petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors

Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors

Easy to install, flap style doorsHeavy duty vinyl keeps weather out, warmth inDoor bolts securely in place
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Review 1 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dog door

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
The door is flexible however it comes off the "S' hooks all the time- I will either clamp them or get bigger "s" hooks. Otherwise it is very easy for the dog to get in and out of the dog house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was so pleased, I came back and bought another

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Piscataway, NJ
We bought the "doghouse" for our two outdoor cats (and also bought a heated pad). The mother cat did not want to share the house with her son. So, we bought the second house (and second heated pad). The cats love their houses. The overhanging "lip" over the front door helps keep out rain or snow. We bought the "small" size of the house, and it is perfect for each cat. The plastic material of the house can be washed down, and the houses are very durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my 2nd doghouse

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this doghouse, pad and door for our new St. Bernard mix puppy. I really like the design of the house as it doesn't allow rainwater to seep in where the two halves of the house join together like my other dog house does. The pad fits well and seems comfortable enough for the dog. This house is not insulated so if you're not living in a warm part of the country you may not want to keep this house outside all year, but for warm climates it's fine.
My only complaint is on the dog house door. The door is very well-fitted to the opening however, it attaches with 3 S-hooks which sometimes fall out when the dog goes through the door no matter which way I orient them. It certainly is just an annoyance but not enough to downgrade the rating on this house.
I'm very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tracy, CA
Using it for small barnhome for large cat. Its sturdy but cats usually walk through it more gently than dogs. I can imagine the plastic around the s hooks getting brittle and cracking over time with rough wear and tear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

With modification works well.

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Saratoga, Wyoming
Saw the other reviews where door wouldn't stay on the dog house. The door actually fell off several times while just trying to install it. Took a pair of pliers and pinched the "S" hooks and it works great. The cats even use it without any problems and it helps contain the heat in the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Door

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Spain
Perfect size but the S-hooks keep falling off. I had to but some S-hooks with wire loops to prevent from falling off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggy door for the Barnhome

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Salt lake City UT
Our older dog loved the doors it kept the barnhome cool in the summer and warm in the winter. When we got another pom however he decided it made a great chew toy. WE replace these doors every few months it seems like. but its worth it duriong the hot summers and cold winters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good door

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Jonesborough, TN
This is a good door at a reasonable price. My dogs use a doggie door, so they had no problem figuring the flap out and going in to the Petbarn.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
This door will not stay hung and comes off when the dog enters/exits the house. S-hooks are an inadequate way to attach the door. Snaps or bolts would work better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedNovember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from AZ
Very easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Barnhome & Petbarn Dog House Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great idea

PostedOctober 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
This will help keep the cold and rain out of the shelter. It was easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.