petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System

Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System

The Tetra Whisper PF10 works 3 ways: Mechanically, Chemically and BiologicallyFilter pulls water from the aquarium and pushes it through the filter cartridgeUltra-Activated carbon removes odors and discoloration better than competing cartridgesBio-Foam creates a large 3-dimensional area for cultivating aerobic bacteria, which eliminate toxic ammonia and nitritesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.036 / 5
4
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
23 out of 28(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works wonderfully

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ciaobelle
The filter had an easy set up and it starts to work instantly. Within about 30 mins the tank was completely cleaned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
eeej
from Valley Center, CA
The Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System is SO good. It pumps a LOT of water through, it's quiet, and keeps the water clean for a long time. It's easy to clean. Great value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice and quiet

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
new2aquarium
from Cary, NC
I filled the tank up and this is silent. When the water level went down I could hear the water fall more. (Its a soothing sound to us)
This filter is easy to set up and I have no complaints. I have it on a 10 gal with the water level at the top with a lighted hood. I don't think there is a noise problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it, just one issue.

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Minkish
from Poughkeepsie, NY.
I have had this filter for about a week now. I was given a complete 5 gallon aquarium set-up with this filter and fancy guppies. Great filter, lots of power - almost too much power! I had one issue where the current it created was too strong for my fancy guppies. The males had trouble swimming and all the guppies hung out in one half of the tank, away from the filter. I have read that some people add a sponge to it somewhere - not sure exactly. But I did find a video demonstrating a completely free solution that takes less than 5 minutes to fashion. ^_^
Here is how to weaken the current the free and easy way:
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris1Chris
from Richmond VA
This product is great for my 10 gallon tank it keeps the water cristal clear. Somtimes it can make funny noises but they go away so no big deal. I would highly recomend this product to you :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy for a 5 gallon!

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
FishyMom
from Maine
I got this filter because I needed one for my 5 gallon tank. It is quiet, but definitely not worth the money. The tube is so long that I had to put it in the sand (I have sand instead of gravel for my tank) which didn't work because the sand clogged the filter. I had to put gravel around it so that that wouldn't happen. Second, the filter died in less than a week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
4of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent filter for my 10 gallon!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fishwuver11111
I just bought this at my local petco store. It was confusing to install at first, but it works. I'm cycling my tank and after 5 hours theres already a small amount of bacteria growing on the black mesh. 5/5! BTW this filter is just as quite as my internal tetra filter in my 29g.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Yes andNo-Need to go back to the older version

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
cocolv60
from Las Vegas, NV and love my fish.
I have always liked the performance of Whisper until I tried the newest one.
Pros-still quiet, same easy filter changes, uses only the carbon or ammo you want to use, great for smaller Betta tanks, just so easy to work with.
Cons-NEW model does not have the adjustable flow feature, and I believe most aquarists change the filter when they know it's needed.
Please go back to the old model, it's so hard to find a good, small filter unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank filters

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreeOpinions
This is an excellent filter and it flows well and lasts well. We give it a work out with our 3 large goldfish in a 10 gallon tank. We have been told that these guys are about ready for the table.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
southernangel
This product was exactly what we wanted
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Filter

PostedJanuary 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Plecostomus
I got this filter almost a year ago and I love it! At first I had only handled AQUA-tech filters and didn't know much about other filters. But I quickly realized how great this filter is. The filter came with a 10 gallon kit. After a bacterial bloom the water was chrystal clear! This filter has done 3 jobs for me: First, I had it on my 10 gallon tetra tank. Next, I switched it to my other tank with my pleco (At the time, he was 5 inches). Then, my pleco outgrew the 10 gallon and was switched to a 29 gallon. The Whisper filter was transferred too. I have a costum lid with a space on the side for it and a space on the back for my main filter. I will now go over the parts of this filter:
Mechanical: The floss on the cartridge is duel sided, durable, and dense, but a small amount of debris gets through. So I put a piece of filter wool in front of it. I can repeatedly rinse out the cartridge.
Chemical: The activated carbon absorbs inorganics, cloudiness, and smells.
Biological: The BIO-foam has much surface area for bacteria to colonize without stopping or restricting flow. And because it's a loose foam it's easy to rinse off. When I first cleaned this there was so much bacteria that it formed strands of brownish-black goop.
Extras: The clip-on cartridge allows me to refill the carbon so I can be more efficent with my carbon. The motor comes off so it is easy to clean. It back-flowed a little so I put some filter wool under the intake. You don't need knew cartridges, just buy carbon and refill the cartridge, saving you money.
Overall: This is a great filter especially for beginers like I was when I used it for a main filter. It keeps your aquarium clean and spotless and makes your fish happy. Great filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

noisy

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
knnle
from nyc
the 1st arrived physically broken. the 2nd didnt turn on all, after shaked the unit around a bit, it started working, but it is very loud. doesnt clean very much in my 7 gallons of water in a 10 gallons tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not That Good...

PostedDecember 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
fishmaster12
I have never had any success with Whisper products. This filter was very inconvenient, hard to control, and trapped three of my fish inside it. Also, it constantly fell apart. I would pay a few extra bucks and buy a different filter brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best filter around but gets the job done

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
The filter it self is not that bad. It was able to uncloud the water in my 10 gallon tank. The only downside of it that there is no direct way to regulate the water current, which with no physical shield to slow it down, knocks my betta around the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Filter Ever!!!

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maddy199
from Michigan
This Filter is the best Filter I have had (out of my 2). I have a new 10 gallon fish tank and I was not sure if I wanted this filter, some had said it was loud. Well I still have my old tank going and you can't even hear this Tetra without unplugging that tank. I recommend this to everyone who owns a fish tank. And it was only 16 dollars!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, quiet filter

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
UrbanForests
from Chicago, IL
I love this filter. It is clean and super quiet, which is important since my 10 gallon aquarium is in my bedroom!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Filter

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Infamousdmz
Seriously amazing filter. I use a 10 gallon tank for keeping my puffer fish, until recently I had only 1, I bought 4 more and within a day my Fluval pump could not keep up with them, I noticed haziness so I went and got this PF10 system and let me tell you, I wake up the next morning and my tank is back to crystal clear. Best filter for the money on a 10 gallon tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable and easy filter

PostedMay 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mudeater91
from Mt. Clemens, MI
I have used the PF10's predecessors for several years to keep my two 10-gallon tanks clean, and the new model lives up to the high quality of the old ones. The external motor is quiet and effective and the filter cartridges are cheap and easier to install than the old ones, while still being backwards-compatible with older filters, so you don't have to replace any older filters. A great value and a good investment in your aquarium. I would highly recommend the PF10.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Reliable!

PostedMarch 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
thatritzygirl
Super affordable and extremely reliable. Cleaned my 10 gal tank with very messy goldfish to perfection! Filters are also really cheap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper PF10 Filtration System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet and effective

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
It does the job and it does it quitely. Never had any problems. Cheap and reliable. Filter is EXTREMELY easy to change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>