petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding

Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding

Brighten your pet's space with Carefresh Pet BeddingThis bright white bedding delivers superior odor control by stopping ammonia formation up to three times longer than traditional pet beddingAbsorbs up to three times its weight in liquidCarefresh bedding is ultra soft and extra gentle; ideal for pets with sensitive skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.503 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(318 Reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 318 reviews
5 stars
236
4 stars
43
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
13
285 out of 318(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smell Free!

PostedApril 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Janesville, WI
I was in search of the best odor controlling bedding for my 6 rats. I've tried the recycled newspapers, aspen, etc. and CareFresh Ultra beat them all. It's very absorbent keeping my fur-babies cleaner. You would never know I have so many animals because y
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern Calif
Good odor control. Even the vet said it was a good product for our piggies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Indoor Rabbits. Does not control smell.

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston TX
Several months back after several months of my daughter wanting to keep rabbits in my home. I relented and purchased 2 Lop eared rabbits for her. This I did after doing a lot of research on everything from bedding, to food to the cage that they would be in. After a lot of research I decided to go with Carefresh Ultra as it was supposed to good with odor control and a good bedding. I will tell you it's not.
I tried to go a whole week without changing the bedding and just cleaning up areas that were dirty. That worked for maybe the first week when they were 6 weeks old or so. Then I had to start changing it ever 6 days, 5 days and then twice a week. But the worst part about doing this was that as soon as I put new bedding in you could see it become dirty as it is pure white in color. Also by the next day you could smell rabbit urine around the cage and then throughout the house.
It wasn't that I was not using enough bedding I was going through at least one 50L bag a week about a $100 a month. It became so bad that within 4 months I decided I was going to give them back to the Pet Store. However after telling my daughter this she became pretty unhappy.
I decided to do further research and came across Green Pet Aspen Supreme Pellets. After reading reviews from various websites I decided to try them out as a last resort. The bag itself is smaller than the 50L Carefresh Ultra for 14.8L and weighed around 20lbs. I put the whole bag in and I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it looked and smelled. It has a slight woody smell and the rabbits loved it.
The next day I noticed no rabbit urine smell? Another day went by the same thing. In fact the whole week went by and still no smell! I decided to do a test and see how long it would go without being changed. It came out to be 2 Weeks!!!
Now I haven't purchased anything besides Carefresh Ulta and the Aspen Pellets but I will tell you that the pellets are a winner.
You can keep on using Carefesh Ultra if that works for you but if you are keeping Rabbits indoors in a cage, continuously notice a urine smell the next day and don't like the look or having to replace it out every 3-4 days then give the Aspen Pellets a try. What do you have to lose? They have great reviews on Amazon but I bought them from Petco for $12 for a 14.8 bag that can last you up to 2 weeks. Your mileage may vary. You'll be glad you did as in the case of our rabbits, they are now definitely keepers!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoy this product

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NC
The bedding is very soft, though moderately dusty, but overall it is one of the better beddings, in my opinion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product was pretty good

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
My rabbits didn't seem to care too much for it, but they don't seem to dislike it strongly. I was slightly saddened to see they would push it away from most of the area in their hutch but I've had animals in the past who have loved it! It's just down to personal preference for the animal, nothing against the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is soft & fulffy

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from The Dalles, OR
I like the white bedding as it looks so much cleaner. But I do use a cage odor eliminator everytime I change bedding. I use to have awful odor, flies, & knats. No longer. U can get this at Petco. They have everything u need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chinchilla liked the bedding, but tried to eat it!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
My chinchilla liked this bedding, but tried to eat it when first put into his cage. So, just watch and make sure your pet is not ingesting it! It is absorbent, so I can scoop out the used litter and replace it with new very easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

THE SMELL.

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
I don't like this. Every time I go near my cage for my hamster, it smells really bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bedding

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
bag goes a long way and my little piggie loves it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Try something else

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kennett, MO
White bedding is not the way to go with guinea pigs, I found myself changing it daily with this bedding, and not soft, felt no different than other carefresh bedding.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Should be called ultra hard

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
You know what a piece of paper towel feel like after it goes through the washer and dryer by accident? Well that is what this bedding feels like, hard little wads of paper. You can't even fluff them up or pull them apart, they just tear.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bedding

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from neptune. nj
while a little more pricey, it is worth the extra cost involved
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puppy box

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
So much better than wood chip bedding absorbs better easier to clean great for those little potty boxes for puppies
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small animal bedding

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
This stuff is great for my rat loves it last for about a month with a fresh scent. I just vacuum it out or grab it out with gloves and a bag. very easy low maintenance and a good price works well. Very light and manageable. Highly recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sanford, FL
Works great! Bedding is soft and controls odor. Pet loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from harrisburg, pa
The bedding is excellent, especially for pet owners with allergies. Our Guinea Pigs like it and we save more than a third of the cost via on-line shopping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's okay

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from indianapolis
probably just personal preference. i would purchase this again only if on sale as when i did. i prefer kaytee ultra soft over this. not sure what our bunny really thinks. i find this litter does the job but, i'm thinking not as cozy feeling to her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for hamster owners

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco CA
I love this product, The bedding is soft and cozy and my hamster loves it and its cheep too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Carefresh vs Kaytee bedding

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh PA
I have closely compared both Kaytee Clean & Cozy and Carefresh Ultra, using both for our 2 ferrets. I mix it together. Both are white and allow you to clearly see where they have soiled; Kaytee is softer; Carefresh is a little lumpier. I did notice however that on the website the quantity is misleading because Kaytee's sizes are the compressed size, not the "Expands To" size; but Carefresh markets by the "Expands To" size. So although it looks like you're getting more for Carefresh, you are not. All in all you are getting a better deal and softer bedding with Kaytee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helps Control Odor

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought this for my son's two rats. He was complaining about their odor. He told me it definitely helped control the odor, so now he can move them back into his bedroom again.
Kind of expensive, but it's not dusty and it does help with the odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>