petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Cat Climber

SmartCat Cat Climber

Rigid construction for years of useCat Climbing Trees with easy assembly and disassemblyActivity Cat Tree Furniture provides hours of entertainmentSpace saving
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Cat Climber
Review 1 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smart Cat climber

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alpine, Ca
This Smart Cat Climber might be ideal for kittens or very small cats. My cats weigh 12-15 pounds and the space to maneuver was tight. The smell of formaldehyde was overpowering coming from the climber as well. It was difficult to assemble as it took TWO adults holding parts of it while ANOTHER adult screwed the climber together. One cat finally climbed to the top and jumped onto the top of a closet but the other two strayed away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Turns out they really like it!

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hi
I originally reviewed this product a while back and gave it some bad remarks, but turns out I was wrong. When I first put it up on the door, my kitties tried jumping up on it but immediately jumped off in fear because it shook too much. However, after a while, they got used to the shaking and they now rip up and down that thing like crazy! It's actually also turned into one of my kitty's favorite napping spots. Get it (especially if you have limited space), it's good :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the right door

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Asheville, NC
Easy to put together and install. The hardest part was finding the right door to put it on - best if you can find a door that would not be opened a lot AND be in a location that was fun for my cats. This is sturdy as it can stand up to my two Maine Coons - large cats - they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from COPPELL,TX
This is very hard to put together, my step-dad had to do it for me. We also drilled a screw into the middle to keep it from moving around. My cats love it! They are on it all the time!! Lucy is about 7 lbs and Lorali is about 8, both girls can get on it at the same time with no issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SmartCat Cat Climber

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Lansing, MI
The product seems well constructed and does provide opportunity to climb. My only problem is that my cats ignored this for some reason, possibly because it is not in a common area and thus no opportunity to watch action.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not happy

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wild Rose, Wi.
I have tried to introduce my cats to the climber, but they have not gone on it on their own. I have other climbers & they use them all the time, but not this one. I'll probably end up giving it away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from IL
this is a well made, easy to assemble, easy to install item. it just wasn't big enough for my cats. My cats are rather large so I think it would serve the purpose well for a person with smaller cats. I wish it had worked for me because overall I was happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Cat's Meow

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Homeworth, OH
My Son assembled this for Ralphie on Mother's Day, and as you can see, he enjoys it tremendously!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smartcat cat climber

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
from houston tx
i just put mine togather and i love it.1It is a space saver hooks on door like a shoe bag . can be moved easy to another door if needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Concept, Inadequate Design

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
You'll definately need two sets of hands to put this together. Because the verticle piece in the center is actually five short pieces, the climber will bow out from the door when your cat sits on a perch in the middle if the bolts are not extremely tight. I found it impossible to get them tight enough, and I am going to have to fasten the middle of the climber to the door to made it steady.
Consider the size of your cat when buying this too. I have a big Maine Coon - 24 inches from his nose to the base of his tail - and it's a tight squeeze for him to turn around on the perches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun for cats

PostedSeptember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Oshkosh, WI
My two cats love to jump and play on the shelves and will sit for hours on top shelf to watch what is going on around them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Cat Climber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more cat tree...

PostedSeptember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
from houston, tx
This item has given me my living room back. My husband and I have just rearranged the whole room with the extra space that our old cat tree took up. With five cats i was sure one of them wouldn't use it but they actually all are having fun on it. Very smart design and it was very easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.