petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit

Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit

Powerful rotary motor clipper provides full clipping power for all types of coats, yet light weight and contoured to fit in your handIncludes corded clipper with #30 satin chrome detachable blade, "How to" grooming guide DVD, durable storage case, 4 snap-on attachment combs, stainless steel shears, grooming combblade oil, cleaning brush, blade guard and instructionsMADE IN USA
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
17 out of 21(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Review 1 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Melville, NY
After reviewing some of the video on the supplied CD and reviewing more information on the Wahl website; I felt confident in giving my Cockapoo a full trimming.
I found that the trim guides were easy to attach. Also found use for every thing in the kit had a use.
The mini trimmer is a blessing for the final touches and for trimming his paws in between his pads.
If you want use something that makes you feel like a pro buy this kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awfull!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento
I never write reviews but the quality of these clippers made feel obligated to say something. Cons:
These are the worst clippers I have ever used. They bogged down at the first sign of fur. I have a Border Collie with a medium thick coat, I have been shaving her for the past 4 years with a competetors brand and although I was never very satisfied with them they were 100 times better. I think i would have had more luck using the front of the blades like a saw!
Pros:
They will last forever, because you will only use them once
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smartest buy I've ever made

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
My first using a pet clipper, although I didn't do a full clipping yet, I found it easy to use and the CD gave me a lot of tips. Even if I just use it for trims between going to the pet salon, it's well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worthwhile

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Burbank, CA
Overall the grooming kit is very worthwhile to own in terms of caring for a dog. The kit includes many clipper attachments for cutting hair at different lengths, as well as a pair of very effective scissors. The clipper works well as long as it is kept free from buildup of long hair cuttings. Even at the regular price the kit is a good buy and should pay for itself quickly. My only criticism is the quality of the grooming tips in the printed guide and the video. The illustrations in the guide are literally the size of a postage stamp and are way too small to be of any use. The theme of both the guide and video is mostly how to achieve a particular overall appearance of the dog in terms of a general appearance, rather than specific tips on how to effectively use both the clipper and scissors, such as achieving smooth tapered look in areas of transition between longer hair and shorter hair. Most users probably will need a fair amount of practice trying different techniques.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from elizabeth, nj
Cuts like butter. Easy to use. Love the product! My dogs look like they went to a professional groomer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mount Clare, WV
Just received the product and used them for the 1st time on our miniature Schnauzer pup. They worked well. Came in a really nice case with all the extras...scissors, comb, different guards, and they didn't get the least bit hot. We are hoping they will be a good set as Wahl is one of the better brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the money but do your prep work!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phila, PA
I got these clippers to reduce the number of trips to the groomers for my 13lb Shih tzu and I. Given that each visit at the groomers runs me about 50 dollars, I am sure this clipper set will pay for itself fairly quickly. However, these clippers are not a silver bullet solution to grooming your dog. You have to comb out every single last tangle in their coats or the clipper comb will get stuck in their coat and will not cut. My dog has a thick double coat, and I spent quite a while brushing him out before I could get through his coat with the 5 comb attachment. This is all explained in the directions that come with the clippers though, so for people who felt that the clippers were not powerful enough, it may be that they did not do their prep work before starting to clip. This definitely encouraged me to brush my dog more regularly so that grooming day is not such a drawn-out process in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for my dog

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Saugus, CA
I have a maltese mix and I purchased this item half a year ago because it was summer and it was really hot. It didn't work very well. It cuts through only the top 1/4 inch or so. It thins out some of her fur, but not as much as I'd like it to. I'm going to try a new clipper from a different company.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Impressed

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
I groom about 6 different dogs on a regular basis and my clippers were very old, probably 15 years atleast so I decided to get some new ones... It took me about 5-6 hours to groom my friends pomeranian with the old clippers, today it was done in less than an hour and the clippers were amazing! even in his thickest spots (which is very thick) I am so happy with these. and in another review someone had mentioned the guides popping off... I didnt see how that would happen they stay on very well :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Positively Impressed!!

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
We are fostering a very sweet Golden/Husky/Chow boy and his fur is wreaking havoc with my husband's allergies. I bought this trimmer set figuring, with this boy's thick, dense Chow fur I'd be unsuccessful and have to return the clippers. I was VERY POSITIVELY IMPRESSED!! They trimmed him down --- painlessly --- like he was a sheep being sheared! I was able to trim him, essentially, down to his skin. The clippers never got hot --- warm yes, but not HOT like some other clippers I tried. The box says "Heavy Duty" and they aren't lying. These clippers ROCK!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Purchase

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
I love this clipper. I could not believe how well this clipper went through my dog's hair. The clipper did not get stuck and it cut the hair beautifully. The clipper is quiet and light weight. I am very satisfied with how quick I can cut my dog's hair now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ok for the price

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Laredo, TX
I had higher expectations based on the reviews that I read; however, not bad at all. I have a yorkie and a shih tzu and taking both to the saloon would have cost me at least the price of this clipper. It has already paid for itself. The battery operated mini trimmer that comes with it takes more than a couple of passes to effectively cut hair at the paws, but it comes in very handy. I had to return the model I bought at the store before I opened it since it was significantly priced higher than at petco.com. Good purchase overall if you don't buy at the actual store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its Ok

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Corbin, KY
It definately clipped the dogs hair. My dogs just dont like the noise very well. But the actual product works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad for dogs with thick fur

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
I purchased these clippers for my dog which has extremely thick fur and they couldn't get through her fur at all. I keep her well groomed because she's had a problem with hot spots since I adopted her. These are the LOUDEST clippers ever! She is okay about getting groomed, but she was terrified of the loud noise. If your dog has thick fur, purchase a different pair.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bang for the Bucs

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from El Monte, CA
Pretty good clipper if you are looking for one. I used on my pomeranian and able to give her a lion cut. No problem at all and the hair just fall right off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price.

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Queens, NY
I bought this produt for my Shih Tzu Poodle mix who needs to be groomed almost every 4-6 weeks or so. I found the clippers easy to use. It helps keep the cost of grooming down. However, the only thing I do not like too much about it is that I have to constantly keep cleaning out the blades while I'm grooming him, so it's very time consuming. Other than that, it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Goffstown, NH
The scissors are sharp, and a great added value to the various length clippers. It's nice to have a variety of lengths to choose from. I haven't watched the DVD yet, but really admire that it comes with a "how-to groom" video! It's on my list of things to do for this coming weekend. Thanks Petco, and Wahl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clippers

PostedMarch 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
I have a Golden retriever / Chow mix and his hair was a thick mess. These clippers cut through like butter, stayed strong and did not bog down at all. At the same time we have a Lab / Collie mix who we also groomed and still we had no problems. I would recommend this clippers to anyone as i was very impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First time to groom my pet

PostedAugust 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Although this was my first time, I found it very easy to use this product. My poodle didn't mind the noise and this was about her 6th time to get her hair cut (she's a little over a year). The scissors worked great, we accidentally let her hair grow too long, so it was too nappy to just use the clippers. I liked this product although I've never used or seen anything else. Bottom line, I'm not disappointed with this purchase, it will pay for itself in 2 clippings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wahl Contour Pet Clipper Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for a dog with a real dog life

PostedAugust 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
My golden retriever has thick, matted, knotted hair. Even when washed and brushed with an undercoat brush, these clippers could not do the job. First of all the plastic attachments kept popping off & Second, the motor kept bogging down on me and the clippers would stop all together. After about 1 hour with only the easy top side done the clippers quit for good. I can see these maybe working well on a consistantly groomed dog, but not for a long, thick haired, forest rolling, puddle jumping dirty ole dog... No matter how much pre washing and grooming you do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>