petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer

SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer

Great for basic obedience training in stubborn dogs100 yard rangeWaterproof receiver/water resistant transmitter8 levels of stimulation with a tone buttonIncludes replaceable lithium batteries with low battery detect featureBasic training instruction with pro trainer Charlie Jurney included
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Review 1 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It gets the job done

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
It works on my 100 lb dog and even had to cut excess length off of it for it to fit. It would work on something way larger than our Great Dane. We've treated him with meds for anxiety and use the dog slow release pheromone that plugs in the wall. They all seemed to work temporarily and slow down the bad behavior incidences but nothing like the shock collar to nip bad behavior/anxiety in the bud.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
After doing much research on the many different Ecollars, I chose this one based on other reviews. I needed something to aid in training my pit bull puppy (10 months old) he constantly tries to get into things that don't belong to him. I put the collar on him, whenever he tried to get into something, I would start with the tone button, if he continued, I would use the shock option. We have found we have no need to go past number 4 on the settings.
This product has definitely helped us significantly to be able to enjoy our pet more instead of chasing him around the house. I would absolutely recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
It calmed my dog down from barking within the first two hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Range isn't enough

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
The colar worked great for keeping our large, not so well mannered Great Dane puppy in line in the house. We were looking for something to keep her from spending all her time at the neighbors. If she got too far away before being spotted, it did nothing to her. We measured the distance before purchasing the colar so we would be sure it worked. Also, batteried died in colar after just a few days. For manner training in the house I would use this but it didn't fit our needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did the trick

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Loganville, GA
This trainer was a replacement for the Big Dog Trainer which was misplaced during a move. All it takes is hearing the tone and she is back on track. I have only had to use the shock once to get her back in the yard. Even for hard to train dogs it works. Just takes a little more time. My sons Shepard is using it to keep her in the back yard. She does get tempted to leave the yard when we are not in view but just having the collar on her is a reminder to stay put.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from clermont, fl
We only had to use this collar about 5 times and didn't need it any more. If he started misbehaving we'd just show him the collar and he immediately would behave. We haven't had to even show it to him in over a year now. He's such a good dog now!!
We never put the setting higher than 4
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and effective

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
The collar and controller are easy to configure and understand how to use. After only a 2-3 uses, our dog has demonstrated better behavior. With that said, the dog was previously trained on an electric fence, so the tone-only mode has been all that has been needed to correct the dog's behavior. I like the idea of having the 3 button option: tone, shock, and shock + 2 levels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on stubborn dogs

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from reno nv
This device works awesome when you have a stubborn dog like a lit bull and runs outside the door when open and now stays buy it and has been listening at other things. I don't need it on high and stays at the low settings to work. Also when inside house watching dog outside about 100yard it works. Only bad thing is the strap that dog gnaws on excess so had to tape it to keep dog from shredding it more.Tried a lot of things before resulting to this collar and now I am very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-So

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Northern Cambria, PA
I got 2 of these for my two Husky/Malamutes and so far, they're ok. Since they've lost their winter coats, I am using the short prongs. However, I think they still require the longer prongs. My male is 5 months old and I have it set to 6 and it still barely phases him. Also, the collars have either shut off on their own or the dogs were able to easily turn them off while playing and rough housing with one another. Batteries are brand new, sooo... I also noticed that at times, the collars are difficult to switch on. You have to press the button several times. I would still recommend them. They are a decent value for your money :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Life Saver :)

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Martinsville VA
I have a 110lb pit bull. Tried fences, leashes, etc. Nothing could stop or contain him. No amount of training could get him to listen when a cat or deer got his attention, and over the fence he would go. I got this collar as a last resort. After just 1 time using the shock feature I had a changed dog. Now all I have to do is give the warning beep, and he stops instantly and listens. No more chasing him thru the neighborhood. The remote is small, and easy to use, and find the lanyard that comes with it really handy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not worth the cost

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lewis, WA
the remote and the collar are both battery operated you can not recharge it electrically. the battery life does not last a month, even if you take it off and shut if off every night. I have an 8month old male German Sheppard/Lab. He is already bigger than most full grown labs. the collar is suppose to be for stubborn dogs. he listens when you shock him pretty much all the time. the beep warning is great. but if there is something he wants!!!! Like a bird across the street in the neighbors yard, you can crank that thing all the way up to 8 and hold it down for repeat stimulation and he fights and takes him forever to come back. he basically just sits down and scratches at his neck. if your gonna get one and want something good, dont get this. we dont have a lot of money but it really is not worth the cost. Just spend the extra hundred bucks and get the Tri-Tronics G3. that is what my neighbor has and i love it, so regret not spending the extra money when it is so worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Great price, well made. Multiple settings allows for just the right amount of training aid. It took a couple of tries to place the receiver in just the right spot on my dog's neck, tight, but not choking. At a low setting, the unit makes him stop and tilt his head, without hurting. Very effective..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for our situation!

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sheffield Lake, OH
I was reluctant to resort to a static collar with our large German Shepherd mix. She has always been very very well behaved when she is around members of the household but as soon as she sees another person/dog/cat/rabbit she is impossible to control. Not due to aggression though, just excitement (she would whine/scream/pull/jump). Corrections through any traditional methods would be ignored. She had tunnel vision during those times.
This collar has given us the means to very easily stay in control and allow us to show our dog how to stay calm and obedient amongst distractions. I will say though, THIS COLLAR IS STRONG! Start at level ONE and move up to the appropriate level as called out in the instructions. I do not want to know what level eight would do to our dog because a small tap at level five is enough to bring her out of chase mode! And the short battery life others were talking about... I haven't had any problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG - There is hope!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Noblesville, IN
I bought this product as a last ditch effort, before considering spending $1800 + on professional training. I have had dogs my whole life, but met my match with our most recent rescue, a 60lb Rotti mix. I specifically have problems with counter surfing, jumping on people, barking, and poor behavior in the car. After just a week using this tool I have seen a significant turn around. I love the tone only feature and have found that the need to use the static correction has been very minimal. Even when I used the static correction I only had to put it on level 2. I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a little added help with training. We have used it indoors and out. I only wish I had considered this purchase sooner, it could have saved me a lot of frustration!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not work

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I've used this several times with no response from black lab and it did not matter what the level setting was on. Quite possibly the most frustrating item I have ever purchased. I would not recommend this product. The range is very poor and does not work. Save your money and look for another product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A changed dog!

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Texas
we have a VERY stubborn 3yr old English Bulldog. I couldn't do dishes without him slamming the dishwasher shut, couldn't carry a laundry basket without him trying to knock it out of my hands by hitting the bottom, couldn't vacuum without him attacking it, and he would go after ANYTHING that would fall on the ground and never give it back. My 106 lbs was nothing to his 75lbs and now at 8 months pregnant, we just couldn't let him misbehave anymore. Within 1 day I already saw changes. Most of the time the tone only function is enough to get his attention where he realizes not to do what he's doing. In the past, he didn't care if he got negative attention...it was just attention to him. Now I can correct him by saying no, and often just showing him the remote. I highly recommend this product and my only regret is not buying it a year ago!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

possible lifesaver

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
from wallkill,ny
I was very torn about purchasing this item because I did not want to "zap" my dog but in reality, it was a good decision. He had selective hearing and would sometimes run to the front of the house near the road while playing ball. I was so afraid he would get hit by a car but could not get him to listen to me. Now, about a week later, he has gotten the idea that he must stay in the back yard. I only use the collar on 2 or 3 and that seems to be enough for my 80 lb dog. ( my husband and son tried it on themselves first because we felt bad about using it and wanted to make sure it wasn't too strong.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for training

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Bought the Sport Dog Stubborn Dog Yard Trainer for our Austrialian Shepard/Mix. She has a bad habit of jumping up and jumping against us...Nothing we did worked.. Used this for only 2 days and she no longer jumps up. She is a total pleasure now to have in the house....I must add that I only had to use it a few times each day, and by the 3rd day we didn't use it at all. If she looks like she wants to jump up we say no or down and she obeys instantly....Highly recommend this, you won't be sorry.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
We got ours in the mail about 2 weeks ago. At first it seemed not to be doing much, but then I realized my husband had not put the collar on him well. After I adjusted it, we have been seen great improvement in our young lab. He now comes when told to and gets down on the the first command. We are still working on some other commands, but have found this collar to be perfect for him. Wish we had gotten one of these for our older lab when she was younger.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SportDOG Stubborn Dog YardTrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Relief that this really worked

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, Washington
I would spend a good 10 minutes yelling at my one and a half year old Dobie to stop barking and come back into the house. I would almost have to be half way into the yard before she would listen. I am handicapped and I can not chase her down. The first day I started at 1 then 2, and found that she yelped at 3, so that is where I kepted it. I would call for her one time, if she didn't come right away, I would push the buzzer first then push the shock button and she would come right away. 3rd day we got to just using the buzzer and she came....after a week all I have to do is call her and she comes. I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>