petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food

Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food

Real chicken is the #1 ingredientMade with a multi-textured blend of hard kibble and savory tender shredded pieces dogs loveFeatures wholesome rice, an easily digestible source of carbohydratesContains high levels of antioxidants for overall health and wellnessQuality fiber sources promote easy cleanup
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
28 out of 32(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Review 1 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful food!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
seashel
from Pittsburgh, PA
I just rescued a 6 year old dog from the humane society. I tried feeding her what they said she ate and she wouldn't touch it! To make a long story short.....4 kinds of food later plus canned food on top other food she didn't eat for 3 days. I bought Pro Plan Savor Shredded Chicken & Rice and as soon as I put a cup in her bowl she ate everything! She walked over to me in my office and ran back to her bowl as if she wanted more. I gave her another cup and she ate it all again licking the bowl clean! I am so happy with this food I'll never switch! Thanks Pro Plan!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food ever

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
IggyPop
from CT
We have tried every brand and style. This Pro Plan food provides satisfaction to us that we are giving our dog a healthy tasty meal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog food delivered

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
IrishSetterSailor
from Raleigh, NC
We often run out of dog food and have to make a special trip to the store to get it. This was a great deal to have it shipped right to our door. We now have an extra bag in stock and will continue to order online.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food, one of my top picks

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sports8815
from Roseburg, OR
great dog food. My dogs love it and it really does keep them healthy, body, skin and fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible formula change!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
CarolynF2
from Kent, CT
I'm SO disappointed in ProPlan! Wheat? Second ingredient, wheat REALLY?! Are you kidding me? And calling it "Savor". I would 100% prefer slow-cooked corn or rice as my carb source, as all dog food experts are recommending, NOT wheat! what in heaven's name got into Purina to put WHEAT in their food? I liked it the way it was. Now I'm off t find an alternate dog food - and there are many ProPlan - with chicken and corn or chicken and rice as the main ingredients. Keep it simple folks and don't put nasty odd silly things in your dog food and fill it back up with nutiriton through additives. So disappointed!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
8of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs love this food

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
oposliv
from Danville, CA
The shredded blend chicken is more than just kibble and it is always nice when the dogs clean their bowls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My children love this food

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Perseus
from Elgin, Texas
My kiddos love this food...if I could just find a way to keep them from from picking out the chicken parts and eating them first while they leave the other parts all over the house we would have it made. Would recommed to anyone with daschunds and terrier mixes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

purina pro plan

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
maddiesdogmom
from westland mi
great food product and good value our lab mix loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving Pro Plan

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrolls
from Hampton, Virginia
I've used this product for the past 7 years and would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to have a healthy dog and feed them good quality at the same time. I have 3 dogs shepard/lab mix, shepard/hound mix, and a pure bred Chihuahua and even though they are all very different in size they all enjoy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog with Allergies

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
JacqnDakota
from Peoria,AZ
When I adopted my dog I discovered he was allergic to almost every food we tried to feed him. It caused him to have terrible dandruff and lose some hair from the excessive itching.
I was paying high dollar for anything just to get him healthy again.
Then someone recommended the Pro-Plan Shredded Chicken and Rice. He LOVED it the first time he tried it.
I noticed he wasn't getting sick anymore, his dandruff started going away, and then less than a month on it and he was back to normal again.
All his hair came back and everything.
He has now been eating this and only this for 3 years and has been happy and healthy ever since.
I would recommend anyone who is avoiding corn and or has a dog with a corn allergy to give this a shot.
It's a reasonable price and makes a dog happy as can be
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the chicken bits

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeagleLove27
from Boston, MA
My dog was eating another brand but she isn't a huge fan of crunchy dry food in general, so I had to mix in wet food with it. She loves the chicken pieces in this food and I haven't had any trouble getting her to switch! I will definitely be keeping her on this brand from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
weekenddreams
This is the only food that my dog will voluntarily want to eat, and actually goes back for seconds. Most of the time I have to convince him to eat on a schedule but with this food, whenever I put it in a bowl he'll finish it. It's pretty moderately priced for what you get, and has a lot of protein in it. It's a good average-grade food for everyday use, I would definitely recommend it if someone asked me for the best non-boutique pet food under $50.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After switiching to this food, my dog stopped getting sick

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura1432
from Cheshire, MA
My siberian husky had diarrrhea and he was very picky eating the last brand of food I gave to him, probably because it made him sick and he usually wouldnt eat a whole dish. so I took him to the vet and spent a lot of money on medications that the vet thought would help him. After spending alot of money on medications and vet visits, I decided to change his food to Purina Pro Plan shredded chicken for adults as it was recommended to me. The diarrhea stopped and he gobbles down his food!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, Pups Love the Meaty Bits

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AvasPeople
from Jacksonville, FL
Our 6 year old Beagle and 8 year old Queensland Heeler love the meaty bits in this dog food and seem fuller after eating this than other brands we have tried, meaning less asking for more and more playing around. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Johnny37091
from Lewisburg, TN
Good food. Can buy it anywhere which means if you travel and run short, you can buy it easity. Just wish petco carried it in the regular food rather than the shredded variety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An exellent dog food!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Rainier, WA
This dog food contains no corn for those of you who have a smelly pet and want to get rid of that dog food odor on you pet. Filled with shredded chicken, my dog loves this stuff. A healthy balance of good nutrition of shredded chicken and rice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this food!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
PLJH
from MA
I was searching for the perfect food for my sporting and show dogs, while at the same time, not breaking the bank. I also wanted a food that was readily available, as we travel with them often. I bought a small bag, to integrate into their current food and they picked out the Pro Plan w/ Shredded chicken!. They clean their dishes every time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heathernikkole
from Tacoma, Wa
My dog would gobble down the shredded pieces of this food and then slowly nibble a little on crunchy pieces. I have since switched her over to Purina Chef Michael's, which is pretty much just the shredded pieces. Anyone having problems with their dog only wanting to eat the shredded pieces, I would recommend switching over to Purina Chef Michael's.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality food at a reasonable price

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
pharphel
from NY
I breed and train basset hounds for competition in conformation and performance (field trial, obedience, and tracking). My dogs maintain excellent condition on this food and even my picky eaters love it. It is a high quality, reasonably priced food that is readily available at Petco throughout the country. Availability is important to me because I travel throughout the country with my dogs for competitions and would rather buy food at my destination than carry a large quantity with me. When I sell a puppy I recommend ProPlan and provide free samples and coupons to get them started on the right foot...er...paw! I highly recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pro Plan Savor Shredded Blend Chicken & Rice Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
crosswycke
from Half Moon Bay, CA
My chow mix is a very finicky eater. If I put food in her bowl that she isn't crazy about, she literally turns up her nose and walks away. I might as well throw out the whole bag because she just won't eat it, even if she's hungry.
The first time I put a Pro Plan shredded product in her bowl, she dove in and practically inhaled it. I've tried three different flavors and she's loved all three.
I'll keep buying Pro Plan for her to keep her happy and healthy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>