petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

Automatically stops barking while PerfectBark technology eliminates false corrections10 levels of correction with three correction modes to fit your dog's temperamentAnti bark collar is waterproof and submersible up to 25ft.Bark collar includes a long-life rechargeable battery with a low-battery indicator light
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
5 stars
80
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
94 out of 100(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life changing

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
After trying another bark collar that failed, I purchased this collar on advice of a coworker. WOW! After 1 or 2 attempts at barking, my dog was surprised with a little static shock and immediately stopped barking. We used the absolute lowest setting on the training setting and that was all that was needed for my 12 pound min pin. I am buying another one today for our second min pin, who barks at everything that moves when she is outside. We tried the one we have on her and she also decided that barking was not such a good idea after the 2nd static shock on the lowest training setting. They now know that when the collar goes on, they don't bark! I admit I was hesitant to try this on my little babies, but after trying it on myself, it wasn't bad at all. They were startled, but quickly learned to just not bark! You will never regret this purchase if you have small "yippy" dogs and cannot afford to keep paying the dog trainer to fail...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We can sleep again

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee WI
This product is awesome. Our dog used to bark many times throughout the night, waking us constantly. I have the setting at a 1, the lowest possible, and have it set to be constantly at one. We don't need it to increase each time she barks. She gets a very mild reminder not to bark and we get to sleep. I love the rechargeable batteries too. It's worth the slightly higher price for this feature alone. I also love that it doesn't work when other dogs bark, since we have three. It requires both sound and vibration. This is the best bark collar I have ever owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonderfully -with GREAT side effects!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, GA
I have a Terrier mix with dog aggression and a Lab mix. When either gets over excited (e.g. barking at dogs they see outside, spastically) they get in fights. I've tried correcting and treating them with limited success, but the minute I let up, they start again. I cannot be as perfectly immediate and consistent as I need to be when I have to catch them and/or break up a fight. Following another particularly serious fight where my corrections failed, we got one of these for each and put them on two weeks ago whenever we are home with them and awake (4-10 hours per day with breaks for walks and meals.) I do not leave them on unattended.
I tried it on, first, and barked (much to my husband's delight) and it does deliver quite an uncomfortable zap (like scuffing your feet on carpet and shocking yourself hard- really unpleasant! I threw it down in surprise!) But compared with the image of my dogs ripping each other to shreds, this is infinitely more humane. And I know their throats are not as sensitive as mine from the way they have torn at each other and born the resulting stitches. It's not damaging - I expected to see marks on my throat, but saw nothing - no lasting discomfort. It’s just really unpleasant at that particular second. It will definitely snap you out of what you are doing and make you stop!
I set the collars to the "learning" mode: The collar calculates the level at which your dog stops barking and starts there next time. My husband took the Terrier and I the Lab and I started ringing the doorbell. My Lab barked twice, yelped and jumped (understand: she yelps if you touch her by surprise), barked once more, yelped and put herself into her crate! She has not barked more than once since the first session! My former Lab as well as my sister’s used to bark just once as a warning, so I find that to be within normal parameters.
The Terrier, not unexpectedly, was more stubborn. She kept barking and yelping. We tried to help guide her by "shhhshing" her when the bell rang, and reinforced her eventual silence with a LOT of praise. It took her until about the third wearing of the collar to "get it." Now if she sees something or the bell rings, she quietly, calmly "whuffs" once or twice and the Lab barks ONCE. They both go to the front hallway and sit side by side, quietly. PERFECT!!!!!!! I must admit that I hated the idea of losing my "guard dogs" if these collars stopped the barking completely, but I haven't. They are simply calm and focused! I even boarded them last weekend and the attendant reported that they never barked more than once or twice (with no collars.) They can once again spend time lying on the bed in the sun and looking out the window watching birds and squirrels - their favorite pastime - without getting crazy when a dog walks past and getting into fights!
The Terrier also whines and howls when we leave. We are revisiting her crate training, and the collar has reduced the howling, but not 100%. Sport Dog writes all over their instructions "PLEASE CALL US FOR HELP! " and I'm going to.
The GREAT side effect I mentioned: These dogs also have thunder anxiety. I have tried corrections, food, play, crating, thunder shirts, and drugs with limited success. Only Ace Promazine, which makes them dopey and cranky for at least 12 hours and messes with their digestion, has had any huge and consistent effect. They normally pant, cry, shake, and when alone, the Terrier has chewed through drywall TWICE trying to get away and the Lab once panted herself into Bloat, resulting in surgery.
While training the first weekend, a storm came up. We gave calm tablets, which are very gentle and the calming effect subtle, and let them be. One crated herself and went to sleep. One sat in my chair with me and went to sleep - no crying, shaking or panting! Every storm since, we notice that they are concerned and seek cuddles, but not panicked! The collar, by virtue of just the pressure, seems to remind them to be calm!
One last thing I should add: When they dislike something (e.g. nail clipping), they have no problem expressing it. The Lab cowers and dawdles and the Terrier hides under a bed and even threatens to bite. When I call them to put on their "Autotunes," as I jokingly call them, they come wagging and smiling to receive them. They have NO problem with these collars!
This is a great product. I've told all my coworkers about it and posted it to Facebook. All our friends following the painful adventures of my dogs are as surprised as we are that these work SO well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bark Control Collar

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
works great, when on it stops barking completely! we are still working on when it's off, but the collar is amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved our sanity & our dog!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
Wow! I normally do not write reviews, but had to, in case someone was in a similar situation as us! My MinPin is 13 years old, and this collar has saved our family! Since my 1 year old was born, our little MinPin has had a hard time adjusting. We give her plenty of exercise and love, but after finding out that my son is allergic to dogs, we had to arrange our home in order to keep the dogs away from our son, and to be able to keep our pups. In this slight arrangement, our MinPin was not allowed to sleep in the bedroom with us. She felt anxiety at night-time mostly, and began barking at all hours of the night (either waking our son, or waking the neighbors at 2 am). After weeks of me sleeping on the couch and my entire family getting no sleep, one vet visit, another branded bark collar, extra exercise and love, medicine suggested by the vet....NOTHING worked! We were tired and angry at each other, and worse of all, our son was feeling the tension in our household. We came down to two options...1. Find a new home for our dog OR 2. Try another bark collar. Now the first bark collar we had was battery operated....if you are debating on buying one of these, DON'T BOTHER! The rechargable is the only way to go! Plus this bark collar has an easy-adjustable fit, and even fits our MinPin's small neck, unlike the other we had. The first night we used the collar...IT WORKED!!! She only barked once, and now all we have to do is just put it on her at night and she refuses to bark. I only wish I would have found this sooner! My MinPin has been barking for years during thunderstorms, and the other night...not a peep, when we had a storm! Thank you so much SportDog, for allowing us to keep our dog, and to save our family's sanity!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GREAT!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NEWPORT, MN
Works great, I only had to put it on once. My dog got a little zap, and if he is barking and we need him to stop all we do is put the collar on, and he does not bark. I've tried other ones and they didn't work. I have a lab/basset hound so he has thicker saggy skin. This collar actually worked. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oak harbor ohio
This collar has all but completely eliminated all nuisance barking within a matter of 3 days. If you are on the fence about getting a bark collar, Just do it. It's one of the best 100 dollars I've spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have a 5 year old rescue Australian Shepard mix. When we first got her she was so sweet. When she was 1 we adopted our 2nd dog. Within a couple months she became overly protective of our new puppy and us. She no longer liked new people or new dogs. We tried different options to reverse this behavior: positive reinforcement, professional training. Nothing worked. When we moved into a new apt - with a courtyard that echoed EVERYTHING - we thought we would get kicked out. We were always against shock collars but were desperate for a solution. Within a couple barks our dog stopped. She is still testing it. But so far so good. I haven't felt this comfortable with her since she was a puppy. She isn't aggressive towards other dogs or people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar simply works!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
This is the first review I have ever left for any product! We live in an apartment complex and just recentl adoped a 2 year old whippet. He is a wonderful dog but unfortunately he still has seperation anxiety and would bark about 20min a day when left in his crate in the morning after my wife and I go to work. Of course we recieved complaints right away. So I did my research and after reading all the great reviews we decided to gve this collar a try, even though I was really against using something like this to make a dog stop barking. But we ran out of choices. We put the collar on him yesterday for the first time and after 2min of trying to bark he followed it up wiht a couple of squealls and then stopped completely!! Today, he barked even less than 2 min. This product really works! Our hope is to keep doing this for a week or two and then hopefully remove the collar forever!! GET THIS PRODUCT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more barking!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mass
Hi there...this truly is the best bark collar ever. I own a 100 pound German Shepherd and he used to bark at everything and I mean everything.... this collar is amazing...so I hope this helps you in trying this collar. I dont usually write comments but I had to on this one. Thank you SportDOG!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheaper Online!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Smith, AR
I bought this product last night for my bassett hound mix but will end up returning it. She didnt have a problem barking persay she was just very aggressive towards my other three dogs. Once I got the collar home and read the booklet it stated DO NOT USE ON AGGRESSIVE DOGS. Therefore I will be returning it. I will say if you are purchasing anything from Petco purchase it on the website because the two collars I was looking at were way more expensive in the store than even the "regular" price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great collar

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Ga
I have a Border Collie/Australian mix that loves to bark at anything. It has been very frustrating and I previously tried the Petsafe collar which worked temporarily. I've had the SportDog collar for a week and so far so good. I first tried the temperament mode but quickly switched to progressive. She hasn't barked more than 3 times in a row before stopping. Hoping this will continue to work in the long run. If so, plan to purchase another one for my other dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!!!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oro Valley, Arizona
I have a miniature dachshunds that constantly barks. When I saw this product I was skeptical. But after using it the first time my dog barked twice and has not barked since. This collar really works. The rechargeable battery is a great feature. I bought a collar before this one that required lithium batteries and was changing them every week. This got very expensive. So the fact that the collar battery is rechargeable is a great savings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for us!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
Like a lot of other reviewers, we were really hesitant to try this. We tried so many other things -- training programs, positive reinforcement, etc -- to keep our dog from barking while we weren't home. However, after months of receiving complaints from our neighbors (we live in an apartment building), this was our last resort. Thank goodness, it worked! Our dog (a 12 lb shih tzu) very quickly figured out that barking wasn't the solution. We've never had to put it past level 1 (the second lowest level), and we often don't even have to turn it on anymore. She doesn't seem bothered by wearing it at all, and actually seems HAPPY to go into her crate now when we leave. We couldn't be happier with it, and are so glad that we tried it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly effective!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I have a MIn Pin who barks at EVERYTHING while walking through the city…the El, other dogs, people, mailboxes, road cones…this made walking a chore and an embarrassment. I constantly had to apologize for my pup's bad manners. I was desperate. So, I ordered the SportDog Bark Control collar from PetCo (super fast delivery btw).
I was worried about the fit because Min Pin's necks are so slender but, while the collar box is a little bulky I was able to get a good fit that was comfortable for my dog. We walked with a harness and the collar on. The dreaded El came by-my dog started to bark- he got 2 barks in and then something miraculous happened..he stopped! He just kind of shook his head like "what the..?" and then continued on his walk. Then, we came upon 2 dogs being walked. He started to pull and gave a little bark and then again he miraculously stopped and continued on his way.
We walked around for quite some time with the collar on throughout the city noises. No false corrections. The only way I could tell it was correcting him was because he would give a small bark and then stop abruptly. Occasionally he would shake his head after, but no yelping, no whimpering. It was just enough of a stimulus to get his attention to break him out of that mindset.
This is truly an incredible product and even though I was hesitant about its humaneness I was desperate for anything to help because obedience lessons just weren't cutting it. I just wanted to be able to take walks with my dog that were relaxed and enjoyable for both of us. I think it's more humane that since walks are no longer an issue we will be spending way more time getting exercise and enjoying the outdoors together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly effective

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
We adopted a female GSD, 2.5yo from GSD rescue in October and loved her but she kept us up at night whining. So we let her in the house at night but she wanted out every 2 hours and would bark to come back in. Then neighbors began complaining. by thanksgiving we were ready to return her when i learned about no-bark collars.. after reading 100's of reviews, i liked the reviews for Sportdog. and the automatic feature. The first night with the collar set on progressive mode we heard progressive, eeh, eh eh, eh eeh ehh,...ooouch! she quickly associated barking with a shock and stopped barking. i removed the collar the next day and by night she was whining again. After 3 nights with the collar she stopped barking and figured out "hey collar gone...bark!". so i put it on for an hour during the day. After 5 days I left collar off and she only barked at postman, cat and another dog. Now we can sleep soundly once again.. Thank you Sprotdog
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark collar is well made and sturdy

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Grimes, Iowa
Since we purchased this collar for our little Rat Terrier the buckle on the collar is cumbersome. Therefore we will modify it with Velcro and remove the buckle.
We have had 2 other collars which broke within a short period, this collar is well made and sturdy.
It works great in keeping our little guy quiet when necessary.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this collar

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Port Charlotte, FL
My neighbors hated or were terrified of me and I almost caused several car wrecks hopping around barking like a lunatic in the car when I saw other dogs or people. One week on the collar and people smile at me again and I am much calmer and don't get really worked up in the car anymore. After a few weeks, I don't need the collar most of the time, just wearing it on the leash and in the car now. I even take a dip in the pool wearing the collar. Nice to see a smile on mom's face again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Peoria, AZ
I don't know why I waited this long to use this no-bark collar. It is wonderful and was recommended by my sister-in-law who has two labs. My lab is 7 years old and has been driving us crazy with excessive barking. The first time I used it was on halloween and it worked instantly. Now she has figured out that when she is wearing it, she will bark 1 time and then quit. I love the staggered stimulation, so basically they get reminded without being in discomfort. This is a great product and is totally humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love it !!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Since putting the SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar on our dogs (German Shepherd, Dobermann), they immediately stopped barking.
I wished we would have known about this product much earlier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>