petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue

PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue

Distributes an adjustable amount of foodEnriches your cat's environment and reduces unwanted behaviorsGood source of play and exerciseFights obesity and helps to maintain optimum weightModel TOY00001
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
28 out of 34(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Review 1 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Satisfied

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hartford, CT
Bought three, one for each cat. The boy, who gulps his food and then heads toward the girls' bowls unless there's a closed door between them, figured out how to get food out within 5 minutes. We're putting 1/2 his meals in the ball.
However, there's not a lot of chasing going on; more like patting it around untjl something falls out. *sigh* At least it's slowing him down and helping with him barfing after eating too fast. The two girls just aren't as food-motivated - they watch him play and occasionally snatch a bite.
Maybe add a jingle ball to increase interest? I'm going to try it.
There are two differently-shaped holes, and it's tricky to find the exact setting that allows random access as opposed to all the food falling out at once. Patience, it does work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dspenser

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
It wasn't exactly what I was expecting... You can't use it with dry cat food I found, but only treats. My two cats don't "bat it" around like I was hoping - for the "exercise" part of it, but they slowly push it around with their nose waiting for the treat to fall out. They both figured out how to get the treats, but not what I would consider a real exercise type toy - like I was hoping for...
Larger than I expected also...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I've had one for years and different cats react differently to it. I use it to dispense treats,and the pet sitter puts it out when I'm away. It keeps the cat from being totally bored. Current cat took weeks to figure it out, but loves it now. Some of the others caught on immediately but one never figured it out. My only complaint is that the ball gets batted under furniture and I have to track it down. I'm going to buy several for gifts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy cat

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This works great!! Our cat was eating fast and was sick. She was always trying to get more food. Now she rolls the ball around and eats a bite at a time. She is so much happier now and so are we!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have item

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Bought one of these for my daughter's cat who was a stray and tends to gulp his food down too quickly.. Took him 2 seconds to figure the ball out and it has really slowed his eating down. I then bought one for my cat to make him work for his food for " mental" stimulation. Took him less than a minute to figure it out and he loves it! After the first two feedings , I adjusted the ball to dispense the kibble at a slower rate. Works well. Sturdily made and easy to clean. The cats have great fun with it too! I love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cats are frightened of Big Blue Ball!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vermont
I have tried to interest the cats in the ball for a week now. They are too frightened of the ball to approach or bat it. Not giving up yet...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slim cat

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from TX
My cat loves this but I wish the holes were not so large. Even though you can adjust the size, it still seems like it's an all or nothing dispenser. I also wish the overall size of the toy was slightly smaller. But it keeps her entertained for a few minutes until she gets them all out. I only give two treats at a time. Got to keep her girlish figure :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from dayton, oh
I have 4 cats and one of them is very food motivated and has gotten worryingly fat in the last few years. Being a male tabby I know he is especially prone to diabetes and other illnesses that extra weight makes worse so I ordered this and one other puzzle feeder a few weeks ago and he seems to already be loosing a little weight. I had read some other posts that it was messy and left kibble everywhere. That couldn't be more wrong in my case. Instead of spilling food all over from their bowl and leaving it, it's their goal to eat what comes out. Woo-Hoo! So I'm saving cat food both in that they are eating less and I'm vacuuming up less. LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Slimcat

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, MA
All three cats are not at all interested in moving this around for treats they love.
Overpriced and not effective.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Central Texas
I love this product. I bought two of them because one of my cats was a food-wolfer who would scarf and barf every time he was fed. He was also a fat, lazy, overeating indoor blob.
It took about two days with the ball set on the big holes for them to figure out how to extract the food. Then I set it on the small holes (small food). No more scarfing and barfing, and within a few months, the fat cat lost five pounds. Great way to slow down the eating, and great enrichment activity for the bored indoor cat.
The only issue was finding the balls around the house (under the couch, etc) when it was feeding time. I solved that by putting them in a shallow box large enough for the cats to stand in comfortably and still roll the ball. No more hide-and-seek.
Best cat product I've ever bought. This purchase was a third ball for my third cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bozeman, MT
It didn't take too long for the critters to catch on to how the balls work, and now it seems to be curtailing their hovering, and overeating. Very exciting! I haven't noticed a huge difference in their weight yet, but I'm hoping to see a change soon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This ball is a dud

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Barbara, CA
Such a good idea. But this ball has bad features. Although hole size is adjustable, the holes are too large and cat food comes pouring out immediately. Also the hole sizes keep changing as the ball rolls on the floor. My cat loves it because she immediately gets all the food!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Better for dogs than cats

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Portland, ME
Works well, but my cat is still too lazy to figure it out. It's a tad heavy for my cats, they tend to nudge it around with their heads instead of batting it. I can see this working much better for a dog, or a very food-motivated cat.
PROS
-Adjustable hole sizes
CONS
-A bit heavy for cats to bat around
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
My youngest though it was the greatest toy ever. I can play with a ball AND eat! The oldest who had gotten into the kitten food I put out for foster kittens, and was beginning to look a little like Garfield as a result, was hesitant at first eventually took to it. My boyfriend claimed I was starving her and was mean.. the kitten even brought her some kibble on occasion BUT after about four days she learned when she got hungry enough that's where the food was. After about two weeks of just the ball she lost about a half pound got back to her svelt 7.5 lbs self and then I introduced the intense beauty canned royal canine they share a can once a day and I fill the ball to the brim. They try to hold out for the canned food but they use the ball for regular munching. Highly recommended for anyone who has a little garfield in their life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much better than other toy food dispensers!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY
We tried a different type of toy food dispenser before, and it was not nearly as cool as this little delight here. The opening can be adjusted to fit any dry food so you don't have to buy special treats.The toy gives us a little bit of quiet time before feeding the cats - they love it. We also have this toy in pink for our female cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, MO
I've used this product before and the dog chewed it up so I had to get another one. It helped our kitty lose weight while keeping him entertained.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for ferals and shut-ins

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston TX
this is an excellent enrichment for cats who must be confined to a cage, such as those recovering from an injury. Consult a vet before using.
This is also good for feral kittens who are in-taming. Going from having to hunt all day to suddenly having nothing at all to do is quite a "culture shock". While a treat ball should not be the sole source of nourishment, frequent sessions with one gives them the "hunting" time they need to transition to tame-cat status.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Idea

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, MO
Made well. Like being able to adjust the size of the holes. We are still working on teaching our cat to play with it. She will eat the food if we move the ball, but hasn't figured out that if she moves it, the food will come out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my underweight cat!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Although this is marketed as 'slimming,' it's working really well for my underweight cat because I can leave out dry food all day. With a regular dish, she'd just eat it all and vomit. Now she can get the food without much effort (she doesn't actively play with it, just bats a little until a piece comes out) but slowly enough to keep it down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe SlimCat Cat Food Dispenser in Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good to use when you're not home

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
I tried this with my cat and he got the concept, but didn't find it entertaining, so he just walked away and waited for me to feed him "properly." I think if you leave the cat home alone with the only food located in the ball, then s/he will use it.
For exercise, my cat likes it when I throw each piece of kibble and bounce it off the floor so he can pounce on the "live prey." His favorite for this is Science Diet Lite Hairball formula.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>