petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canine Heritage Breed Test

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Canine Heritage Breed Test

Satisfies curiosity about your dog's breed compositionIs safe and painless for your dogRequires only a cheek swab to collect DNADoes not require a veterinarianResults on a frame quality "Certificate of DNA Analysis"View Current Validated Breeds Here
Average Customer Rating:
2.931 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
13
14 out of 29(48%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Review 1 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't recommend.

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product from Petco and mailed it off late July of 2010. The Canine Heritage Breed Tests's website indicates they received my sample on 7/27/10. I then waited 6 weeks, knowing the results should take 4-6 weeks. When I returned to the website my sample's status was 'sample in progress'. I then sent an email to their customer service address and they quickly returned a generated email saying they were backlogged due to bovine testing, and it would be another 2 weeks or so. Perhaps I need to get a cow...Anyway, I waited another 3 weeks, for a total of 9, and my sample is still in progress. I sent another email and received another generated email explaining the same information sent in the first email. At this rate, I won't see any results for 11 weeks at the minimum, and from reading most of the other reviews, I probably shouldn't even have bothered.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
This company will not back up their results- we sent in a sample from our half lab, half bassett hound mix, and they set us a result saying that he was a chow chow, cocker spaniel. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. When I asked them to check to see if they had mixed up the results, they said the "results were correct, and looks might be deceiving." Honestly, DON"T BUT THIS!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

PostedApril 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fulton, NY
We recently adopted a puppy from a shelter and performed a Canine Heritage test. While we were waiting for the results, the animal control officer raided the property where our dog was from and rescued his mom, dad, and two siblings (who are nearly identical to our dog). Both parents were purebreds, so we then knew the genetic background of our dog. When our test results arrived, NEITHER of the parent's breeds showed up in the certificate and the two breeds that did show up were laughably off. I am totally disgusted with the results and don't wonder if they don't perform any genetics at all and just randomly pull breeds out of a paper bag. Come to think of it, they might get better results if they did! I called during their business hours, never got a person, was forced to leave a message and of course they haven't called me back. Bad tests, bad service. Don't spend good money on this -- donate it to a shelter instead of Canine Heritage! Would have given them zero paws out of five but one is the lowest score I could choose.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
We sent in the photo with our dna test....hoping to discover what was in the "mix" of our black lab. He is small and we have been told that he may have some beagle in him. The results did not list any Lab....Cocker Spaniel and Staffordshire Bull Terrier as his secondary breed, and Australian Shepherd in the mix.....even with a photo they didn't come close !
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Canine Heritage DNA Test

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
from California
I was hopeful that this test would confirm, and expand, what we were told, and thought, our rescue dog's breed influences were. Many think she is a yellow lab mix to be sure. We thought she might have some Rhodesian Ridgeback, GSD, Siberian Husky, or maybe Dalmation. What we got back in results made my husband and me laugh. She is 24" at the shoulders, yellow/brown short hair coat, ice blue colored eyes, tail carried up with slight curl. We don't see the basset hound, rottweiler, shetland sheepdog or collie that was id'd as her mix. We didn't include a picture, and I suppose that would have helped. Also, it was my understanding that her DNA would be checked against 100 breeds, but the returned document stated they checked her against 50 breeds and I could pay an additional fee to check her against their other breeds. I won't be doing that. I'll just go with what the rescue group, vet and I think as it's not important enough to spend more money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you need a good laugh...

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from NYC
...then blow some hard earned money on this hilarious DNA test. We were trying to get specifics on our rescue dog who is clearly some kind of chihuahua mix. Turns out, according to Canine Heritage, we are the proud guardians of a 5 lb Weimaraner, with some Corgi thrown in. I should mention we did NOT send in a photo as suggested. I should have spent that money on dog treats and squeaky toys instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mystery Solved: My Dog's a Dal

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
What a fun product! After years of speculation, we learned our rescue dog Daisy was a Dalmatian as it was the only breed included in the Primary category. Sure, she looks like a Dal – white with black spots, that killer Dal smile and dog hair that weaves into every item of clothing and furniture – but her super slender physique and laid back demeanor had us thinking she might also be pointer, whippet or greyhound. I asked customer service to see if the results meant she was a purebred. While the test isn’t really designed for purebred verification (apparently only a kennel of breed club can certify a dog’s pedigree based on its papers, which I don’t have since she’s a rescue), it’s not possible to make such a guarantee. Since no other breeds were reported on the DNA test, I can assume that she’s full Dal; I just wouldn’t have the official papers from AKC to prove it. Mystery solved!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
After bringing home a recue dog to be a member of our family we wondered just what we had so I got the Heritage test . It was quick and easy and in no time we found out we have a yorkie . I'd recommend it to anyone .
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it...

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Great way to find out what breed(s) your dog really is. This product will help you understand why your dog is the way he/she is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

interesting and fun!!

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought the standard breed test. It confirmed what I thought all along - my dog is part collie and sheepdog, although it does not look at all like a shetland sheep dog or colllie! I can't wait to test my other mutt!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad we know

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
This test was very easy to perform. The directions were understandable, and the kit took all of the bother out of getting the test to the lab. The information is very helpful for understanding our favorite 4-legged member of the family, and for making sure that she receives the best care possible throughout her life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

could no believe

PostedJune 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
from PA
I have a chihauhau mix. my vet says it a chihauhau mix, maybe pug, or rat terrier. I get my results no primary, no secondary. the third says cocker spaniel and mini pincher. does not even look or act like either. i was highly disapointed in the results. they said they only do 106 dogs and their are1100 breeds out there, to try again when they have more breed test.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Amusing

PostedJune 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
This test is very easy to administer, although it took several weeks to receive the results. My results showed traces of bull terrier / collie/ sheepdog. At the minimum I was expecting bull terrier as a secondary and completely surprised to see the other traces. Watching an animal show on tv, a woman mentioned that she had received the same results as mine. However the two dogs had no apparent similarities. I am considering ordering a test for my second dog only for amusement with minimal confidence in the test.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMay 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
This easy-to-use product helped us determine what our mixed breed dog's heritage is. We got results very quickly - in less than a month - and found out that our dog is a true mutt, with labrador, chow and Siberian husky "in the mix." Once we heard the results, they made a lot of sense, as we have photos of his mother as well as his siblings. It also has helped us understand and appreciate this dog's power and temperment. I highly recommend this product, especially for dogs of unknown heritage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ARE YOU KIDDING ME LOL

PostedApril 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from maryland
I have to leave 1 paw for a rating it doesnt even deserve that. First lets start by saying we have a 5 year old 120 pound dog that looks and acts just like a newfoundland. After waiting 10 weeks the results are in: the test says we have a MINATURE poodle - boston terrier mix with no primary or secondary breed. MINATURE poodle what a joke. Dont waste your time or money on this product. ITS A COMPLETE JOKE.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME! SO INFORMATIVE!

PostedMarch 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
This DNA test has been so informative! This whole time we thought our dog was a certain kind of dog (told to us by the Pet Adoption People at an unnamed Shelter). To our surprise and amazement he did not have that breed in him at all!
I would definately recoemnd this to a friend because:
It is very inexspensive (around $60.00) and very fast.
No blood is drawn!!! Just a gentle cheek swab is taken!
Fast! I waited about 4 weeks and the certificate was very high quality with his picture attached.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service!

PostedFebruary 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
My golden retriever, Sparky, is quite tall and has a longer muzzle than the average golden. Despite having papers, friends and even strangers had different ideas as to what he could be - part borzoi or maybe irish setter or maybe even a Hovawart... a rare breed. I was almost convinced he was something else! So I decided to purchase the breed test to get some answers. I made a mistake and submitted my Samoyed's picture instead. A few weeks later I received a call from their lab technician and, alas, they were perplexed. The tech said the breed test showed 99% golden retriever, but that the picture didn't match up! I told him about the mistake and they asked if I wanted to submit a new picture. I declined. I had already gotten my answer - my tall, long-muzzled, lanky dog is indeed a Golden Retriever!!! Great service! I'm very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
I was very disappointed in the results. Not even one breed identified and we know at least one breed in her that is very popular and identifiable. No picture was sent with dna, but we wanted it that way. I would not recommend this test.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont waste your time

PostedJanuary 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
We were told our dog was a collie and german shepard mix. The test told us his primary breed was Akita and secondary was German short haired pointer which he looks nothing like, Dont waste your money unless you just want a good laugh.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canine Heritage Breed Test
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Took awhile but worth the wait!

PostedJanuary 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Buena Park, Ca
My fiance suprised me with a puppy in August last year, and I was so happy. I asked what she was, but he had no idea. I couldn't figure it out either, and everyone kept asking cuz she is so cute. The test does take about 6-8weeks to get, but I was very satisfied with the whole process. The test was a third the price compared to the vet, it was easy to collect the sample, and the certificate looks great. By the way, we found out she is a cockapoo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>