petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors

Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors

Easy to install, flap-style doorsVersatile dog house door with heavy duty vinyl that keeps cold weather out and the warmth inDog house door conveniently bolts securely in placeSpecially made doors for Igloo dog houses are available in various sizes
Average Customer Rating:
2.714 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
6 out of 14(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Review 1 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

misleading advertising

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from washington dc
description of product on website provided too few size specification; item is NOT "extra large" resulting in purchase that does not fit the extra large igloo dog house owned;
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Indigo pet door

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati
I just installed this door on my dogs XL Igloo dog house. It is a peice of junk. Nothing more than a thin piece of plastic and a couple of bolts. The holes on the door aren't reinforced and look destine for failure. What's worse, the door doesn't even cover the entire opening. It leaves large gaps on each side. Do yourself a favor and either make a door or look for another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy for Indigo Dog House

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
This unit does not fit properly. It will not keep out the rain and the wind opens it easily.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
This was a total waste of time and money. Does not fit the door opening well. Attaches with screws that go thru holes near the top of the vinyl. In less than three days of my dogs going in and out of the door, the unreinforced holes that attach the door had ripped out of the top. I tried making new holes in the vinyl and drilled new holes in the dog house to reattach the door but had the same result. Love the idea.... hate the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protects against wind

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
I recently purchased 2 of the x-lg doggie doors for both of my dogs indigo (igloo) dog houses and it is a great product. Helps keep the wind out and their houses are warm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Indigo door

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I so wanted this to work well. We didn't even install it.
The plastic seems sturdy, but when held in place it didn't seem to add any significant protection.
The way the house is made, it seems as if the rain or snow would just drain down the door, right into the igloo.
Love the quality of the igloo, the stray cats love it, but we will make our own door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Fit

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Great Falls, MT
The door is not a great fit to the dogloo entryway. I wish they cut them better or made a better door.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Purchase

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
great protection from water/wind
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Works very well and seems it will help keep my Rooster warm in the winter to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
the other reviews are correct, for this amount of money it should be alot better product. the problem: it is not cut to the shape of the entrance
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not well engineered

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
I think it could be engineered to fit the entrance better.
Since I placed it, my dog does not seem to like his house as much. I guess he liked sitting on the entrance and looking outside.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
I really like how thick it is, and that it really stays on. One thing that could be better is that it should have no gaps on the edges, and the screws are long to the point I had to cut them down so I could get the bolt's on. I hate leaving my dog outside while I go to work so I put that door on and put a heating pad and a bed in his house to keep him warm and comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

????

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Just a piece of plastic, will see if it holds up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Indigo Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yes BUT...

PostedJune 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bellingham, WA
Only if you need a door and recommended because there's no other doors compatible w/the petmate indigo dog home (medium)
if u live in a place where it rains a lot (like Bellingham, WA) of course your dog house will need a door. But here's the problem; the product advertises that it keeps out rain (and for that matter, the cold) but the vinyl door DOES NOT FIT the dog house door frame! It's about an inch short on the bottom and all rain will do is drip right off the face of the door right inside the doorway of the house, soaking everything anyway.
I think this is a really poorly made product. It just doesn't make sense that it wouldn't fit the doorframe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.