petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses

WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses

Solid wood construction and reliable a-frame designWaterproof shingle roof keeps your furry friend dryAssembles quickly and easily - only a screwdriver is requiredAdjustable waterproof feet keeps this wooden dog house off the ground -ideal for cold or wet weatherShop for a small, medium or large dog house to suit your pet's needs
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Review 1 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but....

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Monticello, IN
the 2-piece wood floor was a couple inches too small, meaning that they fell through and sit on the ground. Therefore, the existence of the extended legs to keep moisture out of the floor is nullified in this case. Also, because of this, there is now a 2" gap between the flooring on the ground and the skirting of the doghouse. I plan to call the company and see if they'd be willing to replace the floor panels without the inconvenience of requiring me to take apart and return the entire thing.
If it weren't for this big disappointment, I would have given this doghouse high marks. There were approx. only 4 steps to putting it together and it went fairly quickly. It seems quite sturdy and once the flooring issue is resolved, I'm expecting to get several years' use out of it for a large, long-haired feral cat that had formerly been sleeping in a microwave box filled with bedding. Now that the nights have turned cold, she needs a better shelter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small dog house

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Berkeley, Calif
The dog house is nice. however one small piece was damaged in shipping and when I reported it petco refused to replace the piece until I sent a picture of the damaged piece. If I was asking to replace the whole thing I could understand them wanting a picture. But the part that was damaged was the smallest piece in the lot. It was easier for me to just go to the hardware store and buy something to substitute for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ware will not hold up to Wear

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Staten Island, NY
Purchased the WARE A-frame dog house in XL which will be too small to accomodate my retriever when he grows. In addition to the balsom type wood (very light and easily splits), the house came with a busted plastic insert for one of the legs, top piece that covers the roof line was cracked along with the two trim pieces attached to the sides of the rear panel. Overall, its a cheap piece of junk , but I guess that's what you get for under $200.00. Should have spent the money and went for the Simply cedar house..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shelter for your pet

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Three Forks, MT
We bought the small version of this pet house for three cats that we “inherited” when our neighbors moved. As you look through the reviews for this doghouse, you will see patterns: excellent quality, super easy assembly, and prompt delivery. All of these are true. It would have cost me much more in time and money to build a comparable doghouse. This one is trim, neat, and looks great. Best of all, it takes longer to get the pieces out of the box than it does to put it together! If you are looking for a nice shelter for your pet, this is an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent product

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
The house was very easy to put together. It seems sturdy and has plenty of room for my dogs. One piece was somewhat cracked when we opened it. I contacted the manufacturer and the lady was very nice and they are shipping us a new piece. The dogs seem to love it and are cozy. We will probably buy the door when it becomes available.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I ordered an XL, and it isn't very big. It's barely big enough for our lab, but definitely not our mastiff. Some of the boards came split and broken. Overall, we should have built our own.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cracked Parts, Size Not Accurate

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southern CA
This dog is alright for the price, there were a few things that bothered me. The beam for the roof was cracked in multiple places, I didn't want to wait to send it back and get a new house because it is getting rainy and cold and I want my dog to have a house for the winter. The two roof panels don't line up flesh with to each other. I don't think this is related to the cracked beam, it seems like they would do this no matter what. Lastly, the size was an issue. I'm sure the measurements are fine, but the suggested sizes for the dogs listed do not match, at least not on the XL one. My dog is a Great Dane/Mastiff mix, he is not full grown and there it is questionable if he will fit when he is. Both dog types are listed on this dog house size, but the door is just too short. He seems awkward and has to belly crawl to get in, one he is in, he is ok because it is taller than the doorway, but the doorway is just so short for such large dogs. If you have a full grown Great Dane, your dog will not fit. (I know this because my fiance's grandma has a full grown, pure Great Dane and it is huge).
One, more thing. They missed drill holes for some of the screws, so have your drill ready even though it says you will only need a screwdriver.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my doggies love it!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from las cruces, nm
Im very happy with the dog house so far, its very pretty and seems comfortable for the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I was very pleased with this dog house. I am using it as a house for my outdoor cats, so it's size is just right. It was very easy to assemble and it arrived much faster than I expected. I am keeping it on my porch, so it hasn't had to stand up to weather, but the construction seems very durable. Overall, well worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like this house!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Roswell, NM
The shipping was a lot faster than I had expected. All of the parts came in perfect condition and nothing was missing. It took my husband five minutes to assemble and once we put my dog's bed inside she immediately knew it was for her. It is sturdy enough to satisfy any concerns we had. I purchased the small house and it is the Perfect size for chihuahuas! I would recommend this product to my friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to slap together!

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
Great looking house, so easy to put together. I also got the insulation kit with it. It's well worth it, They couldn't of made this any easier.
Thanks :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
Arrived quickly. Assembled easily with one screw driver. I am using this as a summer shelter for feral cats who've adopted my yard. They've been spayed/neutered and already have a winter shelter.... but no interest in retiring to the indoors. They took to the house right away with the help of a little catnip. I may purchase accessories later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Easily assembled, my 8 and 9 year old kids did it. The dog house is within a covered kennel that is 10' x 5' so I did not purchase the plastic slats that cover the opening. I will probably stain the would to make sure it last in the weather. This is my first purchase of a dog house and had no idea that they would be so expensive, so I have nothing to compare it to. But I am happy so far
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Dogs Love It

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fairfield, CA
I purchased one of these after trying one of the hard plastic barn-type dog houses without success. Either my dogs didn't like the plastic, or were afraid of the smallish entry, so even though they are only 50 & 70 lbs, I went with the XL size. After getting them used to the dog house by tossing a few treats into the back of it, they seemed to not mind this one. A few days later, I heard a ruckus in the back yard, and upon investigation, I found that my dogs were fighting over who got to sit in the dog house, thus forcing me to purchase a second one just to keep them happy. I also placed an outdoor carpet square in each dog house for padding. This dog house is easy to assemble and looks nice. However, the floor pieces are not secured with screws so I can hear them rattling a little when the dogs climb in and out. Leaving the pieces as they are will allow me to turn the dog house on its side for easier access while cleaning, but I may just screw the floor pieces down anyway. Also, the packaging tends to leave the roof ridge cap vulnerable to breakage during shipping. Called the company for a free replacement and am waiting for the part to arrive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great dog house

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from tilly ar
My 13 year old daughter put this together. The dog house will be kept in the carport, so I can't say how it will be out in the weather. The materials are well made & the house itself is very nice looking. I looked at alot of small dog houses, they aren't easy to find, but this one is just the right size for our 10 lbs feist, annie.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dog House

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chehalis, Washington
Purchased this house for a dog that we rescued from years of being tied way out back of their house and rarely fed. The house is of good quality. But....the roof ridge cap was split pretty bad. But because of an earlier review, my husband just fixed it instead of trying to get a new one from the company. I am so glad that we decided to buy the X-large house. Our dog is a German Shepard mix. He isn't as big as a full blooded Sherpard. And he fits snuggly in the house. I don't know how a bigger dog would fit in it. We purchased the insulation kit for it. And we put hay in it to get him to go in it. That is what he was used to sleeping on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What We Expected From PETCO

PostedJune 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
All the parts were with the shipment and they all went together as explained in the instructions.
After completing the assembly we decided to purchase the pad and liner to put in the doghouse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble

PostedJune 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
this doghouse is great, the quality of the wood was good and it was very easy to assemble. One screwdriver was all that was needed, and the hardware was easy to locate as the screw sizes were organized by grouping them together with the instructions. I put it together in under 30 min. My Minnie loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Laredo, TX
Recently purchased this dog house for our family pet. Easy assembly and great pet home. Great home for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DogHouse Great/Manufacturer Customer Service Bad

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
This dog house is great. It's beautiful, sturdy and add such character to my garden. However, when it arrived, all pieces were fine except the "roof ridge cap". It was in shreds. I called the manufacturer's customer service number to request a replacement part and it took several weeks for them to ship the part to me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>