petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Crystal Cat Litter

Petco Crystal Cat Litter

Litter crystals provide advanced odor control and superior moisture absorptionCan absorb liquids and odors for up to a full monthNon-toxic, moisture-locking kitty litterDesigned to reduce litter tracking in your homeLighter and less dusty than many clay litter varieties
Average Customer Rating:
3.66 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
35 out of 50(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Review 1 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
gwenH
from Melbourne Fl
Lighter weight of this product protects my back...but often is it not consistent in color or absorption...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DUST, DUST, DUST

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
dst101
from dallas, tx
We have tried this litter for 3 months now...it is OK at masking the scent, and OK at not tracking through the house but the dust is a mess. This is not a litter that you can clean out or replace in the house. It leaves a lingering cloud of dust that does not seem healthy for the animals let alone the people that are changing the litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Crystal Cat Litter I've tried

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cherylr6
from Minneapolis, MN
I've been using the Petco litter for about a month now and in terms of litter tracking, lasting odor control and cat acceptance, I've been very happy.
With the product I used before this, after a week the litter began to look very dingy and wouldn't absorb the urine, (I prefer to change the litter in each box every 2 weeks, with daily scooping). I am able to keep to that schedule and I would probably be able to push it if I needed two. The 15 lb bag has lasted for 4 weeks for 2 large size litter boxes for 2 clean freak cats.
The repeat delivery system is great because the previous litter my feline minions deemed acceptable was only available at stores that required special trips. It's been the kind of winter where that's been less attractive to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best kitty litter ever

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aunie
from Steamboat Springs, CO
I love the crystal cat litter and so do my cats. This brand does not have much of the scented crystals, which a lot of cats do not like. The crystals absorb the urine, which really keeps the nasty litter box smell to a minimum. No gag reflex when one walks into the room. Just remove the solid waste and mix up the crystals until it is ready to change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nearly perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
CalystaRose
from Dallas, TX
We really love this product in our household. We have a lot of cats right now because we're in the process of rescuing strays and rehoming them. While they're getting tamed, fixed & vaccinated they all have to share our tiny apartment with us. This litter allows us to control the smell while taking care of our kitties. We change out the cat boxes completely every 2 weeks or so. But that's due mostly to he volume of use each box has to handle. My friend who has only two cats is able to go longer, nearly a month, between box changes. My only issue with this product is I wish the pebbles were smaller. They're horribly painful to step on barefoot and the cats themselves aren't big fans of the feeling but have adapted to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good litter

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Noisi
from Los Angeles
This litter is a good product when you have many cats.
I have two lovely cats and it's a pleasure to have an apartment without bad odors from their litter box. I change the litter twice a month, and it is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter value

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melisa
from Menifee, CA
This litter is great and very comparable to the name brand. The crystals are a little larger than normal but thats okay. When bought in bulk this litter is VERY reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Totally Low-tracking

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
anelson2009
from California
I really love that I found this cat litter. I have a Norwegian forest cat who has very long tufts of hair that come out of her paws, so litter tracking was a huge, gross, unsanitary problem in our house. This cat litter did wonders for that! I vacuum/sweep significantly less often, and the litter absorbs liquid waste, but does not stick to her paws when they're wet (she has this habit of drinking out of the bathtub faucet, getting all wet, then jumping in her litter box right after).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Low track and it works

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Redondo Beach, CA
The brand's best feature is that your cats won't track sand or gravel all over the floors. Finding an occasional silica rock is much better than constantly sweeping and vacuuming all of the unsanitary dust from the litter box that can find its way all over your home. I wish it were a little more effective on odor control, but it is still good. I line my cats' box with a garbage bag, place a lining pad in the bottom of the pan and then fill about with about 7-8 lbs. With 2 cats, this requires changing at least once a week and scooping daily to keep it acceptably clean. Expensive but worth it if want to keep your cats happy and your home the most clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work as well as it should.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
DirtyD
from San Diego,CA
I'm using this with the Scoop Free litter box with a permanent tray. I have used other brands of crystal cat litter (like Scoop Free) that last twice as long as this product. I have to dump out the entire box before a week is out, and the crystals don't absorb the urine as it should. I end up with a huge mess.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Very Happy!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TwoDogsTwoCatsMom
from Universal City, Texas
I have two indoor kitties. Litter box is located in bathroom with little ventilation. With no messy trails and no smelly odors, the litter box can be forgotten. If an odor does develop, it means I haven't changed the box in about 3 weeks. eek! This is, by far, the best litter I found...I tried all types and brands. It makes a necessary, dirty job much easier to handle. I've been using Petco Crystal Cat Litter since 2006 and am very very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the Best Cat Litter!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
GreyhoundMom5
from Tallahassee, FL
This is the best cat litter I've ever used! It totally controlls odor, is non-tracking and almost dust free. It is easier to change the litter about monthly and the box stays much cleaner!
I highly recommend this litter and love the convenience of auto-ship!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, doesn't track, no smell.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrkittty
from Glen Ellen, Ca
Good value, delivered right to your door. Cats like it. Lasts a long time. I use it with all my cats and it is easy to transition my kittens into it. I never have any Oder in my home. I like it because the cats feet don't get wet and messy like they do with clay litter. The wheat litter smells like old newspaper too. This doesn't smell. I use it for all my cats!! I highly recommend it. I take it when I travel to cats shows and even on the the airplane, just in case! Thanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the Job

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tyee
from Bandon, OR
Good and less expensive alternative for the Scoop free automatic litter box. I bought the Forever Tray for the Scoop Free litter box and needed the crystals. To extend the life of the crystals I mix them around and the take out the solid waste, once a week. Some of the crystals are a little too large to fall through my hand held litter scoop, but that is a minor problem. Pricing of this item is funny. The larger volume is much cheaper per pound, than the smaller volume package.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Odor almost non-existent!

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abi96cats
from San Leandro, CA
A good quality crystal litter at a good price (multiple cat home here, got the 60 lb, 2 x 30 lb bags). I do notice when stirring after scooping dust comes up, as it seems smaller crystals break down into dusty particles at the bottom of the box. But with any litter I've ever used, that seems inevitable. The sizes of crystals vary, so there is some tracking as well, but it is lower than most others out there and my kitties seem to have gotten used to its feel. Best of all, it's left me w/ a practically odor-free home and as long as I keep regular daily maintenance, it has had a long life between changes. Highly recommended for those desiring clean households!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crystal cat litter

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ilovecats2
from Pasadena, CA
I really like this cat litter because it contains the odor and doesn't track as well as sand/clumping litter. My only disappointment is that the stores don't "price match" the .com prices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

crystal litter

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ctmd
from Atlanta, Georiga
Lets face it....cat litter is always nasty. I gave it a 5 paw review based on the options....
Sometimes I have my children'
s cats here..so there can be as many as 4 here. I also have a 19 yr old cat who urinates an unGodly amount....this litter is the only reason my house doesn't smell!. They use it in Europe and the houses do not smell either. I do have to change the litter more often than the manufacturer say, about every 2-3 weeks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Crystal Cat Litter

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Efk3
from Brooklyn, NY
This is by far the best litter I've ever used. It doesn't clump or track much. You can't smell that I have two cats. It definitely absorbs odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crystal is crystal, right? Wrong!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Binket
from virginia
You'd think all crystal litter would be the same. I mean, they don't manufacture it, nature does. However, I've used crystal litters that don't absorb half as well as this and cost much more. This litter lasts a full month (I have 2 cats and each has its own box.) It absorbs urine quickly and eliminates smells almost instantly. You need a wide slot scoop to remove wastes because the crystals are big, but the difference in effectiveness is worth a little more a bit of extra sift-work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crystal cat litter works wonders!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
juliagulia915
from Brookline, MA
This product is the best! No odor, no wetness, and lasts up to 5x longer than other cat litters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>