petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden

SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden

100% organic oats, wheat, rye and barleyGrows in 4 to 6 daysAids with digestion, helps prevent hairballs, helps prevent ingestion of potentially toxic houseplantsSturdy wood frame keeps your cat from knocking it overKitty refill garden available, sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Review 1 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats really like it

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NYNY
There are four different grasses, individually packaged, that grow separately in separate wells that are all part of the container. One of the grasses had red color, and the others were green. Most are over five inches long now, and my four cats are really enjoying this. I also like how it looks (I got the box, which wasn't too expensive, as well as the refills). So I am so glad that I bought it. It looks pretty, priced well, and worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had no problem growing mold

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from AZ
I purchased this for my cat and rabbit.
Pros: I liked the planter and the fact that there were 4 different types of grass.
Cons: Even though I followed the instructions properly, there was a lot of mold that grew. I did not feel comfortable feeding any of the grass that grew to my pets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bridgeport, CT
It is taking a really long time to grow enough for my kittens to eat. They seem to like what little there is that I allow them to nibble on, but it is taking too long to grow. Our house plants continue to suffer in the meantime! Even taking into account the house is cooler because it is winter, the manufacturer directions that cats should be able to start eating within four days is definitely optimistic!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Growing great

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
These grasses came up and are growing as advertised. Now my kitty can eat greens instead of searching for crab-grass thru the snow.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Organic Garden

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Twain Harte, CA
I love the product and so does our male cat! Very pleasing design on the wooden crate. We will be traveling this summer in our 5th wheel with Mr. Cat in tow and his organic garden will be coming!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat loves it!

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Memphis
My cat loves this. He rubs on it and eats it too.
It grows just as it says.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product - better than some grocery store greens

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, IL
The SmartCat Organic Kitty Garden is a cool item! Read the directions thoroughly. If you follow them, in a few days they sprout and quickly the greens are tall enough to let Kitty at it! I like that the seeds grow in separate compartments - so my cat can sniff & pick his favorite, etc. The wooden base is awesome! Looks like a nice thing, not a cheap plastic tub like when you buy live greens at the grocery store (If they carry it.) It's heavy, and no tipping!
They have refill kits, you keep the base and just start over when the greens are done. Just don't forget to water them...oops I forget sometimes. But keep soil moist for the longest lasting greens.
I would recommend this to any cat owner! P.S. I love that the seeds and peat moss are organic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kitty Loved this, But..

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Eatonton, GA
Kitty likes the grass, but the flimsy tray that holds the little pods of grass comes out when she pulls on the grass. I have dirt on my floor around where the little box sits. Also, when she pulls on the grass, the little pods of dirt come out on the floor & must be put back in. More dirt on the floor. I bought this because the little decorative box the grass grows in looks better than the plastic disposable container other brands come in. Guess I'll have to figure some way to grow the grass in the box without the plastic insert.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy kitty!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, Hi
My cat loves your organic garden. It sprouted in 2 days and was ready for grazing in about 5 more days. I put the garden out during the day and bring it in the house when kitty is active. I need to buy more of this great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hamilton, NJ
Very disappointed. The display shows lots of grass but I'm lucky if there are about 15 blades. And it has taken longer than 5 days to sprout.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She Loves Catnip

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Murfreesboro TN
My cat loves catnip and as a weekly treat she tumbles around with the stuffed animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sturdy container

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Akron, OH
Nice looking, very well made. My one cat has a habit of pushing the dishes around on the sinkboard (have to keep the cat food out of the dog's reach). Hopefully she'll have a harder time shoving this one around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product! Pandora approves!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased this as one of the gifts I gave my beautiful Pandora for Christmas. I planted it and it grew! One thing I did to keep it moist until it sprouted was to cover it with plastic wrap. It's been several weeks and the grass is in great shape and I just trimmed it. Pandora enjoys it! I plan to order a refill and a second planter for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartCat Organic Kitty's Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For kitties that love grass it's a hit

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I have 3 kitty girls, only one of them likes to snack on cat grass & she loved it. It has a nice decorative base and it's very easy to grow especially for someone like me who does not have much of a green thumb. Not all cats like it, but for ones that do, it gives them a nice variety & it's pretty inexpensive & cute to look at so I would definitely recommend giving it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.