petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Tortoise House

Zoo Med Tortoise House

Wood sided design preferred by professional keepersUse indoors or outsidePrivate weatherproof sleeping areaEasy to assembleModular - remove end panel and connect a second tortoise house
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Review 1 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Way to Raise Tortoise (over a year old and still looking new)

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dezi09087
from Inglewood CA
I have three Desert Tortoise's (Babies) and they where in pretty bad shape when I found them. I bought this because they need sunlight for their shells and growth. This is the best thing I have bought. I can feed them in the morning and leave for work and they are totally protected! They get the sunlight they need and also have shelter if they get a little hot. Yes Desert Tortoises need shade too!!! I have had this for over a year and it is still going strong. I have never moved it so it is always outside. After 1 year it still looked pretty new. The mane latch has warped a tiny bit but like I said its always out side rain or shine. Easy fix by adjusting the latches. I would buy this again if I needed to. Totally happy with the price and quality! My Tortoise are happy and healthy now :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo Med Tortoise House

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
radmama
Great product. Wasn't too hard to put together. Plenty of room for our tortoise to wander around in. Love the privacy room and large open roaming area. Our tortoise was very happy with it as soon as we put him in it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, a very good product!

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
ilovewildlife7
It really provides alot of space and its a great fit for my russian, but the wood quality could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solution

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MacG
from Texas
My 4 year old box turtle loves his/her new home. More room and the Repti Ramp Bowl fits. He needed that larger bowl for soaking. He is exploring more and improved feeding.
I am a 68 year old female and was able to put it together with the tool provided. I left all the screws loose until I was finished which helped with alignment. Took an hour. Pretreated with water seal. Still experimenting with substrate. Plan to paint the exterior.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Tortoises

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
TortLuvr
from Central, PA
Nicely built, and wonderful size. My torts have been more active in this new house with ample room to explore, than I have seen them in a long time. We have gotten so much more enjoyment with their activity using this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

well built

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
123shadow
perfect for my box turtle , but a little "pricey"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WONDERFUL

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
MucusSkunk
from Los Angeles, CA
My torts, Tortie & Chomper LOVE their new home
they have extra space to walk all around sleep in their den eat and Defecate because its a pretty big house (don't worry i don't leave them in there during the day). It was really easy to put together considering im pretty handy with a drill.
anyways i really wasn't digging the whole wooden box in my room looking like BOX so i painted it green so it can look like actual furniture
overall i love this house :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Awesome

PostedMay 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
xkinokix
My russian tortoise Dmitri loves his new home. It was slightly difficult to put together, but it was nothing a little bit of glue couldn't fix. It gives Dmitri plenty of room to romp around, but it's not too big to carry. The screening makes it good to take outside on warm days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

recommend for sometimes

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
ambsmom
from philadelphia
my turtle was a rescue due to missing a leg. he used to roam the neighborhood and loves watching everyone. i am disabled and we are always together..he needs lots of love and interaction and i hope will have turtle friends in the future..meanwhile i'm home with him and when he's not hibernating, we're together. i don'[t believe in caging animals most of the time, though he's in and out of tank indoors. (on bed or couch otherwise or in bathroom sink with water warmed from stove..which is just for him, in puppy bag with blankets/windows for car trips)
well, i thought that this product might be a safe way to leave him out for a while when i do not want to be in yard, or am busy. i love that it's very safe so bought two thinking i might connect them. the product is sturdy and well made as well as safe. the problem is, he cannot see out of it! it would be so much better if there were a screened window with metal caging (like on top) on one or more sides in which case he would like it. whenever i place him inside he scratches to get out. i still think it's a great item for sometimes..especially if have more then one turtle so they don't get lonely. it's a nice option for when i'm doing laundry..to be able to put him in, but i can do that with a portable plastic cage, too. if i find him someone with a girlfriend to visit, i'll be glad to have it. otherwise i am pretty much outside with him roaming and being nosy as usual. i hope that people will understand that aside from nutrition, temperature and hibernating needs turtles are much like us! they need love, freedom and have intelligence!! i appreciate the safety aspect of this item. when in the house in warm weather i prop a screened tenarium or plastic cage on table next to window for fresh air so that he can look around. i kept these in case we have friends for him in future in which case he wil probably enjoy it more, or in case i have a screen door next to a deck or patio in the future and he wants to sleep there on a warm summer's night, but right now this product is not helping me to have the couple of hours a day i'd hoped for knowing that he's safe and sound enjoying being outside. to the maker, please add safe windows! otherwise this is a very good item...easy to assemble as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money.

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
AHAngulo
from Miami, FL
I have two russian tortoise and they love their home. I have it outside and it has done well under the sun and rain. Great buy. Very big.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Tortoise House!

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
TopazMil
from San Diego
I just love this product, but more importantly, my desert tortoise loves it. Out during the day, he returns every day at sundown to have a bite and retire for the night. Once inside, I slide the front door closed to keep other critters out. Must have for small to medium size tortoises.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Tortoise House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great turtle habitat!

PostedMay 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
sdilliott
  • Staff
from San Diego, CA
I've had my 20+ year old rescue box turtle, Sally O'Mally, in this tortoise house for a year now (outside) and it still looks great. The two seperate top openings make for easy access to all parts of the house and the 'sky light' is nice and large to let in lots of sunlight. I love that Sally can be outside where she is happiest and still be completely safe!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.