petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda

Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda

Contains baking soda for odor controlSafe, comfortable and soft for all small animalsLow dustProvides superior absorbencyEnvironmentally friendly
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
30 out of 42(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Review 1 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best brand

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
4snowbell
from long island, New York
I've tried many other brands cheaper and more expensive I always go back to this petco brand. It holds up the best for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

small animal bedding

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carl71
from Lincoln Park, MI
This is an excellent product. My two ferrets love to play and live in this bedding. My daughter, who insists that she is the only one who can clean their cage, loves this bedding also. The price and quality can't be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fly Problems

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
PurplePaca
from Cheyenne,WY
My sister and I use this bedding for Guinea Pigs. This bedding would work ok, but every time my sister and I use it we have flies everywhere. We have tried changing the bedding every three days, using other products with it, and the only way we can get rid of the flies is to use a different bedding. We do not have this problem with other types of Planet Petco bedding, just this one in particular. After everything we have tried, the bedding itself is the only thing that could be the problem. Without the flies, it would not be a bad product because it does help control the smell and absorb quite well
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
sarah9484849
I thought I would try this out because the price was fair compared to other brands of bedding. The first thing I noticed when I opened the bag is the disgusting smell. It literally smells horrible and worse than the soiled bedding that was in my rats' cage. After I cleaned the cage I added some of the bedding. The smell is so strong you can smell it as soon as you enter the room. Add a few days worth of urine and the smell makes me want to gag. This bedding DOES NOT control odor whatsoever. It is also very dusty and makes all of my rats sneeze. I will never buy this product again. Save your money and buy something else!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pets seem to be sensitive to the dust

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
cmickani
from MA
This product is supposed to be low dust, but my two rats seem to be very sneezy and wheezy while they're in their cage. I've even found myself getting a little sneezy and I'm not sensitive to that type of thing. Though it definitely helps with the odor, I'm going to try Eco-Bedding and see if it helps their sneezing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Piggielvr
from Hilton head island, sc
Both myself and my guinea pigs like it. It definitely cuts down on the odor big time. I guess my only complaint is that it does settle and flatten out, so I am constantly refreshing it with more for their comfort, as well as cleaning it up everywhere. Expensive for a huge size, that you will burn through quickly, but I have tried others, and I do like this the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Price Good Product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie0517
from st louis mo
i perfer this product over all the other bedding for my chinchilla and guinea pig.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great odor eliminator!

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
kpape
I use this product for my rabbit (who is litter box trained). I have also tried the Kaytee brand of bedding, but the urine smell was so bad when I used the Kaytee brand after one day that I ended up throwing it away and going back to Petco and buying more of this. Once again, the odor is controlled, and I no longer gag when I go near my bunny's cage. I will not use any other brand!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Overwhelming Smell

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
CROSS21
from Gonzales, LA
I picked this bedding up for my girlfriend a few days ago, and when we went to change the bedding today, it smelled more pungent than if we had just left the soiled bedding in the cage! It seems to work well and the guineas don't mind that much, but it gives off a smell that you cannot help but notice as soon as you walk in the door to their room. Decent price, but not worth the smell at all!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stinky!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChaosKirin
from Warren, MI
I am going to take this back to the store where I got it and complain. I bought this because it was cheaper, and it makes my whole house stink.
And it's not just because the guinea pig is peeing on it. I took of whiff in the bag and it had a very distinctive, rotten odor. Do not buy this if you have a pet with an open cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helped my rats allergies

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
WeLoveOurRats
from Illinois
I was using another bedding but it was causing my rat and I to sneeze a lot because of all the dust. Switched to this and we've been problem free. It's pretty absorbent and works as well as some of the better, more commonly used brands. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaper is NOT always better...

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
5FurBabies
from Lewiston, ME
If I could give it 0 paws I would...Bought this bedding thinking it would be a cheaper alternative to Carefresh Ultra. Boy was I WRONG! First off it is unbelievably DUSTY! So much that I actually had to vacuum both my gerbil and hamster's cages when doing their bedding changes. It also does nothing for odor control - within just a couple days after changing my hamster's cage smelled like I hadn't changed it in months! It also isn't very soft :( Looks like I will be sticking with the original bedding I was using...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
jmack760
from edgewater
I have tried 3 differents beddings and I keep coming back to this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not absorb order

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
AriieSD
from staten island, NY
I got this for my new 3 month old syriran hamster because it was the same bedding they were using in the tank she was in.
CONS:
DUSTY (causes her to sneeze constantly!)
SMELLS
LUMPY
PROS:
it does absorb urine very well
my hamster loved burrowing herself deep underneath.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
LIkeACleanCage
from Milwaukee, WI
The product is great! It really minimizes the odor and is easy to use and clean up. The only thing I wish it had was a Ziploc style closure. Other than that, it's great! I would definitely recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Syrian hamster HATES it

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
k9sar
In an effort to control the oder of my son's 4 month old syrian hamster, we replaced her bedding in her loft with this product. I found it to be chunky with several very hard clumps and a bit of a gritty feel. The hamster refuses to sleep in the loft anymore and spent quite a bit of time trying to clear her den of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not control odor

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Morgans1030
from Denham Springs, LA
We have two guinea pigs in our home. They are each in their own cages in two different children's rooms. We have been using a name brand bedding but I decided to save a couple dollars and try the Petco brand. I am not impressed. We change the bedding and clean the cages once a week. With this product I had to change the cages after only 3-4 days. The smell was horrible. I'm hoping that Petco has a policy of letting me return the unused portion in exchange for the name brand that I've been using. Petco has some great products but this one needs some improving.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bedding with baking soda

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hopey8657
from Lincoln, Ne
I absolutely love it. My rabbits love it. I will never buy any other kind of bedding. My house used to smell after only 2 days of having the regular bedding now I use the baking soda one and it works for 2 weeks. u just scoop out the bad. it smells amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitkat7799
This bedding is loved and snuggled with by my rats. But, it says the baking soda reduces the smell. I think that the baking soda itself or something else smells in the bedding. It has a bad smell, like rotton lemons. The bedding gets stuck to my rug and it's such a pain to get it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Small Animal Paper Bedding with Baking Soda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better baking bedding

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
McBun9000
This bedding with the baking soda mixed in helps with the smell of our cage a lot. I mean we change it when appropriate, but the smells still used to become overwhelming. Now we don't smell the cage unless we're cleaning it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>