petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Lava Bites

Super Pet Lava Bites

Long-lasting hamster treats and gerbil treatsAll-natural lava stone triangles promote clean healthy teethMade from genuine volcanic lavaThree great flavors: Chin-a-Min, Spear-a-Munch and Winter Grind
Average Customer Rating:
4.343 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
29 out of 35(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Lava Bites
Review 1 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Pet Lava Bites

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
My chinchillas loved this lava bite over others that they have tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Chinchilla Chewy!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Papillion, NE
I love to give these to all of my Chinchillas. It is a 3pack and I snap each one into 2 pieces...I make sure to give 1-2 apple sticks EVERY DAY to keep their teeth trimmed but I like to give them these pumice "Lava" chews about once a week...I buy in bulk when they have a free ship day and or the item is on a GREAT SALE. You got to try them if you Chin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, Hi
My Chillas loved these rocks. Within 2 days, these rocks had been chewed to dust. I need to buy more of this great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinchilla Gone Wild

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
My chinchilla loves these and she can easily finish these. The down side is the mess, but it is worth it. She absolutely LOVES these chews.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinchillas Love It

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
I usually get the lava ledges but once in awhile I'll get these instead and my girls love them. All three of them go to town on them as soon as they've been hung in the cages. They rarely last more than 24 hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sparta, TN
I highly recommend these chews. my chinchilla just loves these! His favorite chew above all others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chinchilla loves these!

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
My chinchilla loves these lava bites. He attacks them as soon as I get them in his cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for teeth

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bridgeport, CT
My chinchilla has such a good time with these lava bites. After she chews them to bits she rolls in them. She likes it on her fur.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chinchillas LOVE these

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Portsmouth, OH
If you have chinchillas (ie, extreme chew monsters), then don't just buy some of these, buy a lot! I put one up about every other day, and it saves a lot of other items in the cage from the chewing frenzies. They prefer these above everything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great chew treat for chinchillas

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Our chins love to gnaw on these much more than other lava treats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
My campbell hamster chews on this once in a while but I dont think he likes it very much. it is hard for him to chew it as it is very wide so he cant get a hold on it. I wont be buying this again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Break them into smaller pieces

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Our chinchilla "Dusty" will go through an entire rock in about 20 minutes. So we break it into smaller rocks, about 1/4 rock. And they last a bit longer. But he loves them, and is fun to watch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rats weren't impressed

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City, OK
One of my female rats took right to it at first. Took a few bites and that was the end of that. I still have 2 lava bites left and the original one just hangs there on the treat bar. Disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Chins Love it!

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
These may seem pricey at times esp when you don't catch them on sale ,but my chins love to chew these. They're great for their teeth and satisfies their need to chew.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chinchillas love it

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Oakland, CA
Rocko and Halo love these lava bites. They just can't get enough of them to bite and chew on. I am constantly purchasing these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly, a waste

PostedJune 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
These chew treats didn't interest my guinea pig AT ALL. He didn't even touch them with his teeth once. I tried putting in each "flavor" and each time, he just looked at it, smelled it, and left it in the middle of his cage. I don't even think he recognized it as a food-related, semi-edible object. Very disappointing :/
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gone the next day

PostedMay 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
I'm always looking for new things to keep my 7 month old chinchilla busy. He gets bored so quickly so it makes it very difficult to find new chew toys for him since wood is apparently "boring" to him, and he wont chew on wood anymore. I found these and figured I would give them a try since they weren't wood and it said long lasting. I put the pink one into his cage on his Kabob (because is was called Chin-a-mini) and he immediately went over and started chewing. I went out to eat with a friend and came back to find pink powder everywhere and the lava bite nowhere to be found. He looked at me like he was bored already, so I gave him another, and sat there and watched him consume the whole thing in under an hour. I am very disappointed in the "longevity" of this chew toy. I am glad he is interested in it and actually chewed on something other than the one wooden toy he can tolerate but is so hard to find once it is finished, but a toy that is gone in under an hour is so not worth $4.50. The search is on for a new toy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

eh..

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
this product caught my eye, i chose it over the apple orchard wood bites...big mistake. what a complete waste of money! my teddy bear hamster would not touch these. he preferred chewing on the cage bars instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedMarch 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wow, I put these in my kabob for my two ratties and they absolutely love them. I hear them chewing on them all day. I put their first one in a couple days ago and most of it is gone and all worn down. Very good product, I plan to buy more as soon as the other two are used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Lava Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedSeptember 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
I've only tried these with one of my guinea pigs, but he absolutely loves the lava bites! These are great because they keep his teeth down and I believe it's a calcium source too? He's a baby, so he needs his calcium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>