petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses

WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses

Premium dog house for sheltering your pet outdoorsSolid wooden dog house construction with fir panelingWaterproof shingle slant roof lifts up for easy accessAdjustable waterproof feet keep the floor off the groundAssembles quickly and easily
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Review 1 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality, and very easy to assemble

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lawrenceville, GA
I was able to assemble the dog house with just a screw driver, and was able to do it by myself. The construction is solid and materials are of very good quality. In addition, the design allows your pet to get out of the wind, and the top raises up to allow for easy cleaning of the inside. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog house

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pasadena
Perfect size, easy to assemble, smells good and withstood rain...highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
The design is good - the quality of the wood is average. We had to reinforce a piece of split wood.
Even though a lot of care went into packaging the kit for shipping we had loose screws and bolts falling out of the box before we even opened it. Made me wonder if the kit had been previously opened/returned and then resold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looked real good online

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, FL
Nice dog house easy to put together if parts weren't broken. Just to much hassel to send back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARE Dog House

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
This is great, made very well. Love the wood and the color. This is our second one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

House didn't even last 8 months

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vancovuer, wa
When I first got this house I was happy. It went together well, and my dog loved it. However, after only 8 months mold started growing on the underside of the roof (I live in Washington state) even when I used the insulation that goes with the house. The last straw was when the supporting rales that you place the floor on broke off. I have a lab who is only 60lbs. I would never buy this product again!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great House

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NC
The house goes together very easily. The house weathers well. If you're concerned about wind lifting the roof, it is very easy to install some simple latches to keep it locked down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Dog Approved

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, Ca
My dog just loves his new dog house since its very roomy and cozy. I like that I am able to to clean it very easily inside and out. The only bad side to it is that when i was putting it together it chips very easily in the corners and has a weird chemical smell when its new just out the box but goes away the second day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An excellent dog house

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tiburon
This dog house is well designed and easy to assemble although my puppy has not yet decided to use it regularly. I would rate it as 5 paws except that it came with one part damaged (so I am seeking a partial refund). All in all, however, I am very pleased with my choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feral cat loves it

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington, DC
This house is great. I bought it for a feral cat I have been feeding, and he got right in and snuggled as soon as I put it out on the porch. It's easy to assemble, and the addition of the insulation package and a soft blanket make it the perfect house for outdoor cats. It's sturdy and attractive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Westchester, NY
The dog house was shipped using the same box it would have been in had we picked it up from the store.....the corners of the box were reinforced with corner guards and the entire box wrapped with nylon straps. Very secure and easy to see if it had been damaged in transit (ours hadn't). Easily assembled by myself, needed no assistance. Once assembeld, my dogs, who are a bit skittish about using houses (we tried once before with one of those soft houses) went right to it. They have yet to actually USE it but that is only because we are acclimating them to it slowly and aren't trying to push it on them. We have two chihuahuas and will be using the house indoors. Not certain how it would hold up to severe winter weather, but I can report that the house is sturdily constructed and the roof is amazing (the shingle surface of the dog house is in better condition than the asphalt shingles on my house!!)
I would highly recommend this house - and I can also report that I searched high and low to get a good deal and found the best deal right here at Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Received product on time and in good condtion. Opened the box and checked everything. Noticed quality of material right away. Good wood, solid joints, clean cuts and nicely packed. Put together in less than an hour. Looks great and everything fit perfectly. Put a coat of Varnish on all wood to protect from Texas sun. Manual suggests you do this annually. This made the wood look even better. I would definitely suggest this product to all of my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I am very pleased with my purchase! I have 2 pit bulls, one weighing 40 lbs and the other weighing 80 lbs. Both fit snug yet comfortable in the large dog house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice house for the money

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from georgia
I bought the small house for a semi-feral cat that lives on my porch during the winter.
It went together incredibly easy. The wood is lightweight making the house easy to move.
The opening is too large for a cat and I intend to use the wood slats that make the bottom of the house to create a smaller door entrance. It's an easy customization. I will use a piece of solid plywood for the replacement flooring by making a template from the slats for size and cutting the plywood to fit the house.
The flooring as is has gaps inbetween the wood boards, like slats, allowing wind to blow right under and in.
Not really a problem, as I'd planned from the get-go to have to make several upgrades anyway. I also plan to put the foam insulating panels into this house and line the inside of the roof as well to create a completely windproof and cozy house.
All in all, this house is just what I wanted and saves me the work of building a house from scratch. Love the way the top opens for easy cleaning and access, also love the feet. With free shipping and a discount coupon code, the price was excellent.
If it is going to be out in the actual elements (unless you live in a very moderate climate) as opposed to a porch, it is a good idea to replace the supplied screws with galvanized or decking screws of the appropriate size to replace the cheaper ones in the kit. Do not use larger than the size supplied, as the wood is softer and will split if you use a screw too large.
If your dog/cat is going to be outside during the winter in this house, DO upgrade it...change out the flooring to a solid plywood floor, or if you cannot do this, use a high quality thick plastic to staple to the underside of the floor securely (so it won't flap) or some type of vinyl liner on the inside <automotive dept?>) to keep all cold air out.
Get a plastic flap door, too.
It's a great house for the price and with a few tweaks and a little preventative maintenance (additional staining), it's a deal that your pet will appreciate.
I put it on my porch with a cheaper microfiber blanket and the cat was in it within an hour. The next morning, she was sitting on the roof, enjoying the elevated surface and view from her new home.
I would buy this product again, and might very soon, to replace another feral/stray cat house on my property.
Kind regards to not just those who love their furry babies, but especially to all of those who help the forgotten animals like strays and ferals.
Thanks for all you do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very much as needed

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
I bought this for some stray cats I have been caring for and they moved right in. I did put a plastic see through flap about half way down so that it would keep the wind and snow off of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What I expected

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shipping was fast and the house went togethor easy, The Quality is descent, to be expected for the money. I have a 130lb mastiff and a 85 lb pitbull they do fit but its real tight. great for one big dog or maybe 2 medium dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Dog House

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Northern Connecticut
This dog house was purchased for an inside/outside dog. Since we have an invisible fence, he needed some shelter during the raw days of fall and winter. This house fits the bill. It is attractive enough to stay on our screened in porch, and sturdy enough to hold a black lab with room to spare. I probably would be a little reluctant if this house was for an outside only dog due to the soft cedar wood construction. The features are great with the hinged lid, and the hot dog liner fits perfectly. If ypou have a pet who likes the outdoors by day and house by night, then this is the one for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog house

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Delivered quickly after placing order. Easy to put together. Put some hay in it for warmth and my lab jump right in. Sleeps in it day and night. So far well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bought this for my cat. He is now an outdoor cat and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Premium Plus Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog love's it!

PostedOctober 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Tucson AZ
I think this dog house is well worth the money. It was put together easy. It is also strong, and with the hinged roof, it is easy to fluff up the bedding. If you want to clean out the interior, there is space between the slats for the dirt and hair to fall through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>