petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy

API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy

Antibacterial medication made especially for bettasUse whenever your betta exhibits signs of bacterial or fungal disease, such as red ulcers, frayed or torn fins, slimy patches, or cottony growthsAlso helps heal open wounds and tissue damage
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
32 out of 36(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Review 1 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BettaFix saved JJ's Life!

PostedFebruary 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Blissful Animal Enthusiasts
from Peaceful, Southern Oregon
Our Beta, JJ (Jaws Junior) is 2 1/2, and we dearly love him. He has always been healthy and spunky. We have no idea why, but he recently developed skin rashes and fin rot, became lethargic and lost his appetite. He seemed to be saying "Help!"! We went to PetCo and found BettaFix, which contains the miracle oil, Melaleuca, put the recommended dose in his bowl and within 24 hours his beautiful color had returned, his fins began healing and he began eating again. We know he is a 'senior' fish, and are grateful he has been with us as long as he has, and now hope to have him even longer, healthier with the help of BettaFix. Thank you, PetCo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BettaFix works like magic!

PostedFebruary 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
OceanMaiden
from Dutchtown,MO
My Betta had a severely split fin and was looking real bad. Then I got BettaFix and put a few drops in the bowl. I am floored as to how fast his wounds are healing. In just two days what was a serious rip is now just a small fray. I would definetly reccomend this product to anyone who owns a betta. Miraculous!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
BriannaWSMS
from az
API Betta-fix works amazingly. It cured my Betta of a nasty case of fin rot. I gave this to a friend to use on a female Betta that had dropsy. This stuff cures dropsy, which is practically unheard of. If your Betta has a bacterial infection, this stuff is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
dlw6905
from Wisconsin
Bought this because my betta wasn't eating and then was swimming on his side. He didn't have spots, frayed fins,etc so not sure what the problem was. He's in a 2.5 gal tank and we do a water change every 10-12 days with water filtered through our brita and treated with betta water conditioner. But after a few days using this, he's just fine. I'm going to add this at every water change and maybe every 3-4 days just to be safe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked As Described

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
2TuxedoCats
from Connecticut
My betta ended up with his tail all frayed. I'm not sure if he was biting it, if it was a form of fin rot, if he was getting caught in the filter of my 2.5 gal Betta Bow, or if the filter current was just too strong. I removed the filter all together, did a 100% water change, and added the BettaFix. I have let him sit, as is, for 6 days now and his fin is back to perfect! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THIS IS THE WORST MED I FOUND FOR MY BETTA

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
G1985
from LOS ANGELES
MY BETTA DEVELOPED FIN ROTT. I COULDN'T FIND THE USUAL MEDS I USE TO GET MY OTHER BETTAS IN THE PAST, SO I DECIDED TO TRY BETTAFIX. IT SEEMED TO WORK THE 1ST DAY. HE SEEMED MORE ENERGIZED. THE SECOND DAY OR SO HE CONTINUED TO BE LETHARGIC AGAIN. THE CLOUDY PARTS ON HIS TAIL DISAPPEARED, BUT NOT HE'S GETTING CLOUDY ON OTHER PARTS OF HIS FLOWY FINS. I CONTINUED THE MEDS FOR 7 DAYS AND DID A WATER CHANGE. STILL DIDNT HELP. HE JUST LOOKED THE SAME. I FINISHED THE MEDS AND IT DID NOTHING FOR MY BETTA BUT MADE THE TANK AN UGLY YELLOW CLOUDY COLOR INSTANTLY. I HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my fishy!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
RumiCharlieKubotaSunny
from Charleston, Sc
I have one half-moon Betta that lives with me at college, who I love dearly! Last night while I was cleaning his tank he freaked out and jumped into the disposal in my sink! After 2 terrifying minutes, I was able to rescue him, although his fins are really torn up. I was so worried he wouldn't make it, he spent the last 24 hours laying at the bottom of his newly cleaned tank looking sad until I put BettaFix in! He began swimming around just like before his accident! I am so glad that PetCo provided me with a product to save my sweet friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bluesloversrv
I own 4 Betta fish and have had many issues with fin rot, and bacterial diseases. I don't buy the "pretty" Betta fish, at the store. Instead, I look for the Bettas which are suffering from neglect and fin rot because they NEED the home and TLC fast!! I've used many products, but Betta Fix works the best, in my opinion. It heals the fins quickly. My Betta fish, Big Blue, was so bad off he almost died, but I tried Betta Fix, and it took awhile, but now all his fins are healed, and his color is beautiful!! Now, he's a deep blue color, swims all over his tank, eats like a pig, and is very happy. I do recommend Betta Fix and to never ever put a Betta fish in anything less than a 5 gallon tank PLEASE!! Bowls will only make your Betta sick and unhappy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

If only there was more magic

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
shydaily
My betta fish recently had fin rot from when I purchased him at my local pet store, so I decided to buy Bettafix. After one day of use I saw immediate improvement in his tail and was pleased that he was swimming even more gracefully then usual. (: A few days later I ended up running out of Bettafix which left me disappointed, if only there was more of the magic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

saved my betta

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
dorysmom
my betta didn't eat and just sat on the bottom of his bowl for over a week and after I gave him this he started eating and swimming around. It's been 2 weeks now and he is alert and happy and healthy again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
HeatherCakes
from Wethersfield,CT
This product is amazing, my 9 yr old daughter was hysterical when she saw a large white cotton ball like sore on her betta's back. I thought "Jewel" was a goner for sure but did some research online for my daughters sake & had my husband pick this product up on way home. Two weeks later the fish is healed, can barley tell & she is way more active & eats better than she did since we got her back in August!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cloudy Good

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
OwnerLuvs
from Colorado Springs,CO
There are pros and cons of this product.
Pros- It works quickly, and is a great product
Cons- It makes the aquarium water cloudy when it isn't dirty.
This is a great product, don't get me wrong, but it seems to be constantly making my clean water appear cloudy and dirty- nasty. It works, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
BettaGuineaLuv
from Colorado Springs, CO
I bought this at my local Petco, and even though my bottle did not look the same as shown in the photo, it is the same product. Anyways, on the first day I put it in my aquarium, my betta started out with frayed, ripping, black tips, and ended with his front fins getting white tips! On the FIRST day! Oh, for anybody who does not know, white tips mean that your betta's fins are regrowing. It IS a good thing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bettafix saved my Betta's life! :D

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunjay
I was really worried about my betta because one of my other fish attacked her. Angel's fins were ripped and some white stuff was oozing out from her scales. I put Bettafix in my tank and within a couple days, new fins were starting to replace battered ones and in about a week her fins and scales were completely back to normal. I could not believe how quickly this stuff worked. Also, it didn't effect any of the tetras in my tank. I would recommend keeping one of these bottles on hand especially if other fish share a tank with your betta.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant results!

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sophgirl10
from Granger, WA
The second that I put BettaFix in my tank, my betta started to swim around and eat the food I had put in the tank a few moments after treating. He had not eaten anything for quite a while, so this alone was improvement. He also started swimming up higher in the tank, rather than the bottom. I was afraid that my fish, Alexander, his fins would rot too much and he would die. He is my first betta, so I didn't want him to die just 3 months after I bought him! I immediately knew he would survive. Thank you, BettaFix!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedJuly 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
BettaloverinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
I've used this product for over 5 years. Back in the beginning, I started including a few drops with EVERY water change for my bettas (along with aquarium salt and water conditioner). Sometimes I'll add a few extra drops on the days when they start getting sluggish or don't look like they feel well.
I have a female betta (Sharky) who is just about 5 years old!! And I had a male betta who was with me for about 3 years (Doe). I have had many, many bettas before and never had them live this long. I credit the Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy for their longevity and recommend this product to anyone who loves their bettas and wants them around as long as possible. I truly love this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my Betta

PostedJanuary 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
netmommy
First of all, Thank You for all of the reviews. I didn't know what to do. My Lavi
(my betta) was sickly looking,had white spots under his chin and on his back, and his beautiful fins were tucked in. I foud this site and thanks to everyboby who gave a review I knew there was hope. I RAN to our local petco and got bettafix and aquarium salt. After only one dose his fins are flowing and he is very active. I'm gonna finish the treatment to make sure he feels better but I had to let you know that I love these products. I know they saved my Lavi. He's his old happy self again. Thank You Thank You Thank You!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really worked!

PostedAugust 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Redrockerchic
from Sacramento, CA
I did a search the other day for Betta illnesses and read multiple message boards, fish expert sites and went thru list after list of symptoms leading to various diseases. Of course, my fish showed no signs of any of these horrible diseases and I was at a loss for what to treat him with. Basically, he wasn't eating much at all, was holding his fins flat to his body and looked pale. Poor little guy clearly didn't feel good. After reading alot of the reviews on this product I decided I'd give it a shot. All I can say is what I read was true, it worked like a charm. After one dose he was more active and attacking his food again with interest. After 2 doses he let his fins go and started greeting me at meal time again. Now after the 3rd dose he has started making bubble nests which he never did before. I'd have to say he is the happiest he's ever been. I'm so relieved and not only would I recommend this product to my friend but I already did. Give it a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

novice betta owner but expert purchase!

PostedJune 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
GumbyGoat22
I am new to the world of bettas. I bought my first one about a month ago and I love him dearly. I noticed a string of fin torn away but I figured he snagged it on something but then I noticed his "baby" front fins were almost clear and withering away with fin rot! I bought BettaFix right away and have been using it for two days now, adding a 1/2 teaspoon to his 1.5 gallon tank at night. I am so impressed with how his small fins are blue and healing wonderfully! His split fin is also just a small fray now! His color is brilliant and I hope he continues to heal after the seven day treatment!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for API Splendid Betta BettaFix Remedy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for serious injury

PostedMay 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
While I was switching my betta tnaks around I put all of them into temp tanks and sadly forgot to cover them. Of course a few jumped up and got injuries because of it. It says its for cuts and torn fin so I tried it but sadly my pride "show" betta Red Ivan was too far gone and he passed on. Since then I haven't bred any betta's and I've made sure to keep the rest of them safe. I've tried to use this medicine once more for a less serious wound and the male did get better only to fall ill of something else and died. I haven't had much luck with this but hopefully if you have a minor wound this will work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>