petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Crystal Cat Litter

Petco Crystal Cat Litter

Litter crystals provide advanced odor control and superior moisture absorptionCan absorb liquids and odors for up to a full monthNon-toxic, moisture-locking kitty litterDesigned to reduce litter tracking in your homeLighter and less dusty than many clay litter varieties
Average Customer Rating:
3.741 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
10
41 out of 58(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Review 1 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter on the planet

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
Tried them all this is the best by far. My 3 cats love it and my guests love it even more. I have had the harshest critics tell me there is NO cat smell in my house. No nasty litter smell, this eliminates all urine odor. If you are not using this litter you are crazy. When I see people buying sand, pine, or other "worlds best" products I just shake my head and think how awful their house must smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In love with this stuff

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
When I adopted our cat from a family member they recommended we use this but of course I ignored it in favor of other conventional litters. Boy was I wrong. I went through 4 different brands of litter and all of them stunk up the entire left side of our house! We couldn't take it anymore so I decided to go with this one and what a difference it's made! The cat loves it, it leave minimal tracking and it will last all week, towards the end of the week it'll smell a bit but it's NOTHING compared to traditional litter brands. I am recommending this to everyone. It actually clumps up the feces and I can throw it down the toilet with no problem. I'm in love with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disgusting

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Fe NM
If your cat urinates toward front of box, you see yellow crystals. Gross!
it smells bad.
It hurts if you step on the crystals with bare feet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter ever - NO odor in our house!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sioux Falls SD
Our 3 cats have used crystal litter for 8 years. It's awesome -- NO odor at all even when we lived in a studio apartment (that's why crystal litter is the #1 seller in Japan). The tracking is minimal as well. The key is to scoop daily and STIR the crystals. The stirring ensures that all moisture is absorbed. It's also important to be sure you have enough litter in the litter box (we use 2-3"). The best scoop is one with the square holes -- that way the litter drops away quickly. The 30# bag of this litter lasts about 6 weeks for our 3 indoor cats (they use 2 top-entry litter boxes).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME LITTER

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, Ma
I use this litter all the time. The cat box never smells if you just scoop the spots they go in 2-3 times a week. Its amazing. I have a small 1000 sq ft apt and two cats. I've gone through all the cat litter I could find which worked the best. I've tried it all. This works the best for the price. The only downfall is the litter is a bit chunky, if your cat has problems with the chunkiness of the litter then get the precious kitty crystal cat litter or the long haired cat crystal litter. I get the large bag delivered to the apt and then it lasts me about 3-4 months per large bag. Totally worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Natchez, MS
I really like this cat litter. I had been using a premium name brand scoopable litter and could not tolerate the dust and the smell. I have 5 cats with 5 boxes that use this litter and my house no longer smells like litter, clean or dirty and no dust from the litter coating everything. I find it very easy to scoop and stir and the litter lasts for about 1 month. Buying the 2 bags is a savings and having it delivered to my front doors makes it even sweeter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best price but maybe not best value

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
I had been using this litter for close to a year. If you buy the largest package when the little is at a good sale price you simply cannot beat the price. Crystal litter seems to sell for $1-$2+ a pound, I have purchased this for .75 a pound. I was happy with the litter and will defiantly be sticking with crystals for now on.
There are some issues though of course. When you pour the new litter in the cloud of dust that comes from the litter is horrible. I am not particularly sensitive but I have to pour it and then step away and wait for the cloud to settle.
Compared to traditional litter there is very little tracking, however if you step on one of these big crystal barefoot it is pretty bad.
Because this was not on sale when I needed more litter I tried a different brand for the last month. I had every intention on going back to this litter until I noticed a change in my cat's potty behavior. With this little they did very little digging, usually leaving poops uncovered (although the silica would still dehydrate them). Using a smaller crystal my cats are behaving more naturally. They dig in the smaller crystals, just like if it was clay.
I hate that I am going to start paying more money just to have a smaller crystal. However I feel that this litter hindered my cats natural instances and that is just not something I am comfortable with. If they ever come out with a version with smaller crystals I will switch right back.
After trying a few brands I will say silica crystals seem to all work about the same. It is just a matter of texture and if they are scented. If you have a larger breed cat this litter would probably be a great option.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, great!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I really like this litter. It is the best I've used so far. It controls the smell very well, which is the most important to me. I like that I only need to remove the feces as well and just mix it up to distribute the urine. There are only a few down sides to this litter: it's dusty and the crystals still get tracked out of the box, but it's less than with clay litters, in my opinion. The dust does bother me, but I haven't found anything else that works as well, so I'll deal with it. It is expensive, but a 30lb bag lasts me about 2 - 2.5 months (with 2 boxes and 2 cats).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne Fl
Lighter weight of this product protects my back...but often is it not consistent in color or absorption...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DUST, DUST, DUST

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from dallas, tx
We have tried this litter for 3 months now...it is OK at masking the scent, and OK at not tracking through the house but the dust is a mess. This is not a litter that you can clean out or replace in the house. It leaves a lingering cloud of dust that does not seem healthy for the animals let alone the people that are changing the litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Crystal Cat Litter I've tried

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I've been using the Petco litter for about a month now and in terms of litter tracking, lasting odor control and cat acceptance, I've been very happy.
With the product I used before this, after a week the litter began to look very dingy and wouldn't absorb the urine, (I prefer to change the litter in each box every 2 weeks, with daily scooping). I am able to keep to that schedule and I would probably be able to push it if I needed two. The 15 lb bag has lasted for 4 weeks for 2 large size litter boxes for 2 clean freak cats.
The repeat delivery system is great because the previous litter my feline minions deemed acceptable was only available at stores that required special trips. It's been the kind of winter where that's been less attractive to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best kitty litter ever

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Steamboat Springs, CO
I love the crystal cat litter and so do my cats. This brand does not have much of the scented crystals, which a lot of cats do not like. The crystals absorb the urine, which really keeps the nasty litter box smell to a minimum. No gag reflex when one walks into the room. Just remove the solid waste and mix up the crystals until it is ready to change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nearly perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
We really love this product in our household. We have a lot of cats right now because we're in the process of rescuing strays and rehoming them. While they're getting tamed, fixed & vaccinated they all have to share our tiny apartment with us. This litter allows us to control the smell while taking care of our kitties. We change out the cat boxes completely every 2 weeks or so. But that's due mostly to he volume of use each box has to handle. My friend who has only two cats is able to go longer, nearly a month, between box changes. My only issue with this product is I wish the pebbles were smaller. They're horribly painful to step on barefoot and the cats themselves aren't big fans of the feeling but have adapted to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good litter

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
This litter is a good product when you have many cats.
I have two lovely cats and it's a pleasure to have an apartment without bad odors from their litter box. I change the litter twice a month, and it is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter value

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Menifee, CA
This litter is great and very comparable to the name brand. The crystals are a little larger than normal but thats okay. When bought in bulk this litter is VERY reasonably priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Totally Low-tracking

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I really love that I found this cat litter. I have a Norwegian forest cat who has very long tufts of hair that come out of her paws, so litter tracking was a huge, gross, unsanitary problem in our house. This cat litter did wonders for that! I vacuum/sweep significantly less often, and the litter absorbs liquid waste, but does not stick to her paws when they're wet (she has this habit of drinking out of the bathtub faucet, getting all wet, then jumping in her litter box right after).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Low track and it works

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Redondo Beach, CA
The brand's best feature is that your cats won't track sand or gravel all over the floors. Finding an occasional silica rock is much better than constantly sweeping and vacuuming all of the unsanitary dust from the litter box that can find its way all over your home. I wish it were a little more effective on odor control, but it is still good. I line my cats' box with a garbage bag, place a lining pad in the bottom of the pan and then fill about with about 7-8 lbs. With 2 cats, this requires changing at least once a week and scooping daily to keep it acceptably clean. Expensive but worth it if want to keep your cats happy and your home the most clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work as well as it should.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego,CA
I'm using this with the Scoop Free litter box with a permanent tray. I have used other brands of crystal cat litter (like Scoop Free) that last twice as long as this product. I have to dump out the entire box before a week is out, and the crystals don't absorb the urine as it should. I end up with a huge mess.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Very Happy!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Universal City, Texas
I have two indoor kitties. Litter box is located in bathroom with little ventilation. With no messy trails and no smelly odors, the litter box can be forgotten. If an odor does develop, it means I haven't changed the box in about 3 weeks. eek! This is, by far, the best litter I found...I tried all types and brands. It makes a necessary, dirty job much easier to handle. I've been using Petco Crystal Cat Litter since 2006 and am very very happy with it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Crystal Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the Best Cat Litter!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee, FL
This is the best cat litter I've ever used! It totally controlls odor, is non-tracking and almost dust free. It is easier to change the litter about monthly and the box stays much cleaner!
I highly recommend this litter and love the convenience of auto-ship!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>