petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

Pet Patio Door Features a heavy-duty aluminum frameSliding door weatherstrip and weather sealPatio Dog Door features tempered safety glassEnergy conserving Ultraseal replaceable transparent flapEasy to install, insert into the frame of your sliding glass door and it automatically adjusts to the proper height
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
4
75 out of 82(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Review 1 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves it's purpose well.

PostedMay 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Andy and Angel's Pet Human
from Falls Church, VA
This is the best solution that I found for adding a pet door to a Pella slider. Overall very happy with the product and installation. Large-tall works well for our English Foxhounds. It has even stood up to the larger of the dogs (80 lbs) banging into it as he learns. He's also not that graceful. Sigh.
Some thoughts about installation, based on my experience:
1) I needed to make two extra trips to Home Depot, once for L-brackets and screws necessary to install to the frame, and a second time to acquire longer bolts for the latch mechanism, reinforcing plates because the latch mechanism winds up in a really weak part of the door, and a second bolt for extra security. I used larger L-brackets (1.5 or 2") on the top and bottom (one each, where the panel meets the door), then two smaller L-brackets on the side to secure the product to the door frame and keep it from flexing. Make sure that the brackets are small enough so that you don't drill into the glass! Your experience may vary.
2) The weatherstripping isn't quite long enough. I need another half foot or so for the top. It also will need to be caulked or weathersealed on the side against the door frame, as air still comes in around it.
3) The rubber air seal strip/sweep is a challenge to install on this particular model of door. I would suggest installing it as a first step. Not sure how I am going to do this without removing the panel.
All that being said, I wish that it was a touch sturdier, and that it was offered with double-pane glass. Those two minor complaints aside, it has been a really good purchase.
And like all other new things, make sure you give your pets time to adjust to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Kitties=Happy Family

PostedDecember 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
CatMomx3
from Palm Bay, Florida
Our three kitties love to go out in our patio area, but when we were not home,this was not an option. Now we do not feel so guilty when we go on vacation, because they do not have to be cooped up in the house until their sitter arrives. They were a little leary of the door flap but gradually got used to it. It was not too difficult to install and looks nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
13of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Allyssa
from Pacific Northwest
We purchased a new pet door as we no longer have our large dog, may she rest in peace, so we decided to get a new small dog doggy door that fits in the sliding glass door. It arrives with in a week, easy set up and working with in 30 minutes or less. It fits perfectly, love that the plastic flap is now replacable when it wears out, you don't need a whole door, just the flap!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

XL Pet Door- too small

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nextstop
from Auburn, CA
I purchased the large door for my Germ Shep and Lab and found that they were hitting their backs going in and out so I bought the XL version.
Unfortunately, the XL has a tall piece at the bottom of the door so they still have to climb in and will hit their backs again. My lab has bad hips so having to climb over that ledge would be too challenging. I wish the design for the door was from the ground to the highest clearance height- their shouldn't be a "lip/curb" to climb over.
Otherwise, the construction is solid on the L and it was easy to install.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You definitely get what you paid for

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Megmoog
from Huntington Beach, CA
This door is a good price for a good product. My puppy learned how to use it the first day and it gives me peace of mind knowing he can go in and out on his own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petsafe door

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
itsmejustme
from Taylorsville, Utah
unfortunately I am unable to rate this product. once I received it, I quickly realized 15 lbs capacity is not one size fits all :) 15 long, is much different than 15 wide. soooo.. with that said, this one was returned, and I reordered a medium door for up to 40 lbs and am anxiously awaiting its arrival..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Erikajane
from Long Island, NY
I didn't think this was going to be made so well. It has springs in the top to easily move from the tracks! I didn't install the weather stripping or any screws it came with yet, and I don't know if I will. I switch tracks, from the screen door during the day and night because it's hot here now (summer). I leave it and close the slider fully at night and lock it. This has to be the best purchase of the year for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
DanCarrison
from Los Angeles
Easy to install. It fit like a glove against my patio door, didn't even have to use the weatherstripping that was included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall nice product

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Butry
I have a 55 lb Siberian Husky who would love if this products door wasn't so high from the ground. He bangs his poor knees on the frame. We purchased the XL model even though he should fit in the L model going off of the specs. I'm glad I did purchase the XL.
The Door fits into your Patio Panel quite well, no complaints there. Installation was easy and it comes with a new lock mount to be able to lock your patio door still.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very helpful

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terrevert
from Washington
The door has been great and allows my dog(14lbs) to come and go as she chooses although I don't think a larger dog could comfortably fit through the opening (I ordered the medium). It also was difficult enough to install that I had to have someone do it for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to assemble and the Dogs love it !

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
OliviaR
from Margate Fl
We were able to take the door out the box and install in less than an hour .The dog with a little coaxing used the door within hours of installation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Door - Installed without drilling or screws

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
thebub
from Laguna Hills, CA
I did not want to drill holes in my vinyl sliding doors so I bought a 3/4" pipe foam insulation piece (split length wise) and placed on the side going against the door jam. I used the foam insulation strip supplied with the door on the side that the sliding door buts against. It is easy to remove and reinstall with no screws. Instead of drilling holes for latch provided I used a 3/4" plastic irrigation pipe cut to length as a bar to lock the sliding door at night.
Dog loves it and we had no permanent modifications to the door system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lsfox11
from Tylertown, MS
I absolutely love my patio dog door. I thought it was a little expensive, but the quality is great and it looks beautiful! I would buy another one if needed in a second.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great door except flap

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
WaterGirl29
from Navarre, FL
I am very happy with the door panel but the flap is very weak in the wind. Perhaps if it had a heavier magnet on the bottom of it to secure it a bit tighter. otherwise the dogs love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sliding door insert/doggie door

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rudy560
from Florida
Great product. Better than expected. Had to send the 1st one back. Said it would accomodate a dog up to 15 pounds. Turns out a 7 pound yorkie could barely get through. He was afraid. Got the next size larger and it gives him plenty of room. Installed in minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
AHJJR
from Albany,NY
Door is excellently made.
Door flap is tinted and should be clear to allow pets to visualize going through.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs love this.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
shihtzuboo
from Sugar Grove, Pa
This pet door is probably one of the best investments I have ever made. My dogs just love it. The panel was shipped promptly. It was pretty easy to install even though my sliding glass door is old and has some issues. I would and have recommended this to friends and family and would buy again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Door

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chinosmom
from NV
Can not believe I've always had dogs and NO dog door. Dog doors are great. Easy to install. Did buy better weather stripping. Did not screw it in so I can take the whole insert in and out. The magnetic flap stays closed even in the wind. My older dog learned to use it right away. The puppy needed some treats to coax him through at first. Cheaper online. Great purchase
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to install; works well

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
happydoorowner
from Meridian, Idaho
This door was easy to install in our patio door and the dogs are using it along with our one cat! The dogs are 10 and 15 years old and learned to use it fairly quick; neither had used a doggie door before. The cat was the first to use the door, but he had one before so knew how they worked. This is saving us from having to get up and let the animals outside; they can now come and go as they wish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Deluxe Satin Patio Panel Pet Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for small dog

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Silverchickie
from Ft Worth, TX
I was disappointed that the door was aluminum finish as the picture online didn't look that way and the description didn't really say. Aside from that it was easy to install and my small dog uses it!
The "fit" is not ideal as our sliding glass door and frame are heavy vinyl and the doggy door panel is not. Due to the depth of the sliding glass door the door lock did not work so we just use the stick in the back end to "secure" it shut.
The doggy door flap blows in and out with the wind so the magnetic strip really doesn't secure it very well but then it must be easily pushed by the dog, So we will just live with it.
Given the choices, this doggy door panel did solve our problem adequately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>