petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding

Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding

Brighten your pet's space with Carefresh Pet BeddingThis bright white bedding delivers superior odor control by stopping ammonia formation up to three times longer than traditional pet beddingAbsorbs up to three times its weight in liquidCarefresh bedding is ultra soft and extra gentle; ideal for pets with sensitive skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(303 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 303 reviews
5 stars
226
4 stars
42
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
11
274 out of 303(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smell Free!

PostedApril 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Topaz
from Janesville, WI
I was in search of the best odor controlling bedding for my 6 rats. I've tried the recycled newspapers, aspen, etc. and CareFresh Ultra beat them all. It's very absorbent keeping my fur-babies cleaner. You would never know I have so many animals because y
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+25points
28of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's okay

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
aprildc
from indianapolis
probably just personal preference. i would purchase this again only if on sale as when i did. i prefer kaytee ultra soft over this. not sure what our bunny really thinks. i find this litter does the job but, i'm thinking not as cozy feeling to her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for hamster owners

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrsjunglegirl
from San Francisco CA
I love this product, The bedding is soft and cozy and my hamster loves it and its cheep too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Carefresh vs Kaytee bedding

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ferretlovers
from Pittsburgh PA
I have closely compared both Kaytee Clean & Cozy and Carefresh Ultra, using both for our 2 ferrets. I mix it together. Both are white and allow you to clearly see where they have soiled; Kaytee is softer; Carefresh is a little lumpier. I did notice however that on the website the quantity is misleading because Kaytee's sizes are the compressed size, not the "Expands To" size; but Carefresh markets by the "Expands To" size. So although it looks like you're getting more for Carefresh, you are not. All in all you are getting a better deal and softer bedding with Kaytee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helps Control Odor

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mycurlylocks
from North Carolina
I bought this for my son's two rats. He was complaining about their odor. He told me it definitely helped control the odor, so now he can move them back into his bedroom again.
Kind of expensive, but it's not dusty and it does help with the odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bedding!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BriannaWSMS
from az
this bedding is really good. it is soft, keeps smell under control, and the white is very convenient because you can find the excretions very easily. my two male guinea pigs seem to like it very much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No mess, no smell- Easy for my kid to clean

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dember
from Tarzan, TX
This is the only kind of guinea pig bedding I will use. First, Petco delivers it quickly, at a great price and never any problems ordering.
My 12 year old had to have a guinea pig last Christmas. We have tried numerous bedding brands and are completely satisfied with the product. She can clean it easily, no smell and the pig loves it. It's a win for all! No allergies from perfumes or smells. Soft and easy to use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good bedding

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
deals
from NC
We have tried many types of bedding and this one seems to work the best for our pig. We purchase the white one so we can see when it needs a cleaning (the waste shows up better in the white than the natural color). We also use a litter pan inside our cage filled with the natural paper pellets that Petco sells and it cuts down on how much bedding we go through and keeps the odor down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Only Bedding I Buy

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCFerretMom
I have terrible allergies. I started buying this bedding for my ferrets and they love this stuff! It's clean, soft and super absorbent. Even better - allergies are not as bad using this bedding - not as much dust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

plush

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
guineapigwhisperer
from Beaverton
I am saving this product to "spoil" my guinea pig for the winter. It is a bit on the costly side, but if you can afford it, go for it; they will love it. There is no smell, and it is soft too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oregonian
from Beaverton, OR
The Carefresh Ultra is great at stopping odor in our guinea pigs' cages! The white color makes it easy to see what needs to be cleaned up. It only gets dusty when you scoop it out, so I wear a dust mask when changing the bedding. It is kind of pricey, so I usually wait until it goes on sale, then stock up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
angel2animals
My ferret loves this stuff! It is soft, no smell and works great! My ferret loves to burrow through it, play in it and sleep on this bedding. It does a great job at controlling ferret odor too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Absorbancy But Too Dusty

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
pdxbunny
from Portland, OR
I like this product but am moving to pellets because they are less dusty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer opinion

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Naturebug
from Grants Pass, Oregon
Reliable service is one thing. I do believe Petco could bring in more brands for small animals and birds as these pets deserve the very best nutrition. Pellets for birds can actually cause liver damage and nutritional deficiencies if not mixed well with other nutrients. Perhaps, packaging with educational information on the bags would be helpful so that first time petowners realize early they must supplement their pets' diet with a broad diet that includes fresh veges and fruit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a match

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
KLS79
from Rochester, MN
Purchased for our guinea pigs and they don't like being on this bedding. All four hang out on the other CareFresh bedding in their loft. May be a good fit for some animals but will go back to the other bedding from CareFresh I was using.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not as much as I thought but this stuff is the best

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Msfufu
This stuff comes so compacted that I always loosen it up a little. Only then do I notice 'dust' (or whatever this is). Other than that, its the best! I don't buy anything else. Oh and it's white so...I can see poo. This prevent me from dumping out the whole batch of litter. It saves a lot of $.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
junetheferrett1
from nyc
Works well with my ferrett, Highly recommended. I dont smell a thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great but pricy

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
hamsterhelper12345
from San Bernadino
it is great i got it whith the carefreash ultra cage and my hamster loves it great odor conrrol. if you don`t whant to spend so much money use aspen wood shaveing the best brand
for that is katee.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

soft and fresh scent

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
happyfish36
from Cary, NC
I have a sick dwarf hamster and switched to this Carefresh Ultra to provide a softer material for his tender feet. He likes it very much and burrows more easily in it than previous bedding material. It is slightly softer than the Carefresh Natural and makes it easier for me to find him - he is dark colored against the white bedding. I so much liked this I now use it for all my hamsters. I have a sensitive nose and prefer the Carefresh Natural which has no scent (also softer and easy to burrow in compared to previously used bedding material), but this is better for this particular hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carefresh Ultra Soft Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter, not dusty

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatandRabbitOwner
from Massachusetts
Carefresh Ultra Pet Litter is the only litter I will purchase for my rabbit. It is not dusty and very easy to scoop. I never have any odor from the litter box. It is more expensive than some other brands, but I am willing to pay more for a quality product. Since I can scoop it, it also lasts longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>