petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs

Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs

Time release formulaMay help reduce stress and tensionGreat for travel, boarding, grooming and more
Average Customer Rating:
3.214 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 out of 14(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Read the Label

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
jmhigdon
from Indianapolis,IN
I read the label and noticed l-tryptophan which is an ingredient that once inside the body is broken down into seratonin which is what helps even out moods (in dogs and humans). Well I didn't realize dogs can have an adverse reaction and my dog got super freaky. This worked great the first day so I am just going to give it to him every other to prevent high seratonin levels and hope that works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BranPen
from Antioch, CA
I use it calm my dogs down in the evening to have a more peaceful night!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for me

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JFSH
from Wichita Falls, TX
I bought the Calming Aid Tablets today and gave my Blue Healer/Mix 2 of them per the instruction label and she has not been this calm and relaxed ever. After I had her fixed everyone said she would calm down, didn't work, she was extremely anxious, restless, and barked at everything. Today has been the calmest day we have had in 1-1/2 years. Thank you, I hope they continue to work this well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wouldnt Use

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
KMQHGurl
from Delaware
First time i gave this to my rat terrier cross who is about 10lbs it made her extremely groggy and she would still cry during her car ride just with her now laying with her head down so really didnt solve the problem in calming her down. The second time I gave it to her for another car ride, she threw up once after giving it to her after 30 mins and then she threw up again 30 mins later in the car ride. After two bad experiences with it I just stopped and decided to try some other alternative.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not notice a change in dogs behavior

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
LMC513
from Hampton VA
I bought this hoping it would help my anxious 5mo old Lab mix calm down around new objects. She only gets nervous around new people or unknown items. I believe she inherited a nervous/weak temperament from one of her parents. She is not afraid of sounds like thunder or fireworks and is overall very obedient and calm inside the house. It is only when I bring something new inside the house or start moving objects around that she gets very skittish. I gave her 1.5 tablets and it did nothing, the next time I tried 2 and still nothing. She almost seemed more nervous and unsure. I am disappointed that this product did not work as I hoped it would.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely works

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New Orleans, LA
I have a 5 year old lab mix who is very anxious and my husband works from home, which is not a good mix when she runs around the house crying because she may have heard something outside. These tablets have really helped and she is definitely calmer, but not sedated or more tired. She also usually barks at strangers when they come in the house, and these sessions last for almost a half hour, but she has cut down on that since starting the tablets and stops the aggression/scared response after a few minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Calming Aid tabs works!

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
dobebaby
from Houston, Tx
My dog (standard poodle) is calmer when using the calming aid tablets. I use 1 or 1/2 or 1/4 depending on the situation. Best consistent results for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't do anything

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
TedO
my dog hates having his ears cleaned and drools constantly in the car so I thought I'd try this. directions say give him 1 (40 lb coonhound) but it had no effect on either situation even when I gave him 2. he wouldn't eat them soaked in chicken broth either so I had to shove it down his throat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

save your money

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
williaas
This product hasn't worked at all and I am about half way through the bottle. I have a 12 year old beagle and i give him the calming aid every day to help with his howling when I leave. Regardless of whether I am gone 10 minutes or and hour he howls the whole time. Absolutely nothing has changed since I started giving him the claming aid. If you are hoping to fix a similar problem I would try a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A quiet fourth of july at home-inside!

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
trueblue
We have two 5yr old Great Pyrenees & an 11 yr old Lhasa Apso that bark at just about anything - people out in their yards, leaves blowing past the window - you name it. The Fourth of July has always been stressful for them.
I asked my daughter, who is a CVT, if there was any kind of over the counter stuff I could give the dogs to help calm them down over the holiday. She stopped at PetCo & picked up this calming aid - both the pills & the gel. We gave the dogs the pills & it was pure bliss at home. Besides the fireworks, my son had about 6 of his friends over so it was chaos both inside & out & all three dogs were fine. Love this stuff!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works, but with consequences.

PostedMay 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
housewifejen
These tablets worked very well for our very hyper dog... however, we noticed the next morning she had pooped in her kennel (which she has never done!) and she was constipated the entire next day. Could have not been the tablets, but it's my guess.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Try, it worked

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
AnnInMaine
We had our 10 year old, 35 pound Norwegian Elkhound groomed at Petco. She was extremely anxious and nervous, with shaking and barking.
We gave her 2 tabs and then left for 3 hours.
The groomers said she was calm and relaxed.
When we picked her up she was not shaking anymore, or barking and behaving normally, with sniffing and curiosity. I gave her one this morning and she is already relaxing and not pacing or following me around the house. I hope it continues to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give calming aids before the stress

PostedJune 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
bulldogbeagle
from Corona, CA
My bulldog loves the taste of this calming aid at anytime. But I have found that with my beagle I need to give him the calming aid before the stressful event. Once he's at the groomers or in the car he's too stressed to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Calming Aid Tabs for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not convenient!

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
greatdane214
i have a great dane lab mix puppy (although he if a puppy he is 80lbs) who is terrified of getting his nails cut(he doesnt bite he just tries to get away any way possible). i bought these to try to keep him clam. i tried just giving them to him like a treat and in his food and even in some cream cheese. nothing worked he wouldnt touch it. and after wasting 3 tablets i had to break them up and put them down his throat like medication. after all of that they didnt do anything for him at all. the groomers at petco had to call a team of people to hold him. he didnt like the tablets and i didnt like how i had to give them to him next time im not getting any type of tablet!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.