petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters

Marineland C Series External Canister Filters

Complete three stage filtration; mechanical, chemical and biologicalHigh-performance-- virtually no bypassUL listed for safetyPerfect for all freshwater or marine aquariumsIncludes all media inside: filter floss pad, filter foam, carbon filter bag and BIO-filter ballsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
13
34 out of 53(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Review 1 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stay away

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
fairlady
from New Orleans.Louisiana
After using this filter I am greatly disapointed, The water has never been clear and all smells are not removed.This just is not worth the trouble
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFOtter1
from San Francisco, CA
I purchased the C-160 to run a Hydor inline heater on my tank while I kept my Fluval. I didn't use the sponges or any other material. Instead I replaced everything with BioMax Solid Balls and it is now the biological filter for the tank while my Fluval is the mechanical/chemical filter. It runs silently, has good power, and I should only have to clean it about 2 times a year to remove sediment. Over all a good filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
copterman
from illinois
I purchased this type for my tank along with another filter for a 125 gal reef ready tank. This is by far the easiest one to work with
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Canister Filter

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
BluenapG
from Brooklyn, New York
I got this working within minutes of unpacking it. It is wisper quiet and is keeping my 55 gallon tank sparkling clean!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tricks

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
loveallmypets
I was ready to get rid of mine after having for almost a year now. It cleans the tank great, it was trying to start backup after cleaning. I thought my thumb was going to break off trying to pump the starter button. BUT my fish guy said fill it back up with clean water before you hook back up...duh. That was it...just make sure your canister is filled back up with water and tank is filled and when you plug back in it recycles by it self almost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LIKEY THE 360

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
JACKSON50
from VERNON, CT
I PURCHASED MY 360 CANISTER A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO, AND HAVE HAD GREAT SUCCESS WITH MINE. NEVER HAD A LEAK, NEVER HAD A PRIME PROBLEM. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM PRIMING YOUR CANISTER, PLEASE CHECK YOUR TUBING IN THE BACK, IT MAY BE EITHER TO LONG, OR HAVE AN AWKWARD ANGLE. I HOPE I DON'T INQUIRE AN ISSUE ON MY NEXT PURCHASE, DUE TO IM MOVING UP IN CANISTER SIZE, BUT IF I DID, I ASSUME THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE WILL ACT ACCORDINGLY.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Outstanding When It Works!

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tyrone, GA
I purchased a C-220 nearly a year ago. Right out of the box it was noisy, but it kept the water very clean and clear. Then, I encountered one leak after another. The impeller would rattle, require service, and eventually fell apart. The valve block leaked water onto the floor and into the basement. Water pressure is inconsistent at times. Marineland's great customer service people sent a new impeller and valve block within four days. I installed them and the unit was quieter than when brand new. Great water pressure, too. However, it has leaked from the latches twice within a week. Marineland is shipping a new motor head. I hope that this fixes my problems. Local stores don't stock the filter media for the C Series units. Buyer beware!!!!! Keep the O-rings lubricated to form a more waterproof seal if you decide to buy one of these.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good filter!

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
avmjtm
from Georgia
I would highly recommend this filter to anyone. We have two and we are in love with them!!! They work great and keep the water crystal clear. Matinence is easy as is getting it started and together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trouble from day 1

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
watersignguy
from Los Angeles
At installation, the primer would not work to suck water into the filter. It took me several hours of pumping and shaking the unit. Finally, I filled the canister and tubing with water manually to get the filter to start working. After 30 days, I cleaned the filter, and now I am faced with not only a primer that will not work, but an impeller that rattles and then quit working altogether. Marineland says it will take a week to 10 days to send a new impeller. I hope I still have live fish by that time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FILTER!

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
fishlover101
I received my order promptly and the filter was very easy to set up. I installed my C220 and let the old filter stay in place for one week, before removing the old filter. My aquarium is 40 gallons and it took about three days before my aquarium was crystal clear. Has stayed that way for over a week now. The rattling sound identified by another reviewer is probably the ceramic pieces that act as filter just below the floss filter. I have the same noise. Can barely hear it though. Rest of filter and pump very quiet. Old filter kept my wife awake at night. Should have bought this first thing and not the cheap hang on filters. Very Happy with this Marineland product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good filter...watch for leaks

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
thepede
great canister filter...plenty of tray/filtering options. I have the c360. After 10 months it began leaking. The problem is NOT THE "O" RING. The problem is the valve lock allows water to leak into the motorhead and this builds up and leaks out the sides...IT ONLY APPEARS TO LEAK OUT THE HANDLES. Upon tearing the canister motor head apart and figuring this out I called the company to tell them the problem. Without hesitation, they sent me a new valve lock (which have been retooled because of the problem) as well as a new motorhead. NOW, how's that for service?!! I'm still watchful for a new leak as I am now gun shy. This is a quiet running filter, keeps water clear, and if you prime it correctly, does not produce noise from the impeller or microbubbles like some have experienced. In reading about other filters, it seams they ALL have a leaking problem of sorts. I would give Marineland continued business because of the customer service...and with the economy the way it is, isn't that what it's all about.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Issues out of the box, but good customer service.

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
USACanuck
When I first set up and started running my C-220 it made a rattling sound that wouldn't go away. After a few days I emailed Marineland about the problem. They concluded that the impeller is probably bad and sent me a new impeller assembly. It was one of the least painful customer experiences I've ever had. The filter is running great now and it keeps the water crystal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nifty, but Slight Impeller Noise

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terrainorg
I have the C220 filter for my 50-gallon freshwater tank. I just set it up, and since setup the impeller (or something around there) has been making a not-very-loud but still annoying rattling noise, as if a piece of gravel is stuck in it. I've removed, checked, and cleaned it twice, plus checked the canister itself, but the noise continues. Probably only noticeable by me since I set it up. Otherwise, the filter is exceptionally quiet. It was also easy to set up, though I'd like better instructions for cleaning it, which I had to guess at. My recommendation is lukewarm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice filter--so far

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
caricell
So far this unit is dead quiet. Was farily easy to install and seems to be doing a good job on my 55 gal. A bit on the heavy side...but it seems built well. Hopefully no leaks after 6 months...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
fishrule48
This canister works great! It is so quiet, and is very easy to clean.Also, the latch system and the valve systems work excellent. Petco also had an amazing price, and with free shipping, this deal couldn't be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8-12 inch koi in a 65 gallon

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
JohnK01000
from Colorado Springs
I recently had to do a major rebuild on my koi pond and put 8 12 inch koi in a 65 gallon aquarium. My regular filter was overwhelmed by the fish load. I purchased the C-360 and got it up and running in no time at all. NO problems whatsoever. In 3 days the water in the 65 gallon tank tested great and was crystal clear. The C series filters will be the ONLY filters I will buy in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
MovieFlix
Nice and easy and does a good job with my 70 gallon tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Filter all they said it would be

PostedDecember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
cpa35
from Burlington County, N.J.
Easy set up ,runs quite,water is crystal clear,finally a filter that performs as advertised.Interesting to see if it continues for an extended period of time.Thiugh at present i am very satisfied.Any one one with doubts about purchasing this filerlet me say it really works
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
TheMan777
I recently purchased Marineland C Series External Canister Filters and have never been happier with a filtration system for my 55 gallon tank. The canister is extremely quiet with very little to no noise. I followed the set up directions and have no leaks and my tank water is crystal clear. The one and only issue I have come across so far is that it takes several pumps (10-20) of the primer button to begin filteration. For a lower priced canister I would recommend this to anyone I know and trust me its worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland C Series External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You have been warned.

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bostonmudskipper
I have 5 fish tanks ranging from 10 to 55 gallons. I bought the C-160 for my 30 gallon half full brackish tank and the C-360 for my 55 gallon loach tank.
These canisters do a very good job at cleaning and keeping the water clean. My fish are very messy, and I only have to clean out these filters every 3 months.
However, they are NOT reliable!! Both often make snorting bubble sounds, water pressure would stop for a second... then work like normal again. They are silent, otherwise. The C-360 leaked 2 months after I got it and dumped a third of my 55 gallon on the floor. I live on the 3rd floor. It's a good thing I caught it in time. I contacted their customer service and got a new one in the mail. It's now sitting in a big
bucket, which I check every now and then in case it leaks again. This leak is not unique to me, by the way. Search for it online. Oh, the new one still snorts now and then with bubbly sounds.
The smaller one stopped working after 1.5 years for no reason. The motor still works, but something is broken inside.. and it won't suck the water.
The media and different baskets are very easy to clean. I reuse after I wash. Too bad, these are not reliable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>