petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover

Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover

Permanently eliminates old and new odorsSafe around people and petsNon-toxic, biodegradable formula
Average Customer Rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
19 out of 25(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Review 1 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
Dumb Cat works. It truly does as long as you use it as directed. I have three cats - one tends to stand up when he pees. While I have very tall, covered pans, once in a while, he shoots it out the hole. One box is on tile, one on concrete, one on carpet. Dumb Cat eliminates the odor on all of them. It also eliminates the odor on the mats that are outside the pans, which catch most of his mess, but not all of it.
It's also worked on a cloth tote bag of mine (and the clothes inside, ew) when he marked territorially once after a "visit" from a roaming neighborhood cat.
I knew to get Dumb Cat when the need arose because it's the only product we used at the cat-only vet practice where I worked. The only thing there that it didn't work on was a wood box where one of our disabled cats slept all day. But she had no bladder control and so the box was continually being soaked with urine.
Dumb Cat was the only product that my boss would recommend to clients, and we sold it for years until we were no longer able to get it from our supplier. We were thrilled when Petco started to carry it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Bother...

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, New York
Recently my cat started marking her territory due to taking in two abandoned kitties. Bought this product, followed the directions exactly. Not only did my cat re-mark in the same spot, this stuff made my entire
apartment smell like cat urine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Dumb Cat infoFebruary 5, 2015
Dumb Cat is a feline retraining aid. It helps the pet owner solve issues related to scent confusion or behavior issues. The directions are very exact in what gets results. The cat or cats must be away from the treated area while the product is working. If you let the cats return while the product is working it will fail and your results will be what you described. You must, and I say must wait for the product to digest the urine and while it works it will convert urine into a state to break down. This can cause the urine to smell to humans. When it is done working all smells go away. Your issue is behavioral and only can be corrected by the territory issues being resolved. DumbCat
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as advertised!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Zephyrhills, FL
This is my opinion...this item does not work on either removing urine area or stopping urination. Mean Green works better in removing the stains. I am very disappointed. The black light really shows up the truth!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Dumb Cat infoFebruary 5, 2015
Dumb Cat is the most effective product made for cat urine issues. A black light will not show the urine is gone. It is only a locator. Using it after treating with any product will show glowing urine as the proteins still glow after treatment. There is nothing in Mean Green that can remove urine. Follow the directions on the bottle of Dumb Cat and you get results. When you do not follow the directions you get failure and your issue is not resolved. DumbCat
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS REALLY WORKS!!

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
We have 5 cats, including one who sprays, and this product works. I use the spray bottle size, and all I have to do is spray the spot my cat has hit, and within about 15 minutes the smell is gone. I have a strong sense of smell, too, so I'm glad I found this product!
I wanted to move our litter box location someplace else, and I sprayed the previous area to get rid of the lingering odor and any possible accidents, and now you'd never know a litter box had been there.
I use the product full strength from the spray bottle and I sometimes don't even have to wipe up afterwards. The product dries, and the enzymes go to work on the odor. I've used this on chair fabric and curtains; works every time.
My one kitty has chronic cystitis which we didn't know about soon enough, so he connects his litter box with pain and that's why he finds places to spray, but not as often now that we have him on the correct food.
I highly, highly recommend this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Leonardtown, MD
I have tried many different products to remove the smell from my cats marking their territory and this is definitely the best one! It really works and doesn't leave an awful after smell either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This product seriously works like magic! We have 3 cats, 1 of which is very temperamental and has recently started "marking" our spare bedroom bed. We immediately went to Petco where we stumbled upon the Dumb Cat spray and decided to give it a whirl. It's like the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser of cat urine!!! Within seconds the spots were NOTICEABLY lighter and no longer reeked! Follow directions and you'll be on your way back to a fresh smelling, urine free home!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stops Cats from being Dumb

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from honolulu
As the name implies, Dumb Cats works on cats doing dumb things -marking and spraying things. It has a nice smell and thats a good thing because you do have to reapply to ensure that they don't remark it. This is after the area is cleaned of the original markings. Overall a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth your money

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wakefield,RI
Faithfully use this product. Most important thing is follow directions. Smells like vet office. FON spray also very good. Had 7 cats in the past. People who came in the house never knew until they saw one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does work

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We recently took in two foster kittens, and now have 4 cats: the two kittens and our two adult males. Despite having several litter boxes, kept VERY CLEAN, someone urinated in a closet corner (we're not sure of whom it was).
I tried Nature's Miracle Just for Cats Stain and Odor Remover and also Just for Cats Urine Destroyer. Neither one worked well at all. Then I bought Dumb Cat. Used as directed
1) spray on the affected area, 2) allow to air dry, 3) allow up to 10 days for full odor elimination and 4) re-use as necessary.
This is the only product that seems to have stopped the cats from urinating on the carpet. It also has a pleasant, almost vanilla-like, smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product for urine marking I've found

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Manchester, NH
With 8 cats, 2 of them new kittens and 3 of them marking their territory, I tried all of the different cat odor neutralizers and found this to be the only one that truly worked and kept them from urinating in that spot again. I highly recommend this product--it really works!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Urine issues got worse

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
We have 6 cats and 5 out of the six are neutered - all three of our boys are neutered. Sorry, guys, but this product is not very good. It's expensive and it actually made our urine problem worse. We followed the instructions to the letter and used the product on two separate ares of urine. It did remove the urine but, in one of the two spots, the offending cat came back within less than an hour and remarked the same spot. We've used other products and never had this happen. Based on other user complaints, I can only shake my head and concur. This is going back to the store for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Dumb Cat infoFebruary 5, 2015
Dumb Cat is a feline retraining aid. It helps the pet owner solve issues related to scent confusion or behavior issues. The directions are very exact in what gets results. The cat or cats must be away from the treated area while the product is working. If you let the cats return while the product is working it will fail and your results will be what you described. You must, and I say must wait for the product to digest the urine and while it works it will convert urine into a state to break down. This can cause the urine to smell to humans. When it is done working all smells go away. Your issue is behavioral and only can be corrected by the territory issues being resolved. DumbCat
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

she wasnt being "dumb"

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from nyc
this product didnt help my (spayed)female cat from contantly marking my bed. i just think shes being spiteful when i go to work. what has been helping me so far is always having her litter clean...i tried going for more than 2days but she doesnt like it that much. hence the peeing on my bed. so i thorougly wash/clean her litter box everyother day and scoop and use another oder control product everyday. shes a clean feline isnt she? also this product has a"scent" i wasnt fond of but it wouldnt linger for too long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Helps some

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Osage City, Ks
used as instructions on label, helped reduce order, however order seems to come back later,respray and is good for a while. can't find any new places where cat went, so I believe its the old spot
I would recommend this to a friend!
Dumb Cat infoFebruary 5, 2015
You have to get the product on the urine. This is why it does not work to your satisfaction. Figures out how to get it directly on the urine and it will permanently get rid of it. Use a turkey baster to inject it under the carpet. Or a cow syringe also works. Inject about two to three ounces every six to eight inches until you cover where the urine is. Sometimes you just have to pull up the carpet to see where the urine is to treat. DumbCat
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oh, no!

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I don't know if I did not understand this product, but I poured it on a large spot in my living room where there was cat urine odor. I thought the Dumb Cat would remove the odor once it was on the carpet.
Well, I had company for a family gathering and ended up with the most awful, putrid cat urine smell in the world. I even put a throw rug over the spot and there was no hope.
I reread the bottle and it said it would take 2-10 days to remove the urine reside. Does that mean it will smell horrible for 2-10 days????
If anybody know, let me know please.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Dumb Cat infoFebruary 5, 2015
Urine is one of the most difficult substances on the planet. There are so many factors that determine what causes the high ammonia odor in cat urine. Dumb Cat is the only product that has been tested under a microscope to get rid of all five components in cat urine. And yes, while it is working it can create odors not pleasant to some folks. But when it is done digesting the urine, it no longer smells and the cat issues are corrected. This product is not some miracle magic bullet that works every time you use it the way you want to use it. You have to follow the directions on the bottle as nearly all the folks that did and write five start reviews. Follow the directions, let the product do its thing and you will get results. Do not follow the directions like most one star hatters and you will not get your results. No product that contains enzymes can get rid of urine. Urine is water soluble and water based products claim to work and in reality just make the problem bigger. DumbCat
-12points
1of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful stuff

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Really works! I have had as many as 6 cats in the house at once. One male did not like the introduction of a new neutered female and he started to spray EVERYWHERE! Took care of the smell, mom even said so!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work at all

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I had such high hopes for this product, but it doesn't work even a little bit. Don't waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the $

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
I read many reviews before settling on Dumb Cat. Unlike most, my cats were not marking but I had purchased a house in which the former cats were using one room as a litter box. Horrible. I know that once cats begin this habit it becomes a territorial dispute and is very difficult to stop. To avoid this fait, I tore up the carpet (just could not be saved after YEARS of peeing) and then treated the concrete slab and walls with dumb cat. After only two days the change was remarkable! My cats aren't even interested in that room. It was pricey, but well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff really works

PostedJune 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dumb cat is the ONLY product that truly gets RID of cat urine. I have tried so many different products and I was at my wits end. My sister found a website from the creator of Dumb Cat and I actually spoke to him - very nice guy who knows a lot about cats and gave me some great tips. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is having problems with their cats marking or peeing outside the litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Edmond, OK
We have a new kitten that peed on the bed in one of our rooms, leaving the entire room smelling like cat urine. We bought this product because it was most expensive (you know, you get what you pay for...?). Within hours, the room smelled better! The next morning, the smell of urine had completely vanished! We also sprayed a questionable spot on the floor, and it, too, had no smell the next morning. This seems to be a miracle product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dumb Cat Anti-Marking & Cat Spray Remover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I resisted purchasing this product for years because I found the name a bit offensive. I wish it was called Smart Cat Anti-Marking ...etc.
But I relented out of desperation: Simple stinky Solution which is far superior to Natures' non Miracle do not accomplish what is promised when using these products. I have 4, now three :-(, special needs pets so I spend a fortune on cleaning supplies and laundry. We need products that work and which also don't require time off from work for blotting, repeated reapplications, 1000's of feet of paper towels or white cloths to get the job done. . This product works - we have a 3 story ,fully carpeted townhome , tile floors and a full, unfinished basement. We need products that actually do what the manufacturer promises on the bottle . Dumb Cat works PLUS it's not sickeningly sweet smelling nor requires 1,000 sprays to work. Sweet smelling urine and doo doo is not what we need here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>