petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness

Only dog car harness successfully crash-tested for a 30-pound dog at 30 mphHelps avoid injury during sudden stops or accidentVest-style harness is made of high-strength ballistic nylonUniversal buckle latches into most seat belt receptaclesDog seat belt has adjustable straps that allow for secure fit
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Review 1 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too restrictive and not for foreign cars

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
This harness fit pretty well just on the dog, though he seemed to want to chew on the front of it. The problem was that the harness would be very tight and uncomfortable for the dog if you take the short harness strap centered on the dog's back and pin it down on one side to the car seat belt buckle. Fortunately (?) that was not a problem since the metal tab would not catch onto our Saab seat belt buckle. We were not interested in trying the extra-cost extension which would loop around the seat belt, instead of clipping to the buckle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snoozer Harness Sizing

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My chest is 25" around, so I ordered the "large" harness. It is way too big. The straps are at their tightest and there is still about 3" between the front of my chest and the harness. So, I ordered the Medium (and had to pay a second shipping charge, by the way) which fits well through my chest, but the strap to the seatbelt latch is so short I can't even stand up.
Maybe this is intentional to limit how much I'd swing around onthe inside in an accidnet, but I can't look out the windows and make sure my parenst are driving correctly. Real bummer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not What I Expected

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from St. James, NY
Well constructed harness but doesn't work for my dogs unusual proportions. They are extremely broad chested (Norwegian Elkhound) 18" neck- 30" chest- 55 lbs.. Although the large should fit according to the size charts- no go. In addition, most seat belt harnesses have a loop in the back where the seat belt would slip though giving the dog the ability to sit up or lay down. This particular harness has a strap in the back that clicks directly into the seat belt female end. My dog was unable to lay down- sit position only. Perhaps a smaller dog will be able to either sit or lay down? I also like to place a blanket on the back seat and with the way this harness attaches to the seat belt female end, my upholstery would be exposed. Since my dogs shed non-stop and track dirt into the vehicle, I need to keep my seats and seat backs completely covered. Don't misunderstand, this harness is made very well and certainly worth considering but unfortunately it just didn't work for my dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not quite right

PostedApril 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought this harness for my rat terrier mix to ride safely in my car. He always wanted to ride in my lap and I didn't feel that was safe. Since using the harness, he tends to sit in one spot and not try to move around. He even lays down a bit, but he whines the whole time. I'd think it were great if that's all it was. My major issue with it is the seat belt connection in the back DOES NOT FIT my car. I can cram it in there, but it will not click like my seat belt does and with force, it will come out. I think this defeats the purpose of the harness.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gift that gives....

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
from wahiawa, hawaii
peace of mind! We recieved this harness as a gift and we love it! It fits perfect on our chihuahua and he is comfortable with it. Our comfort comes from knowing that when he is in the car with us, he's safe and secure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
I looked at car safety harnesses for a long time before deciding on this one. I bought one for each of my dogs. I would like to see them offer a short (6") or adjustable extension for it though. The vest portion fits my older and slightly larger dog perfectly; however, it forces him to sit up very straight and he has difficulty lying down due to the shortness of the straps attached to the metal tab that goes into the seatbelt receptacle. My slightly smaller female dog does not have this problem. It is nice that I can tuck the metal tabs into the backs of the vests, or clip their leashes to the metal tabs, so they can go potty without taking it off or getting it dirty while on trips.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Had a very close call with my dog in the car. She was riding on the back platform in an SUV when I had to stop quickly. Her leg was caught in one of the openings between the platform. I realized that I had transported her without a harness too many times. Ordered this harness b/c it fastens to at her mid-back area, not too high and not too low. She likes it so it must be comfortable. Great padding,quality and best price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snoozer Safety Harness Dog Seat Belt Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Seat belt attachement

PostedSeptember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
The product fits the dog well but the universal attachment is not compatible with my cars seat belt. Still trying to work that out something to make this product work for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.