petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding

Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding

All natural, biodegradable and compostableVirtually dust freeHighly absorbentSafety tested
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Review 1 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for birds

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St Louis, MO
I do not recommend corn cob bedding for birds. I learned the hard way that the moist corn cob breeds mold, which makes birds sick. Instead, use paper. It's cheaper and healthier.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Corn cob bedding

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from santa clata
I use this for my bird's bedding, its easy and works well. Its all natural and last long. You just
pour this in the bottom of the bird cadge and it protects the cadge and absorbs moisture very fast. Nothing sticks on the bottom.
Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product I have ever used!!!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Providence RI
Natural Corn Cob is the best bedding I have used for my Dove, Snowflake. Snowflake was having eye problems. I kept taking her back and forth to her Vet. She would go on eyedrops it would clear up and then it would start all over again. My little girl was becoming very stressed. I asked my Pet Store to get me in a sterlized corn cob. Since I have been using this product, about 3yrs now, her eyes look GREAT. Her Vet is amazed. I just love this product and so does Snowflake!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Moth Problem

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
We have seven parrots of various sizes 15 years and younger. We have enjoyed the company of birds and cared for them for decades. We have tried paper bedding, paper pellets and recently have been using the corn cob product. Although the product says it is sterilized our last batch was infested with moth eggs as we had adult and larvae all through our bird room in our house. It was not due to their feed as we use pellets and there was no moths in the feed room. We have now switched to wood pellets. I would not recomment corn cob pellets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was wonderful!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Pedro, CA
Hello fellow PetCoers! I just purchased this bedding from my local PetCo store and it was on sale, which surprised me because it is a fairly big bag! I made sure to read the back description of this Natural Corn Cobs Bedding to make sure everything was safe for my little fuzzy! I'm watching my hamster now and she is going crazy with this bedding! So far she is entertained, but if you aren't a fan of having bedding that is, well, fairly grainy and small, then this isn't your choice. The texture is fine for the fuzzy in your care, it's safe, but may not supply warmth and a cozy environment for your fuzzy. Odor wise, it absorbs well, and when I first opened the bag there was a very minimal amount of dust which is a huge plus for me and my hamster as well. I don't want her to be inhaling anything toxic and harmful! Over all I recommend this bedding due to it's odor control, absorption, abillity to keep your fuzzy occupied, and it is very well managable! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use this product for my ferrets

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from John Day, OR
I use this product for my ferrets litter box mixed with just a little of the Feline Pine brand litter (it is condensed pine pellets for deodorizer). It does not create the lung and sinus problems that other litters can do with ferrets. Plus it absorbs their urine well and is easy to clean. Its all natural and non toxic. I have had a lot of good luck with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the birds

PostedDecember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from California
I use this product along with pellets and shredded paper as a base for our birds. It seems to make walking on the cage bottom more comfortable, as this product is almost flush with the bottom grate of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NV
I am using this on the floor of my chicken coop and it works very nicely to help reduce moisture and create a nicer environment in my coop without the problems that hay or shavings can create. I especially like that it is completely biodegradable and will actually work well as a soil amendment with the added benefit of fertilizer from the chicken droppings when I rake it out of the coop and spread it on the ground to biodegrade into the dirt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bedding

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
We use this with Horse bedding pellets on the bottom of the cage and change the cage weekly. It works out great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedMay 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
I have tried every bedding out there for my mice and hamsters (except cedar, of course). This is by far the best one. It controls odor in the mice cages way better than any other bedding, including carefresh. I change bedding once a week, with aspen and carefresh I was changing every 3-4 days. It even works great for my diabetic dwarf hamster, who urinates twice as much as a normal hamster. Fantastic product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great substrate for the bottom of our sugar gliders cage. Easy to clean, helps keep odors to a minimum!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worthless

PostedSeptember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
This litter has absolutely no absorptive capability.
it not only doesn't absorb, it does nothing to control odor either.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bedding

PostedJuly 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Mims, FL
I use this in the trays of my many bird cages. I love it! Looks clean and bright unlike newspapers, etc. It absorbs any mess they make.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Corn Cobs with the PureLite Process Bird & Small Animal Litter/Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Litter

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Unscented and lightweight. May not be ideal for small rodents, as the pieces are hard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.