petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar

Automatically stops barking while PerfectBark technology eliminates false corrections10 levels of correction with three correction modes to fit your dog's temperamentAnti bark collar is waterproof and submersible up to 25ft.Bark collar includes a long-life rechargeable battery with a low-battery indicator light
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
101 out of 108(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product does not work

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Berkshire
Does not work. Dog ignores it and it does not hold a charge.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
Have only been using the SportDOG bark collar for a little over a week, and it is amazing what it has done. We have a 34 lb , 3 year old boston terrier. Big and muscular for a boston terrier. He has been a barker his whole short life, and he is loud. Barks at shadows, people, everything. None of us could take it anymore, so I did some research and bought this bark collar. We have it on the personal setting that we can set it to, and we have it at 0 and when he barks he feels it. At first we were afraid we were hurting him, as he would go cower in the corner, we hated that reaction. But it has gotten better. Also, when my kids' friends have come over, he would jump on them and bite at their hands (playfully), but now he is so much calmer and that has diminished quite a bit. Don't know about durability yet, but so far, we are very pleased with the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Madera, CA
My dog was a real pain when someone came to the door, jogged by the house or a delivery truck drove in the driveway. She hated my contractor who came into the house frequently. We couldn't carry on a conversation because of her loud, annoying barking. I tried one of the collars that emitted a high pitch sound. It worked once and that was it...........back to barking. I didn't want to hurt her but there were so many good comments about this collar I decided to try it. One day was all it took. I believe it did frighten her and she stayed by my side all day. When the collar is not on she will bark again but as soon as we put it back on, no more barking. She is smart enough to realize the collar is going to cause discomfort if she does bark.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peaceful home in 20 minutes

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Saint Johns, FL
I am stunned by how effective this collar did the job in only 20 minutes. I have a howl-free/bark-free home and I love it. My dogs behavior has dramatically changed. He seems more mature and able to makes better choices since placing the collar on him, however, he has realized that he can still maintain a low hum to get my attention that does not activate the collar. Much better than the screeching, high-pitched yelping used everytime he felt I wasn't present in my home. The collar is an attention grabber and not inhumane. I love it and am completely satisfied. Thanks to all for the wonderful reviews leading me to purchase this product and I hope this reviews helps some make their decision as well.
Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Narberth, PA
When the collar is on our dog no longer barks! We tried other ones, and this is the only one that worked!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SportDOG bark control collar

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nutrioso, Arizona
Superb. Did the job in three days without any complications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product.

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rural New Mexico
This product works right out of the box. No more incessant barking at the door to come in! My world is quiet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace and Quiet

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, OH
My 7 month old Great Pyr had become insanely protective of his yard and home, barking loudly to protect it from everything including (but not limited to) people, other dogs, cats, leaves, and rain. I had tried a different collar when he was younger to no effect but after a chat with my neighbor whose pit proudly sports the collar, I decided to invest in it. The first day he started to bark once again, three barks in he stopped and looked at me then became quiet. Two weeks later with him wearing the collar only when he went outside, he's a completely different dog. There are some times when I put his regular cloth collar on and he is still silent as a mouse! He still guard barks once or twice at people who approach the front door, but now it only takes a shush to silence him. The best thing about this collar is that I've never had to trim his thick fur to get it to fit correctly, which was an issue with the previous collar. Best product I've ever bought!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life changing

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
After trying another bark collar that failed, I purchased this collar on advice of a coworker. WOW! After 1 or 2 attempts at barking, my dog was surprised with a little static shock and immediately stopped barking. We used the absolute lowest setting on the training setting and that was all that was needed for my 12 pound min pin. I am buying another one today for our second min pin, who barks at everything that moves when she is outside. We tried the one we have on her and she also decided that barking was not such a good idea after the 2nd static shock on the lowest training setting. They now know that when the collar goes on, they don't bark! I admit I was hesitant to try this on my little babies, but after trying it on myself, it wasn't bad at all. They were startled, but quickly learned to just not bark! You will never regret this purchase if you have small "yippy" dogs and cannot afford to keep paying the dog trainer to fail...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We can sleep again

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee WI
This product is awesome. Our dog used to bark many times throughout the night, waking us constantly. I have the setting at a 1, the lowest possible, and have it set to be constantly at one. We don't need it to increase each time she barks. She gets a very mild reminder not to bark and we get to sleep. I love the rechargeable batteries too. It's worth the slightly higher price for this feature alone. I also love that it doesn't work when other dogs bark, since we have three. It requires both sound and vibration. This is the best bark collar I have ever owned.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonderfully -with GREAT side effects!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, GA
I have a Terrier mix with dog aggression and a Lab mix. When either gets over excited (e.g. barking at dogs they see outside, spastically) they get in fights. I've tried correcting and treating them with limited success, but the minute I let up, they start again. I cannot be as perfectly immediate and consistent as I need to be when I have to catch them and/or break up a fight. Following another particularly serious fight where my corrections failed, we got one of these for each and put them on two weeks ago whenever we are home with them and awake (4-10 hours per day with breaks for walks and meals.) I do not leave them on unattended.
I tried it on, first, and barked (much to my husband's delight) and it does deliver quite an uncomfortable zap (like scuffing your feet on carpet and shocking yourself hard- really unpleasant! I threw it down in surprise!) But compared with the image of my dogs ripping each other to shreds, this is infinitely more humane. And I know their throats are not as sensitive as mine from the way they have torn at each other and born the resulting stitches. It's not damaging - I expected to see marks on my throat, but saw nothing - no lasting discomfort. It’s just really unpleasant at that particular second. It will definitely snap you out of what you are doing and make you stop!
I set the collars to the "learning" mode: The collar calculates the level at which your dog stops barking and starts there next time. My husband took the Terrier and I the Lab and I started ringing the doorbell. My Lab barked twice, yelped and jumped (understand: she yelps if you touch her by surprise), barked once more, yelped and put herself into her crate! She has not barked more than once since the first session! My former Lab as well as my sister’s used to bark just once as a warning, so I find that to be within normal parameters.
The Terrier, not unexpectedly, was more stubborn. She kept barking and yelping. We tried to help guide her by "shhhshing" her when the bell rang, and reinforced her eventual silence with a LOT of praise. It took her until about the third wearing of the collar to "get it." Now if she sees something or the bell rings, she quietly, calmly "whuffs" once or twice and the Lab barks ONCE. They both go to the front hallway and sit side by side, quietly. PERFECT!!!!!!! I must admit that I hated the idea of losing my "guard dogs" if these collars stopped the barking completely, but I haven't. They are simply calm and focused! I even boarded them last weekend and the attendant reported that they never barked more than once or twice (with no collars.) They can once again spend time lying on the bed in the sun and looking out the window watching birds and squirrels - their favorite pastime - without getting crazy when a dog walks past and getting into fights!
The Terrier also whines and howls when we leave. We are revisiting her crate training, and the collar has reduced the howling, but not 100%. Sport Dog writes all over their instructions "PLEASE CALL US FOR HELP! " and I'm going to.
The GREAT side effect I mentioned: These dogs also have thunder anxiety. I have tried corrections, food, play, crating, thunder shirts, and drugs with limited success. Only Ace Promazine, which makes them dopey and cranky for at least 12 hours and messes with their digestion, has had any huge and consistent effect. They normally pant, cry, shake, and when alone, the Terrier has chewed through drywall TWICE trying to get away and the Lab once panted herself into Bloat, resulting in surgery.
While training the first weekend, a storm came up. We gave calm tablets, which are very gentle and the calming effect subtle, and let them be. One crated herself and went to sleep. One sat in my chair with me and went to sleep - no crying, shaking or panting! Every storm since, we notice that they are concerned and seek cuddles, but not panicked! The collar, by virtue of just the pressure, seems to remind them to be calm!
One last thing I should add: When they dislike something (e.g. nail clipping), they have no problem expressing it. The Lab cowers and dawdles and the Terrier hides under a bed and even threatens to bite. When I call them to put on their "Autotunes," as I jokingly call them, they come wagging and smiling to receive them. They have NO problem with these collars!
This is a great product. I've told all my coworkers about it and posted it to Facebook. All our friends following the painful adventures of my dogs are as surprised as we are that these work SO well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bark Control Collar

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
works great, when on it stops barking completely! we are still working on when it's off, but the collar is amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved our sanity & our dog!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
Wow! I normally do not write reviews, but had to, in case someone was in a similar situation as us! My MinPin is 13 years old, and this collar has saved our family! Since my 1 year old was born, our little MinPin has had a hard time adjusting. We give her plenty of exercise and love, but after finding out that my son is allergic to dogs, we had to arrange our home in order to keep the dogs away from our son, and to be able to keep our pups. In this slight arrangement, our MinPin was not allowed to sleep in the bedroom with us. She felt anxiety at night-time mostly, and began barking at all hours of the night (either waking our son, or waking the neighbors at 2 am). After weeks of me sleeping on the couch and my entire family getting no sleep, one vet visit, another branded bark collar, extra exercise and love, medicine suggested by the vet....NOTHING worked! We were tired and angry at each other, and worse of all, our son was feeling the tension in our household. We came down to two options...1. Find a new home for our dog OR 2. Try another bark collar. Now the first bark collar we had was battery operated....if you are debating on buying one of these, DON'T BOTHER! The rechargable is the only way to go! Plus this bark collar has an easy-adjustable fit, and even fits our MinPin's small neck, unlike the other we had. The first night we used the collar...IT WORKED!!! She only barked once, and now all we have to do is just put it on her at night and she refuses to bark. I only wish I would have found this sooner! My MinPin has been barking for years during thunderstorms, and the other night...not a peep, when we had a storm! Thank you so much SportDog, for allowing us to keep our dog, and to save our family's sanity!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GREAT!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NEWPORT, MN
Works great, I only had to put it on once. My dog got a little zap, and if he is barking and we need him to stop all we do is put the collar on, and he does not bark. I've tried other ones and they didn't work. I have a lab/basset hound so he has thicker saggy skin. This collar actually worked. Would definitely recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oak harbor ohio
This collar has all but completely eliminated all nuisance barking within a matter of 3 days. If you are on the fence about getting a bark collar, Just do it. It's one of the best 100 dollars I've spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have a 5 year old rescue Australian Shepard mix. When we first got her she was so sweet. When she was 1 we adopted our 2nd dog. Within a couple months she became overly protective of our new puppy and us. She no longer liked new people or new dogs. We tried different options to reverse this behavior: positive reinforcement, professional training. Nothing worked. When we moved into a new apt - with a courtyard that echoed EVERYTHING - we thought we would get kicked out. We were always against shock collars but were desperate for a solution. Within a couple barks our dog stopped. She is still testing it. But so far so good. I haven't felt this comfortable with her since she was a puppy. She isn't aggressive towards other dogs or people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar simply works!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
This is the first review I have ever left for any product! We live in an apartment complex and just recentl adoped a 2 year old whippet. He is a wonderful dog but unfortunately he still has seperation anxiety and would bark about 20min a day when left in his crate in the morning after my wife and I go to work. Of course we recieved complaints right away. So I did my research and after reading all the great reviews we decided to gve this collar a try, even though I was really against using something like this to make a dog stop barking. But we ran out of choices. We put the collar on him yesterday for the first time and after 2min of trying to bark he followed it up wiht a couple of squealls and then stopped completely!! Today, he barked even less than 2 min. This product really works! Our hope is to keep doing this for a week or two and then hopefully remove the collar forever!! GET THIS PRODUCT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more barking!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mass
Hi there...this truly is the best bark collar ever. I own a 100 pound German Shepherd and he used to bark at everything and I mean everything.... this collar is amazing...so I hope this helps you in trying this collar. I dont usually write comments but I had to on this one. Thank you SportDOG!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheaper Online!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Smith, AR
I bought this product last night for my bassett hound mix but will end up returning it. She didnt have a problem barking persay she was just very aggressive towards my other three dogs. Once I got the collar home and read the booklet it stated DO NOT USE ON AGGRESSIVE DOGS. Therefore I will be returning it. I will say if you are purchasing anything from Petco purchase it on the website because the two collars I was looking at were way more expensive in the store than even the "regular" price online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SportDOG Rechargeable Bark Control Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great collar

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Ga
I have a Border Collie/Australian mix that loves to bark at anything. It has been very frustrating and I previously tried the Petsafe collar which worked temporarily. I've had the SportDog collar for a week and so far so good. I first tried the temperament mode but quickly switched to progressive. She hasn't barked more than 3 times in a row before stopping. Hoping this will continue to work in the long run. If so, plan to purchase another one for my other dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>