petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier

Airline approved pet carriers approved for use on major airlinesExterior zippered pocket holds keys, leash, treats and moreCollapsible pet carrier bag features a locking zippered side mesh opening and zippered top so your pet can see outWater-resistant, removable & washable fleece padded bottomStrap with hook inside carrier allows pet to be safely secured
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed....not for puppies.

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty89
from Williamsburg, VA
I love the soft crate but it is not for my puppy. He loves the smaller size of a soft crate but 2 days after receiving the crate, he had chewed a hole the size of his head to poke out in the front door. I had the hard crate here but I preferred to place him in the softer one but that did not work out for us. So it is not made for puppies that chew. Made me sad. I wished it had worked out but it did not. I had to place him in the bulky hard crate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kodysmom
from Maryland
FedEx delivered my package this morning and I was super excited. I thought Kody would be traveling to his doctors appointment today in his new bag. Sad to say this bag is very small and I'm pretty sure my 3 month old cockapoo who is already weighing a little over 5lbs will not get much use out of this kennel. It's very stylish, looks comfy, great price but this is probably for a toy dog that won't get over 7-10lbs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, quite light, big crate window for the dog to see outside!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappySun
from Los Angeles, CA
I chose this one especially for the big see through part because my dog doesn't like to be in a closed space.
Some other bags are a lot more covered than this one. I like the open feeling it gives. I think my dog will fell better being able to see me and things better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed in this carrier

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Turquoise
from Central California
I got a great price but I'm on the fence about this carrier and will probably exchange it. The worst issue is that it stunk and had to be aired out for a week and sprayed with Febreze until the awful smell dissipated - that is unacceptable for a product meant to house your pet. Other disappointments - it doesn't have a shoulder strap, the side door cannot be turned under for resting on the floor and the cardboard bottom doesn't really fit in the carrier. I bought the Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-sided Carrier for my bigger cat and should have just gotten two.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dorcia

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorcia
from Warrenville, IL
This is an awsome carrier. My cat loves it. He actually goes inside to take a nap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sherpa AKC pet carrier

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
farley
from Olympia, WA
Our dog liked this carrier right away. Mesh is on three sides and so he's not closed in. It is compact and easy to carry. we'll use it when we fly with him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for bunnies!

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
riverbunn
This carrier works well for our rabbits. It has a good height, because it has stiff sides has not collapsed on top of our rabbits tall ears.
It is open on 3 sides and has a side that is solid canvas. This is good in case the bunny needs to be calmed down, or semi-shielded from another animal at the vet.
We have two carriers both the same size, model #97008 about 9.5/10inches high.Our tiny bunny(3pounds) fits in one and our larger bunny(7pounds) fits in the other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag!

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Natasha15
I recently bought this bag for my Pomeranian to travel in and i love it! The bag is light weight, easy to carry and easy to clean. My pom is 10lbs and fits comfortably inside the medium bag.(If your dog is any bigger though i would recommend the larger size, as it does run small.) He absolutely loves it and falls asleep in no time. I like that it is approved for almost every airline. Definitely a great buy for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bag for the Price

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
legzlie
from New York, NY
I really like this bag because of the amount of mesh for ventilation on 3 sides, plus the top and side entries. My little 5.2.lb Yorkiepoo went right in it and laid down!! The bag feels nice and sturdy, has pretty red piping around the edges and a cuoio color faux leather detail trim. The inside has a plush washable floor and an outside pocket for treats and food. The only thing I didn't realize was there isn't a shoulder strap. I can get the 2 straps up on my shoulder but it is really high up under my arm. Overall this is a really great light weight bag for traveling or running around town.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Animal Lover

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
kazforeva
Just love this pet carrier. I bought one for my daughter for a sick cat that she found outside her home. Then, I bought one for one of my cats who became sick. And, then, my future daughter in law loved ours so much, I bought one for her cat, too. This carrier is very sturdy and stable and we think the best of the soft carriers. And, the soft bottom pad is really nice for the cat to lay on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good quality

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
luckie2
Though smaller than expected, the quality is worth the purchase. if you are not sure about the size I would tell you to get a larger carrier. Thought this carrier is supposed to hold 20 pounds, I wouldn't think that one over 11-15 would fit comfortably.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Carrier

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
lexlaw
I have a small white minature female poodle who is around 15 years old (my vet found her on the side of the road in 1996 and estimated her age at around 2 years old then). She used to be very good riding on the backseat of the car. However, lately, she tries to walk a little on the seat and falls into the floor. I have previously used a harness to keep her safe, but she began having seizures and could wiggle out of it. So I got this carrier. For the most part, she loves it. It keeps her safe and she can see out. She can sit up with her head out of the top; and she doesn't realize she is seatbelted in, so she enjoys the ride. If she starts to try to get out, I just zip the top and she calms down. This has been a good solution to my problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great soft dog/cat carrier

PostedNovember 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denisep10x
from Buckingham, PA
Purchased this carrier for my Yorkie. Mom used it for her cat, so I gave that one to her and bought the exact same carrier for myself AGAIN because I really liked it. Nicely made carrier and easy to carry with my 5 lb dog. I like that I can load my dog from the top or the side. Soft and snuggly fleece bottom lining.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sherpa American Kennel Club Navy Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Cats!

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
CLR4TKOFF
from Kalamazoo, MI
I purchased this to replace a hard plast case for my cat. He hates going in it the old one so I though this one is more open and he can see better he may like it... when i opened up the top of it - he jumped right in! He played init all night. So it is certainly the right one to get. One thing... it was rated at 14lbs online when i got it it was rated at 20lbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.