petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG YardTrainer

SportDOG YardTrainer

Great for basic obedience training100 yard rangeWaterproof receiver/water resistant transmitter8 levels of stimulation with a tone buttonIncludes replaceable lithium batteries with low battery detect featureBasic training instruction with pro trainer Charlie Jurney included
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for SportDOG YardTrainer
Review 1 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The benefits are great

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
sweetk
from Birmingham, Alabama
My dog is so large i was concerned this yard trainer would not work, however, now, she does not go near the road or out of the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
N2Golf
from Hawaii
My dog is very responsive to the e-collar. It only requires minimal usage. Once he has the collar on, he knows he must mind. The only small problem is that he is capable of turning off the collar - I don't know how he does it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked well when it worked

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ezflip
from Angola, IN
I have had this product for about a month to assist me in training my 80lb lab. It worked fairly well for the first 2 weeks (having replaced the batteries twice in that time period) but since, it has stopped working all together. The lights still flash and light up as they are supposed to, but the receiver no longer beeps with the tone button, nor does it shock him with the other buttons. The light on the receiver goes solid when the buttons are pressed, so I know it is receiving the signal, but it is not beeping nor shocking. The manufacturer is closed today due to the holiday, but I will be contacting them on Monday.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

train those hard to do tasks quickly

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Camacho
from SC
got one for my 85lb Labradoodle puppy. Had 2 bad habits we could not break him from doing. He jumps, I am handicapped he can't do that and he likes to bump his butt (mighty big one!) into me. He knocked me down. The collar works great and he loves putting it on.his bad habits stopped, I just pick up the remote and he stops, replaced once as it just stopped working.sport dog was great Most times he has his working mobility harness on and helps me walk,pull my chair,helps me up stairs he has to have his correction collar on too when we leave the yard as I it may save his life someday if I lose control of him Great product, doesn't hurt him just gets his attention.all his commands are done immediately, don'tshock him much now but glad to have it for peace of mind.Dogs do do doggy things no matter who well trained they are.Will buy another when this one dies, will not be without it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worthy buy

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
adavis88
from Houston, TX
We tried all manners of discipline for our lab puppy, from time outs, to spankings, to water spritzers and rolled up newspapers. He didn't seem to make the connection with the bad behavior and the punishment. This collar was worked to reduce his barking almost immediately, we are still working on other behaviors like digging, and jumping, but so far we are very pleased with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effective on my lab puppy

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
cari374
from Central PA
Our lab puppy kept going near the road. This trainer effectively stopped her. Only two "shocks" and we now use the audible setting. She obeys well. This trainer has many settings and met our needs perfectly. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
littlejohn06
from Picayune, MS
This collar is great for the price. The collar works great but somehow has turned off a few times while in use. But other than that it is definately worth the investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Useful!

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
11MonthLab
It was becoming difficult to control my 11 month old lab puppy. It's not that she's a bad dog (we love her!) She just has a lot of energy and doesn't always know when to settle down or what I felt was good behavior. She thought jumping on the table to steal things and taking things off the counter was acceptable. She also enjoyed getting in my face with toys all the time and wouldn't drop them to play. Finally, running out of the yard to chase other dogs was my main concern. The collar has worked great indoors and out! I honetly only had to shock her one time to get the message across in the house. She responds well to the beep. Instead of yelling at her all the time now I just have to give her a push of a button and she knows she is misbehaving. I tested it in the yard as well and it had the same effect. She's less responsive to the beep when outside running free but as soon as I push the corrective button she responds and runs straight to me. It's a great tool for both her and I. She can roam the yard without the restriction of a leash and I can rest easy that i'll be able to get her attention without chasing her down the road. The only problem I found at first was the small vs long prongs. The small prongs did not reach through her thick coat... but once I switched to the long the collar worked just fine. Also, remember to shut the collar off... I've left it on a few times, but the batteries have lasted just fine. Overall Great Product! I'd recommend to anyone needing a little help controlling their household friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UNREAL

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
lvjstmrcy
We were struggling training our rescue dog, as she had wandered the streets and never been trained. We used the beep a few times and the zap ONCE. She responds to her name and commands the FIRST time. Well worth the money to keep our girl safe!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works so fast!

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kobes
from CT
I've only had this SportDog yard trainer for a few days now. I absolutely love it! I have a 70 lb yellow lab that does the typical stealing for attention, and barking at me for no reason. He has (in the few days I've been using this) turned into a well behaved dog! I only had to shock him 4 or 5 times so far because he responds so well to no and the beep warning. He hasn't been stealing the remote, dish towels, dirty laundry, or anything else for that matter! I love it and recommend for everyone to get it. Especially to deal with those small behaviors that really get annoying. I finally have relaxation time and can trust that he is being good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Really Well

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
crazycatlady35
from Lancaster, PA
My GSD had become so aggressive towards my cats I was afraid he would kill one of them. From the first day this collar has made a huge difference. My boyfriend put it on his arm to make sure it wouldn't hurt and said it felt "weird and uncomfortable" but not painful. I've been using it for about two weeks and now only have to say "no" and use the tone button. As soon as he hears it, he stops whatever he's doing immediately. I have it set at level 3 indoors and level 4 outdoors. He has the bad habit of lunging at cars as they go by when I walk him. He's getting better outdoors but still needs to be corrected each time a car goes by. I'm not sure why others have said the battery dies quickly. I've been using mine every day and once left it on all night after I'd taken it off him and forgot to turn it off. I haven't had to replace the battery so far. I would definetly recommend this collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
StellaDoro
I've only had to use the warning beeps! It's portable and convenient. The batteries seem to die a bit quickly so I make sure not to keep it on if I'm not using it since it takes 4 replacement batteries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

control

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
pageg
from bronx ny
i now have peace of mind thanks to sportdog yardtrainer
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.