petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses

WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses

Solid wood construction and reliable a-frame designWaterproof shingle roof keeps your furry friend dryAssembles quickly and easily - only a screwdriver is requiredAdjustable waterproof feet keeps this wooden dog house off the ground -ideal for cold or wet weatherShop for a small, medium or large dog house to suit your pet's needs
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
32 out of 40(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Review 1 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product did not meet expectations

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from miami, florida
Wood panels are way too thin. It came with broken parts. I had to buy materials to fix it. Also to provide support to the bottom panel, I bought 4x4 wood and placed 4 panels under the house to also lift it off the floor. The legs are not high enough to protect the house from flooding in case of a rain.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful dog house!

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
Beautiful dog house! Unfortunately for me, one piece was broken inside the box. The box was not damaged in shipping, so it must have broken when the product was boxed. Managed to get everything back in the box, load it in my car (very heavy, large box), and get a Petco employee to help me get it into the store. Petco employees are the best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Easy to install but isnt worth the price

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LaPlace, La
The wood pieces are flimsy and it should of have included the clear doors flap with the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Premium" product as advertised!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Eugene, OR
Product looked great online, had all the features for our 2 small dogs (Corgi/Jack Russel mix - 20 lbs. each) to share a large size house. We also bought the insulation liner (great product as well). House was easy set-up with one screwdriver, pre-drilled holes lined up perfectly. All parts were pre-cut to the right specs, and very decent quality. The unit is very study when put together. We put one of their dog beds in for added comfort - they love it. It took less than a day before they had their sleeping and hanging out arrangements figured out, plenty of room for both. Great product, especially for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great House, Value and Service

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
About the house: I bought an extra large for my tall 100 pound mix breed, very easy assembly, I was afraid it would be cheap construction but I am pleased with the quality and design, impressed with simplicity of assembly and price with discount; didn't take long for him to realize it was his, get in and take a nap; Delivery: very quick, much sooner than expected and this was during the holiday season; well packed however the roof ridge was damaged which brings me to Petco.com customer service: Excellent! The rep was very pleasant and rectified the one issue with the damaged ridge much to my satisfaction. Will have to see how it holds up but yes, I highly recommend this product and Petco.com
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to install!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hixson, TN
Quick and easy to install. Floor seems a little weak but for the price you cant beat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Met Expectations

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pismo Beach, CA
Pre fab parts well put together. Built in less than 30 mins without any
problem. Defiinately fit our needs for our German Shephards outdoor
space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Need more than a screwdriver

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
I thought this little house would be ideal for my outdoor cat & the sale price was excellent, HOWEVER, it required MUCH more than a screwdriver to put together, also needed a hand saw & fortitude to figure out how to assemble. The 2 floor board panels were 1/4" too long on each end so I had to cut them down to allow them to fit. Once in place, they did NOT fit to the exterior side wall panels, leaving 1/2" openings on both sides exposed to the elements. The roof panels had 2 furring strips, 1 toward the top & 1 toward bottom that were screwed & glued on. They had to be removed in order for the roof to fit closer to the A-frame at the top so the roof cap would go onto roof line, but there is still 1/2" spaces along the top of the side wall panels in the front & back, allowing weather to get inside the house. Thank goodness I purchased the insulation kit because it covered the gaping spaces left by the POOR quality of the parts fitting together. After 2 hours of trying to figure out how to make the parts work, I finally had a house that kind of looked like the picture of it online. My kitty loves the house but I don't know how well he'll like it once the weather turns this winter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but....

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Monticello, IN
the 2-piece wood floor was a couple inches too small, meaning that they fell through and sit on the ground. Therefore, the existence of the extended legs to keep moisture out of the floor is nullified in this case. Also, because of this, there is now a 2" gap between the flooring on the ground and the skirting of the doghouse. I plan to call the company and see if they'd be willing to replace the floor panels without the inconvenience of requiring me to take apart and return the entire thing.
If it weren't for this big disappointment, I would have given this doghouse high marks. There were approx. only 4 steps to putting it together and it went fairly quickly. It seems quite sturdy and once the flooring issue is resolved, I'm expecting to get several years' use out of it for a large, long-haired feral cat that had formerly been sleeping in a microwave box filled with bedding. Now that the nights have turned cold, she needs a better shelter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small dog house

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Berkeley, Calif
The dog house is nice. however one small piece was damaged in shipping and when I reported it petco refused to replace the piece until I sent a picture of the damaged piece. If I was asking to replace the whole thing I could understand them wanting a picture. But the part that was damaged was the smallest piece in the lot. It was easier for me to just go to the hardware store and buy something to substitute for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ware will not hold up to Wear

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Staten Island, NY
Purchased the WARE A-frame dog house in XL which will be too small to accomodate my retriever when he grows. In addition to the balsom type wood (very light and easily splits), the house came with a busted plastic insert for one of the legs, top piece that covers the roof line was cracked along with the two trim pieces attached to the sides of the rear panel. Overall, its a cheap piece of junk , but I guess that's what you get for under $200.00. Should have spent the money and went for the Simply cedar house..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shelter for your pet

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Three Forks, MT
We bought the small version of this pet house for three cats that we “inherited” when our neighbors moved. As you look through the reviews for this doghouse, you will see patterns: excellent quality, super easy assembly, and prompt delivery. All of these are true. It would have cost me much more in time and money to build a comparable doghouse. This one is trim, neat, and looks great. Best of all, it takes longer to get the pieces out of the box than it does to put it together! If you are looking for a nice shelter for your pet, this is an excellent choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent product

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
The house was very easy to put together. It seems sturdy and has plenty of room for my dogs. One piece was somewhat cracked when we opened it. I contacted the manufacturer and the lady was very nice and they are shipping us a new piece. The dogs seem to love it and are cozy. We will probably buy the door when it becomes available.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I ordered an XL, and it isn't very big. It's barely big enough for our lab, but definitely not our mastiff. Some of the boards came split and broken. Overall, we should have built our own.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cracked Parts, Size Not Accurate

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Southern CA
This dog is alright for the price, there were a few things that bothered me. The beam for the roof was cracked in multiple places, I didn't want to wait to send it back and get a new house because it is getting rainy and cold and I want my dog to have a house for the winter. The two roof panels don't line up flesh with to each other. I don't think this is related to the cracked beam, it seems like they would do this no matter what. Lastly, the size was an issue. I'm sure the measurements are fine, but the suggested sizes for the dogs listed do not match, at least not on the XL one. My dog is a Great Dane/Mastiff mix, he is not full grown and there it is questionable if he will fit when he is. Both dog types are listed on this dog house size, but the door is just too short. He seems awkward and has to belly crawl to get in, one he is in, he is ok because it is taller than the doorway, but the doorway is just so short for such large dogs. If you have a full grown Great Dane, your dog will not fit. (I know this because my fiance's grandma has a full grown, pure Great Dane and it is huge).
One, more thing. They missed drill holes for some of the screws, so have your drill ready even though it says you will only need a screwdriver.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my doggies love it!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from las cruces, nm
Im very happy with the dog house so far, its very pretty and seems comfortable for the dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I was very pleased with this dog house. I am using it as a house for my outdoor cats, so it's size is just right. It was very easy to assemble and it arrived much faster than I expected. I am keeping it on my porch, so it hasn't had to stand up to weather, but the construction seems very durable. Overall, well worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like this house!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Roswell, NM
The shipping was a lot faster than I had expected. All of the parts came in perfect condition and nothing was missing. It took my husband five minutes to assemble and once we put my dog's bed inside she immediately knew it was for her. It is sturdy enough to satisfy any concerns we had. I purchased the small house and it is the Perfect size for chihuahuas! I would recommend this product to my friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to slap together!

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
Great looking house, so easy to put together. I also got the insulation kit with it. It's well worth it, They couldn't of made this any easier.
Thanks :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Premium Plus A-Frame Dog Houses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
Arrived quickly. Assembled easily with one screw driver. I am using this as a summer shelter for feral cats who've adopted my yard. They've been spayed/neutered and already have a winter shelter.... but no interest in retiring to the indoors. They took to the house right away with the help of a little catnip. I may purchase accessories later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>