petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

Automatically stops barking while PerfectBark technology eliminates false corrections10 levels of correction with three correction modes to fit your dog's temperamentAnti bark collar is waterproof and submersible up to 25ft.Bark collar includes a long-life rechargeable battery with a low-battery indicator light
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
89 out of 95(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GREAT!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
S2G2L
from NEWPORT, MN
Works great, I only had to put it on once. My dog got a little zap, and if he is barking and we need him to stop all we do is put the collar on, and he does not bark. I've tried other ones and they didn't work. I have a lab/basset hound so he has thicker saggy skin. This collar actually worked. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
shibainu4
from oak harbor ohio
This collar has all but completely eliminated all nuisance barking within a matter of 3 days. If you are on the fence about getting a bark collar, Just do it. It's one of the best 100 dollars I've spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rbarker
I have a 5 year old rescue Australian Shepard mix. When we first got her she was so sweet. When she was 1 we adopted our 2nd dog. Within a couple months she became overly protective of our new puppy and us. She no longer liked new people or new dogs. We tried different options to reverse this behavior: positive reinforcement, professional training. Nothing worked. When we moved into a new apt - with a courtyard that echoed EVERYTHING - we thought we would get kicked out. We were always against shock collars but were desperate for a solution. Within a couple barks our dog stopped. She is still testing it. But so far so good. I haven't felt this comfortable with her since she was a puppy. She isn't aggressive towards other dogs or people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar simply works!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
VitesseLB
from Long Beach, CA
This is the first review I have ever left for any product! We live in an apartment complex and just recentl adoped a 2 year old whippet. He is a wonderful dog but unfortunately he still has seperation anxiety and would bark about 20min a day when left in his crate in the morning after my wife and I go to work. Of course we recieved complaints right away. So I did my research and after reading all the great reviews we decided to gve this collar a try, even though I was really against using something like this to make a dog stop barking. But we ran out of choices. We put the collar on him yesterday for the first time and after 2min of trying to bark he followed it up wiht a couple of squealls and then stopped completely!! Today, he barked even less than 2 min. This product really works! Our hope is to keep doing this for a week or two and then hopefully remove the collar forever!! GET THIS PRODUCT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more barking!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sharon7070
from Mass
Hi there...this truly is the best bark collar ever. I own a 100 pound German Shepherd and he used to bark at everything and I mean everything.... this collar is amazing...so I hope this helps you in trying this collar. I dont usually write comments but I had to on this one. Thank you SportDOG!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheaper Online!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
LacieDanae05
from Fort Smith, AR
I bought this product last night for my bassett hound mix but will end up returning it. She didnt have a problem barking persay she was just very aggressive towards my other three dogs. Once I got the collar home and read the booklet it stated DO NOT USE ON AGGRESSIVE DOGS. Therefore I will be returning it. I will say if you are purchasing anything from Petco purchase it on the website because the two collars I was looking at were way more expensive in the store than even the "regular" price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great collar

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnnieWalt
from Dallas, Ga
I have a Border Collie/Australian mix that loves to bark at anything. It has been very frustrating and I previously tried the Petsafe collar which worked temporarily. I've had the SportDog collar for a week and so far so good. I first tried the temperament mode but quickly switched to progressive. She hasn't barked more than 3 times in a row before stopping. Hoping this will continue to work in the long run. If so, plan to purchase another one for my other dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!!!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maybis
from Oro Valley, Arizona
I have a miniature dachshunds that constantly barks. When I saw this product I was skeptical. But after using it the first time my dog barked twice and has not barked since. This collar really works. The rechargeable battery is a great feature. I bought a collar before this one that required lithium batteries and was changing them every week. This got very expensive. So the fact that the collar battery is rechargeable is a great savings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for us!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MacKenzie2385
from New York
Like a lot of other reviewers, we were really hesitant to try this. We tried so many other things -- training programs, positive reinforcement, etc -- to keep our dog from barking while we weren't home. However, after months of receiving complaints from our neighbors (we live in an apartment building), this was our last resort. Thank goodness, it worked! Our dog (a 12 lb shih tzu) very quickly figured out that barking wasn't the solution. We've never had to put it past level 1 (the second lowest level), and we often don't even have to turn it on anymore. She doesn't seem bothered by wearing it at all, and actually seems HAPPY to go into her crate now when we leave. We couldn't be happier with it, and are so glad that we tried it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly effective!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChiTownVK
from Chicago, IL
I have a MIn Pin who barks at EVERYTHING while walking through the city…the El, other dogs, people, mailboxes, road cones…this made walking a chore and an embarrassment. I constantly had to apologize for my pup's bad manners. I was desperate. So, I ordered the SportDog Bark Control collar from PetCo (super fast delivery btw).
I was worried about the fit because Min Pin's necks are so slender but, while the collar box is a little bulky I was able to get a good fit that was comfortable for my dog. We walked with a harness and the collar on. The dreaded El came by-my dog started to bark- he got 2 barks in and then something miraculous happened..he stopped! He just kind of shook his head like "what the..?" and then continued on his walk. Then, we came upon 2 dogs being walked. He started to pull and gave a little bark and then again he miraculously stopped and continued on his way.
We walked around for quite some time with the collar on throughout the city noises. No false corrections. The only way I could tell it was correcting him was because he would give a small bark and then stop abruptly. Occasionally he would shake his head after, but no yelping, no whimpering. It was just enough of a stimulus to get his attention to break him out of that mindset.
This is truly an incredible product and even though I was hesitant about its humaneness I was desperate for anything to help because obedience lessons just weren't cutting it. I just wanted to be able to take walks with my dog that were relaxed and enjoyable for both of us. I think it's more humane that since walks are no longer an issue we will be spending way more time getting exercise and enjoying the outdoors together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly effective

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hobie1
from Dallas, TX
We adopted a female GSD, 2.5yo from GSD rescue in October and loved her but she kept us up at night whining. So we let her in the house at night but she wanted out every 2 hours and would bark to come back in. Then neighbors began complaining. by thanksgiving we were ready to return her when i learned about no-bark collars.. after reading 100's of reviews, i liked the reviews for Sportdog. and the automatic feature. The first night with the collar set on progressive mode we heard progressive, eeh, eh eh, eh eeh ehh,...ooouch! she quickly associated barking with a shock and stopped barking. i removed the collar the next day and by night she was whining again. After 3 nights with the collar she stopped barking and figured out "hey collar gone...bark!". so i put it on for an hour during the day. After 5 days I left collar off and she only barked at postman, cat and another dog. Now we can sleep soundly once again.. Thank you Sprotdog
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark collar is well made and sturdy

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrimesGrump
from Grimes, Iowa
Since we purchased this collar for our little Rat Terrier the buckle on the collar is cumbersome. Therefore we will modify it with Velcro and remove the buckle.
We have had 2 other collars which broke within a short period, this collar is well made and sturdy.
It works great in keeping our little guy quiet when necessary.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this collar

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
SweetJakeLabrador
from Port Charlotte, FL
My neighbors hated or were terrified of me and I almost caused several car wrecks hopping around barking like a lunatic in the car when I saw other dogs or people. One week on the collar and people smile at me again and I am much calmer and don't get really worked up in the car anymore. After a few weeks, I don't need the collar most of the time, just wearing it on the leash and in the car now. I even take a dip in the pool wearing the collar. Nice to see a smile on mom's face again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
KKMS
from Peoria, AZ
I don't know why I waited this long to use this no-bark collar. It is wonderful and was recommended by my sister-in-law who has two labs. My lab is 7 years old and has been driving us crazy with excessive barking. The first time I used it was on halloween and it worked instantly. Now she has figured out that when she is wearing it, she will bark 1 time and then quit. I love the staggered stimulation, so basically they get reminded without being in discomfort. This is a great product and is totally humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love it !!!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
speziesandra
Since putting the SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar on our dogs (German Shepherd, Dobermann), they immediately stopped barking.
I wished we would have known about this product much earlier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
nstevens88
from Bowling Green, KY
The first time my 9 month old puppy had on this collar, she barked 5 times and that was it. Literally, the next morning, she did not bark once and has not barked once since then - while she has the collar on. In fact, one day, I forgot to turn it on and she still didnt bark! lol. I recommend this for anyone who lives in an apartment and is worried about your pooch causing the neighbors a headache. I say thank you for this and I am sure my neighbors would say the same thing too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Less Barking

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BetsyInMichigan
from Michigan
My little ten pound doxie's favorite past time is barking. However, my greatest irritation with her is her barking. I had looked into bark control collars prior to this but most of them had poor reviews. After reading the positive reviews for the Sport Dog Rechargeable Collar, I had to give it a try. She has had it one week and the barking has been greatly reduced. It works great for the most part but isn't fool proof. If the collar isn't positioned correctly, then it doesn't work. For instance, if she's laying down, the collar becomes skewed. Then, when she jumps off the couch in a barking frenzy because she sees a rabbit in the yard, it might take quite a few barks before the collar rights itself. Also, I think she has it figured out that she can bark if she isn't wearing the collar. I hope that doesn't mean she is going to have to wear the collar the rest of her life. We'll see how it goes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMy10Pets
from Maplewood, MN
I have an 11 month old Pit bull who loves to bark non stop. This is the only thing that I have found to work. I have tried everything. I have tried the stop barking egg, the citronella collar and several other shock collars like this one. This one is the only one that seems to work. The only down fall with this collar as with any other shock collar is if you have to use it every day, the dog can develop sore spots on their neck from the probes. I keep a close eye on my pooches neck and make sure to give him a break from the collar each day. I also do not put it on him overnight unless he hasn't had it on during the day at all. This product is a relief to myself and the rest of my household. Thank you SportDOG.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Collar works great!

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DAW5
from Bellflower, Calif
My 8 1/2 yr old Boxer/Shepherd mix would bark at anything in the backyard, birds, other dogs, and try to instigate conversations with neighbors dogs. I only saw it like that when I was home. But for the last couple of years, I had the Animal Control officers make visits to my house and leave warning notes of fines if I couldn't quiet my dog down, Evidently, while I was working graveyard shift and on vacations he barkes incessantly. I bought the collar and had it on him only 2 days during the daytime (except playtime). After barking only 3 times he stopped.. What he would do then is lay in the shade, seemed afraid to go into the yard at all. I couldn't get him out to play ball with his sister and I. He also wouldn't bark if someone came to the door. I decided to try and leave the collar off for awhile and see if this took care of business. It took 2 days, but his playful self came back during play, and when someone came to the door, he only barked a couple times (his sister has seemed to take the lead now, but not unnecessarily) So far I'm happy with the product but am a bit concerned that If I use it too much, his protective instinct of barking when he should would be taken away. I'm trying to find THAT happy medium as I'm an older woman living alone. I haven't been able to test him when I'm away for awhile yet, but have a vacation coming up soon and will see.
By the way, I had previously tried the collar with the lemon spray and the little yard orniment that emits a sound when the dog barks, and neither worked AT ALL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommend It

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdsmlbna
from South Tulsa
Way cheaper than buying it at the store. Works WELL with out a hitch. I have used it on both dogs. Very successfully.
Buy this. It works
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>