and now my Grey will not eat it. AT ALL.
When the new "cookies" came, I dumped out and cleaned his dish then refilled with the new batch. Teddy LOVED his cookies and would often fall asleep while eating them. When I put the new ones on his cage - he came zipping over to grab a snack and took one in his beak, rolled it around and then dropped in on the floor.
After three days of his not eating what was a huge part of his daily diet, I called Zupreem who told me that they changed the formula to use all natural flavors (which taste like moldy grass - I ate some).
If I wanted to feed him all natural food, I would feed the all natural pellets by Zupreem. Which I have tried and he will not eat.
After 13 years of no problems getting pellets into him, I am being forced to change his food. He always has been a low weight bird and it bothers us that he is not eating any pellets at all now.
Zupreem - bring back the Fruit Blend Pellets that actually taste like fruit.
If anyone has a suggestion as to what I can replace the Fruit Blend Pellets with, please let me know.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My conure loves this.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
mw92
from San Diego,CA
I have noticed her feathers are shinier and brighter and her molt went away quicker since she been on the pellet diet along with fruits and veggies. She enjoys them and they do last longer then a bag of seeds. Very glad I bought them. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST parrot food!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
irsuzy
from State College, PA
I have an African Grey, 2 Macaws and an Amazon and they all love this food! They eat this, fruits and veggies and whatever we give them. If I run out of pellets and run for a quick bag of food, they arent happy and throw the food in the bottom of their cage. I keep their food in a large glass jar and one of my sons friends was standing there munching on it one day and commented that he thought it was wierd we kept Trix in a jar in the living room! HA HA!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zupreem

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
petlover4me2
I have used this on my birds for years and they always are in tip top health. Easy to use...great product full of everything a bird requires!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

describes it well

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
MNANGELMOM
Good flavor from what my birds say, balanced diet and mixes well with other seeds and nuts and things, am very pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
SalamanderOwner
from Raleigh, NC
I love this food. It smells like fruit loops. I do not want to give my birds a lot of fattening seeds and most pellet food smells terrible and my birds won't eat it. But my birds love this food and it is all they eat. They will be getting it for the rest of their lives.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mmmmm Mmmmm Good!

PostedJuly 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
luvMyLilBuddy
My little Buddy, a peach fronted conure will not eat anything else but Zupreem fruit blend. I have tried a few other brands, but no go. I like the fact that no suppliments are required on this diet, and also the beautiful healthy sheen it has given Buddy's feathers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picky Quakers Love Zupreem Fruit Pellets!!

PostedMay 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
QuakerMommy
from IL
I have two picky quaker parrots, tried a hundred different pellets and they would rather starve than eat them. They love these! They also smell incredible! I would suggest these to anyone!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ZuPreem AvianMaintenance FruitBlend Premium Bird Diet for Medium & Large Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zupreem Fruit Blend for African Grey's

PostedJanuary 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
MandyAfGrey
from Lees Summit, MO
Last year the vet suggested Zupreem for Barney (my african grey)he was always molting and I was feeding him the Hartz stuff from the grocery store. Bad Mommy. His feathers are so much better now and he loves his food. He also is in a better mood.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.