petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

Pet Patio Door Features a heavy-duty aluminum frameSliding door weatherstrip and weather sealPatio Dog Door features tempered safety glassEnergy conserving Ultraseal replaceable transparent flapEasy to install, insert into the frame of your sliding glass door and it automatically adjusts to the proper height
Average Customer Rating:
4.311 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
68 out of 74(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves it's purpose well.

PostedMay 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Andy and Angel's Pet Human
from Falls Church, VA
This is the best solution that I found for adding a pet door to a Pella slider. Overall very happy with the product and installation. Large-tall works well for our English Foxhounds. It has even stood up to the larger of the dogs (80 lbs) banging into it as he learns. He's also not that graceful. Sigh.
Some thoughts about installation, based on my experience:
1) I needed to make two extra trips to Home Depot, once for L-brackets and screws necessary to install to the frame, and a second time to acquire longer bolts for the latch mechanism, reinforcing plates because the latch mechanism winds up in a really weak part of the door, and a second bolt for extra security. I used larger L-brackets (1.5 or 2") on the top and bottom (one each, where the panel meets the door), then two smaller L-brackets on the side to secure the product to the door frame and keep it from flexing. Make sure that the brackets are small enough so that you don't drill into the glass! Your experience may vary.
2) The weatherstripping isn't quite long enough. I need another half foot or so for the top. It also will need to be caulked or weathersealed on the side against the door frame, as air still comes in around it.
3) The rubber air seal strip/sweep is a challenge to install on this particular model of door. I would suggest installing it as a first step. Not sure how I am going to do this without removing the panel.
All that being said, I wish that it was a touch sturdier, and that it was offered with double-pane glass. Those two minor complaints aside, it has been a really good purchase.
And like all other new things, make sure you give your pets time to adjust to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Kitties=Happy Family

PostedDecember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
CatMomx3
from Palm Bay, Florida
Our three kitties love to go out in our patio area, but when we were not home,this was not an option. Now we do not feel so guilty when we go on vacation, because they do not have to be cooped up in the house until their sitter arrives. They were a little leary of the door flap but gradually got used to it. It was not too difficult to install and looks nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble and the Dogs love it !

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
OliviaR
from Margate Fl
We were able to take the door out the box and install in less than an hour .The dog with a little coaxing used the door within hours of installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Door - Installed without drilling or screws

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
thebub
from Laguna Hills, CA
I did not want to drill holes in my vinyl sliding doors so I bought a 3/4" pipe foam insulation piece (split length wise) and placed on the side going against the door jam. I used the foam insulation strip supplied with the door on the side that the sliding door buts against. It is easy to remove and reinstall with no screws. Instead of drilling holes for latch provided I used a 3/4" plastic irrigation pipe cut to length as a bar to lock the sliding door at night.
Dog loves it and we had no permanent modifications to the door system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lsfox11
from Tylertown, MS
I absolutely love my patio dog door. I thought it was a little expensive, but the quality is great and it looks beautiful! I would buy another one if needed in a second.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great door except flap

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
WaterGirl29
from Navarre, FL
I am very happy with the door panel but the flap is very weak in the wind. Perhaps if it had a heavier magnet on the bottom of it to secure it a bit tighter. otherwise the dogs love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sliding door insert/doggie door

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rudy560
from Florida
Great product. Better than expected. Had to send the 1st one back. Said it would accomodate a dog up to 15 pounds. Turns out a 7 pound yorkie could barely get through. He was afraid. Got the next size larger and it gives him plenty of room. Installed in minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
AHJJR
from Albany,NY
Door is excellently made.
Door flap is tinted and should be clear to allow pets to visualize going through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
shihtzuboo
from Sugar Grove, Pa
This pet door is probably one of the best investments I have ever made. My dogs just love it. The panel was shipped promptly. It was pretty easy to install even though my sliding glass door is old and has some issues. I would and have recommended this to friends and family and would buy again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Door

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chinosmom
from NV
Can not believe I've always had dogs and NO dog door. Dog doors are great. Easy to install. Did buy better weather stripping. Did not screw it in so I can take the whole insert in and out. The magnetic flap stays closed even in the wind. My older dog learned to use it right away. The puppy needed some treats to coax him through at first. Cheaper online. Great purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install; works well

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
happydoorowner
from Meridian, Idaho
This door was easy to install in our patio door and the dogs are using it along with our one cat! The dogs are 10 and 15 years old and learned to use it fairly quick; neither had used a doggie door before. The cat was the first to use the door, but he had one before so knew how they worked. This is saving us from having to get up and let the animals outside; they can now come and go as they wish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for small dog

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Silverchickie
from Ft Worth, TX
I was disappointed that the door was aluminum finish as the picture online didn't look that way and the description didn't really say. Aside from that it was easy to install and my small dog uses it!
The "fit" is not ideal as our sliding glass door and frame are heavy vinyl and the doggy door panel is not. Due to the depth of the sliding glass door the door lock did not work so we just use the stick in the back end to "secure" it shut.
The doggy door flap blows in and out with the wind so the magnetic strip really doesn't secure it very well but then it must be easily pushed by the dog, So we will just live with it.
Given the choices, this doggy door panel did solve our problem adequately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
PitasMommy
from St. Petersburg, FL
The panel door is an excellent product - easy to install and looks good. Certainly solves the problem of constantly opening/closing the door every time our cat wanted in or out, or of leaving the door open for her meaning we were spending a lot of money heating/air conditioning our screened-in porch! The flap was a problem for her, so we just removed it and can use the hard cover if the doorway needs to be closed. We are so very happy with this solution, and Pita loves the freedom!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Advertized dimensions are incorrect

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
seachel
from Illinois
The advertised size of this door are not correct on the website. The door is advertised as 30" at the withers and when it arrived the box says 241/2" at the withers. My dog barely fits. Also, I have smaller dogs and the opening for the door starts so high we had to build brick stairs so the little girls could get through. It doesnt make sense. Just make the swinging door go to the floor like in the small dog doors. In all disappointed in the dimensions of this product. We supposed to make things easier - not working!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This doggy door has great features

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Tarpon Springs, FL
This product was easy to install because it came with detailed instructions and all the hardware needed. My dog and I love it. The latch and flap closure are great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Give your Dog Freedom and Comfort

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yiya
from springfield, pa
This is a MUST HAVE - if you have a sliding glass door out to your fenced in yard. You can screw it in for more permanency and protection or simply, using the same technique as putting the screen door back on track, install it and slide your glass door up to it and you’re done. It will take a day, two at max, to get your dog comfortable using it - I suggest simply standing on the opposite side with your dog's favorite incentive - once you get "fido" through it a few times - it is GOLDEN! When you wish to cut off the access simply slip on the plastic cover - couldn't be simpler or more convenient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this door

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
pugglesrock
from new york
its lovely and so easy to use in my apartment,, only thing is the medium is a bit short for my puggle he is a taller type but still working,,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than I Expected

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaisysMom2
from Salinas, CA
This is the greatest! It was so easy, just snapped into my sliding glass door. I live on the second floor so didn't even bother with the locking business--just a stick works for me. It's a little drafty but I live in an area with very moderate climate so that's not a big deal. I'm sure that could be remedied with a little heftier weatherstripping. Figuring it out took my Shih Tzu only three times with her favorite treat--now she tears in and out of it like it's not even there. The cat's a bit more timid, but with her catbox now outside on the patio, it works for her too. I ordered a medium even though, weight-wise, a small was specified. I'm glad I did too--it fits her perfectly. I only wish I'd ordered this sooner. Excellent!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives you and your pet independence

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mapops
from Fremont, CA
This is a well made and attractive addition to the sliding glass door which allows your pet to come and go as he pleases without you having to stop what you are doing to open the door. It is easy to install and blends well with the original door. We did find the lock was too small for the distance between the panel with the doggie door and our patio door, but solved that with a bar in the slide rail of the patio door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great door with minor modification

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
AZsun
from AZ
Good door with easy install right out of the box. The only issue I had was with the supplied locking latch. It seemed weak and left a space between the two doors. A few cuts with my Dremmel tool into the dog door frame and I was able to use my existing sliding door latch instead. It created a stronger hold and completely sealed the gap between the two doors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>