petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover

Keeps fish from jumping outGreatly reduces evaporationPlastic backstrip adapts to all accessoriesProtects striplight from moistureFeatures an easy grip handle
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Review 1 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tops

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
There has been some negative reviews for the versa tops aka (All Glass Co). They are great tops designed to fit the All Glass Aquariums sold as Aqueon. I have ran into the problem of those tops not fitting my 55gal. I later found out my tank was made by Perfecto sold as Marineland. The All Glass tops are 1/8" to large and will not fall into a perfectos recess. So buyer beware measure your tank top first if you are not sure what top you will need. I bought my 55 used and ran into the same problem as others before I found the reason.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Measure first...

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
Some have complained that they did not fit but really they fit the tanks they were built for. I have found that if you buy with in the same manufacturer's line they usually work just fine its when you try to match one brand of tank to another glass top that you sometimes have issue with it being too tight or too loose. I had nor problem with the one I bought. It did what it should, kept the fish in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit all my tanks perfectly!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
iv'e purchased these lids for all of my fish tanks ( 10gal, 20gal tall, & a 55gal ) they all fit well into standards. my review on this product is that there a greatly inexpensive top for a fish hobby. I have seen other reviews on here stating that ' it didn't fit around my filter ' or it is to long with the extra plastic piece.. Well, they give you the plastic piece for a reason. there should be room at the back of your tank ( about 1' to 1-1/2' inches ) that's where the extra piece goes. then you cut it out to fit all of your filters, heaters, etc. then it should fit snug into the top of your tank. overall, i love glass tops & will recommend them to my Friends, Family, & customers who see my tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not fit

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, Colorado
I was excited to buy this top. I was very disappointed when I put this on top of my 29 gallon tank and found it to be too short from front to back. Since this is a simple rectangle tank, you would think they would be able to produce this product with ZERO issues.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
5of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 gallon aquarium cover

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
I ordered this for my 5.5 gallon betta tank, it fits perfect, the only draw back is there is no cut outs to fit your accessories. I don't mind since my filer is inside the tank, and my light is able to clipr on the back piece of the cover, but if you have a HOB filter you can just leave the back piece off, it will work just find, just keep an eye on the water evaporation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not fit with a BioWheel filter

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lake Worth, FL
Was so excited to buy this because I needed a cover to prevent water from splashing up onto my light. Once I put it on my 10 gallon tank, it could not fit properly because my biowheel filter was too big and the hinge also did not work correctly because my light(coralife) would not allow it to open..returning it tomorrow
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not fit tank

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MA
Was excited I found the versa top for 29 gallon tank in the nearest Petco store. Took it home and it did not fit my Aqueon 29 gallon tank. The width is about an inch too short. Canopy falls right in the tank. Very disappointing that Aqueon's cover would not fit their own tank.... poor craftmanship. Will be returning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
This aquarium cover met my needs perfectly, and was the most reasonably priced as well. I needed a replacement cover, but had no need for a light. Aside from the hoods with fluorescent lights costing significantly more, my filter would interfere with it sitting properly on top of the aquarium. The Aqueon hinged cover fits perfectly on my 10-gallon tank, and has a a plastic section on the back that can be easily trimmed to accomodate your aquarium equipment. The glass is easier to clean as well. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad.

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
The hinged covers are cheaper online than in stores. They are a bit small for double lamp hoods but they suffice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great product. Works great.
Isn't really 20 inches but 19 and 3/8
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant choice

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
this cover fit perfectly makes it easy to feed fish great product well worth price
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
This lid is a good solution for water evaparation and preventing fish jumping.
Lets light in from above and practical hinges allows for easy feeding.
The drawbacks are; no easy place to hook up an automatic feeder for going away and the fit could be better on standard sized aquariums.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon is very helpful

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I bought a versa top but unfortunately, the glass was cracked. Surprising since the glass is a full 3/16" thick and not easily broken. After shown a copy of my receipt, Aqueon quickly shipped a new one but unfortunately UPS broke it too. Aqueon sent yet another with no complaint and no cost to me. Aqueon is very friendly and helpful, so no need to worry about being left dry if Petco can't help. The lift handle attaches with very strong double-stick tape. Do not expect to reposition the handle after sticking it on. The hinge is plastic but is very flexible and it keeps water from splashing through. The rear plastic cover can be a little difficult to press onto the edge of the thick glass due to the tight fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hood!

PostedMay 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New Paris, In
I bought this cover at my local store after reading about it online. I love this cover! My original one was black plastic that cracked and discolored and was completly hard to clean. I just stand this one up in the shower and use hot water and it rinses clean! Really helps with the evaporation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cover glass of 16"

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from worcester. ma
this very excellent!! their no problem open and close door front. worth it save money less cost. glass view top size 16 model SKU: 171468. show you this picture
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
from PacNW
The plastic on my aquarium hood cracked and the lid was always falling off. This was an inexpensive replacement option. It's much better than I imagined it would be. Well worth the price. Attractive clear appearance and easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Versa-Top Hinged Aquarium Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Titusville, FL
I like this all glass cover. The cover that I was given didn't fit and there was no cover over the light to keep the fish away (incase I had jumpers), so I took the cover that I had a part with just the light part and put the glass cover under the light. The see through light is great, I can see the fish a little (with the filtering going on it isn't easy), but all the other covers were not see-through like this product. Not to mention, it is easier to keep the glass cover clean unlike all other covers. I would recommend this all-glass hinged cover to everyone I know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.