petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter

Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter

Helps bring problem cats back to the litter boxServes as a great training kitty litter for kittensAll-natural cat litter that is hard clumping, scoopable and 99% dust-freeIdeal for sifting & mechanical litter boxesContains natural chlorophyll for superior odor controlCan be used in households with multiple cats
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
56 out of 58(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 1 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product - Glad I Got It

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My one-year old little kitty started to urinate outside her litter box. Was doing it on the floor, rugs, etc. But not in her clean litter box. She would only do her #2 in the litter box. Could not figure out what was going on. Found out that I was using different type of liter that she did not like. It was perfumed. But she had established a habit and I was very concerned. Had to clean after her everyday. The market bought litter was NOT working for her. After reading about the other cat owners with a similar problem and how successful Cat Attract was, I decided to give it a try even though it was pricey. I followed the direction and cleaned everything thoroughly in her litter box area, litter mat, floor, the pan, etc. Put a fresh liner, etc. As soon as I put the Cat Attract in her litter pan and was done preparing it, she quickly went in and did her business. From that point onward, she started to use her kitty litter regularly. She really likes this product. Going to continue to use it and will monitor her. Even though it is very pricey compared with market litter, it is worth it. I highly recommend Cat Attract. Happy litter equals a happy cat and a very happy cat owner,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well even with the problem kitty

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South of the Mason-Dixon line
I bought Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract because of the great reviews. We have had a "problem kitty" for a few years. I'm happy to report that even this kitty uses this easily. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cat litter ever!

PostedJune 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I've recently looked into getting a new brand of cat litter for my cat, because his old litter wasn't clumping at all and the smell coming from his litter box was horrendous after one use! I did some research and heard this was great cat litter, so I went and bought some. I decided to go with this cat attract type, because I have had some issues with my cat urinating outside of his litter box in the past. This litter clumps instantly! Also after 2 days of not scooping his litter box, there was hardly any smell coming from his litter box. Before it would stink up the entire bathroom, but now you have to stick your head in the bathroom closet and sniff really hard to barely smell anything. It makes scooping his litter box so much easier. His litter also lasts much longer than it did before. Definitely worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat's love it

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I had been using Arm & Hammer for years and it seems like they changed their formula because it's very perfumey and doesn't clump well anymore. I thought I should try out another litter and decided on this one after reading a ton of reviews.
Ended up being very pleased with this litter and will continue to purchase it. It clumps very well and the cats chose this one right away when offered this along with the old A&H kind they had used for years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRULY, TRULY unscented!

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Superior cat litter. TRULY unscented. I tried... The World's Best Cat Litter, and it is NOT unscented, either are the black walnuts (Blue Buffalo Naturally Fresh), Swheat Scoop, Clump & Seal.....they all stink! I'm okay w/ the waste but the litter smell can be annoying! Cat Attract has superior clumping action too. I can't say enough about this great litter and how happy it has made me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Savior

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
I had just about given up on trying to get my 16 yr old cat to urinate in the box. We tried everything $300 doctor visits, expensive foods, cleaning supplies, and every other type of litter that claimed to get your cat to do its business in the box. Not to mention the new area rug that needs to be replaced. We were at our wits end. The only thing left was contacting a cat whisperer to inform my cat that if it didn't shape up, it might be time to ship out! But, my love outweighed that option, and I tried one more thing...Precious Cat Attract and Crystal Litter. The Attract worked!!!! She went right in and ta-da! It is a little more expensive then the ordinary litter and it took 2 boxes to fill my large litter box. The litter clumps fast and scoops very nicely. It also has a very good odor control. If you scoop everyday it should last a few weeks depending on your cat. Good Luck, I know how frustrating this behavior can be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT WORKS!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Peotone, IL
I have a 21 year old cat who religiously used her litter boxes. All of a sudden she stopped urinating in it and chose to go right near it. She still used the box for bowel movements. I searched the internet for this problem and starting reading blogs regarding this issue. This cat litter came up in one of the threads. Luckily it was available at Petco and after reading the reviews I decided to buy it. I bought brand new boxes, cleaned the floor with Nature's Miracle and hoped for the best. Shortly afterward she walked up to the box, gave a couple of sniffs and in she went. I could not be more pleased!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue, WA
If you have problems getting a cat to use the litterbox and your vet has ruled out a medical cause, try this. Yes, there are other things to try, and I've tried them all. Now I wish I'd STARTED with this!
My goal was to get at least ONE of our 2 cats to urinate in the litter box again. As soon as the box with this litter was available, they've been using that EXCLUSIVELY.
For our 2 cats, we have 2 litterboxes with 1/4 of a bed bad (cheaper than those made for pets) for entry mats, plus 2 plastic boxes with same. The pads are for our 4 yr old, who has generally preferred to urinate on a hard surface in specific locations - she uses them all. Vet ruled out all possible health problems.
Then our 7 yr old started to use them. The vet gave him a clean bill of health. Problem is, he overflows the pads and it was getting to be a real headache.
So yesterday, we brought home 1 box of this litter to try. I did NOT replace the litterbox, but I did thoroughly wash it. I put the litter in it and showed it to our younger cat . . . 2 feet went in and sniffing began. Then 4 feet and more sniffing. Then miracle of miracles . . . she squatted and did her business! Our older cat had used the box just before I changed out the litter, but was also interested in sniffing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cat attract litter

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from brick nj
unfortunately my cat will not use this litter. I made the mistake of switching brands when their usual formula changed to a very scented perfumey one. even though all 3 cats still used it, they smelled like litter. I switched to 2 other brands, then Dr Elsey;s. I don't know why, but they don't like it.I will be returning it and go back to the old one again. better they small like perfumed cat litter than not using the litter box. disaster!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seems to solve 2 problems

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
I tried Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter on the recommendation of a friend. I had 2 problems: My 2 male cats were "marking their territory" around the house, especially when I was away; and the dust associated with the Fresh Step litter I was using was messy, smelly, and made my cats (and me) sneeze. I immediately noticed the Cat Attract has a lot less dust. It's not dust free, but SOOOO much less dusty than Fresh Step. I put the litter in just 1 litterbox first, and the cats were immediately drawn to it. The jury is out, since I've only been using it a couple of weeks, but so far there hasn't been any further territorial spraying or urinating outside the box. Keeping my fingers crossed. My friend says this litter completely elimintated that problem in her home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS SANF BEFORE!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
Several years ago I bought this sand for this first time. My husband and I had taken in 2 pregnant barn cats. They became indoor/outdoor cats. Once they had their babies, 7 in total, they decided they wanted to be indoor cats. That was fine, although neither of them had ever used a litter box. I bought this sand and in 2 days they were box trained!! As I have little ability to say no to any animal that is stray or abandoned, over the last few years we have taken in other strays. I would pay HUGE money (not that I am promoting a price hike by any means as we now support 12, 2 of which just came back from their spays) to have this sand as all the new kitties have become box trained in a matter of days. I am very lucky that my husband enjoys the kitties as much as I do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
We have 2 cats and one of them has always had issues with going outside the litter box. After a good year of cleaning yet another accident off our garage floor we tried cat attract after reading good reviews. After one day our cat was using the box again!!! Would definitely recommend this litter to others that are having issues with their cats going potty outside the box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beats all top brand name litters

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fort Riley, KS
I've tried all the top brand name cat litter, but this one blows the rest out of the water. Less messy, easy to scoop, clumps perfectly and best odor control. My Main Coon loves it too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dust-free

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NY
I have 4 cats of my own. This product is really dust-free compare to what i've been using before. I luv it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to the reviews

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jersey Village, TX
I purchased this product after reading the reviews. It is excellent. I especially like the clumping odor-free and lack of "dust" qualities.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Cat Attract!!!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Derby, KS
I have an 18 lb adopted male orange tabby cat. I started using this 11 months ago & he & I love it. It is a little spendy & heavy but it is worth it. I buy the 40 lb bags.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dr. Elsey is down with the cats!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mercer, in lovely NW PA
I have been looking for a solution to one of my rescues pooping outside the litterbox. He was part of the family for 6-8 months, using the box always. Then, for whatever crazy reason, he decided he liked to go in other places...all still near the kittypooper. I wrote to the company, and they advised the usual...check for illness, get an extra box, ensure privacy. If those tried and true solutions didn't do, perhaps it was the litter I was using. I was advised to get either the Kitten Attract or the Cat Attract, and was sent a coupon for a FREE bag of either to help choose.
I got Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable (unscented). From the very first litter change, I have had no problems....zero....zilch.
The litter is softer than other litters, must be due to the grind of the litter. Absorbability and scoopability is unmatched-this is not your everyday kitty litter.
Unless my cats suddenly train themselves to use the human toilet, I will continue buying Dr Elsey's litters. Just a note...if you find this litter to be a tad more costly than your current brand, never fear. The price difference is well worth it. Litter lasts longer, is easier when it comes time to scoop daily, and ya don't find little poopie packages when you least expect it! Oh, and be sure to tell a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Litter

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York,NY
Excellent. Includes booklet with suggestions for improving cat's litter-related behavior. My cat's gone
from "thinking outside the box" to almost perfect performance. Wish that this brand would come to my local store. Shipping is very costly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our New Favorite

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
We love this litter!! Even our picky little princess, Willow, went right in the box and used it. That brought on a familywide high-five. Our two boy cats will pretty much do their business in any litter. This litter is virtually dustless, clumps well, doesn't smell, and the cats (even Willow) love it. Life is good. A special thanks to my local Petco. They always have time to discuss our cat needs with us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Precious Cat Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Clermont, FL
Before I tried this litter...I had huge problems with my 2 cats. I was coming home to finding and Smelling Cat urine by the door, in corners and yes....even on MY BED!!!! I was so frustrated. I finally found Cat Attract, but of course was a lil' unsure if it would work. I tried everything before. My cats were on valium, hormones, etc. I spent a ton of money on trying to figure out how to stop them from peeing outside the litter boxes. This cat attract litter does cost more than the usual kind. But it's so worth it. My cats use the litter box everytime now. It did take a few days for them to stop peeing by the front door. But we are all very happy now. This is my litter for life now for my 2 cats. It's AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>