petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Oceanic BioCube Aquarium

Stylish curved glass front corners for a panoramic viewLunar Blue-Moon-Glow LEDsCoralife compact fluorescent lighting with dual fansBioCube Aquarium systems built-in necessary componentsIntegrated wet or dry biological filtration contained in back wallInnovative fish tanks feature water-level viewing windowSleek, charcoal gray coloring and contemporary designMatching Ready-To-Assemble cabinet sold separatelyOptional protein skimmer and UV sterilizer sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
35 out of 41(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Review 1 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont Buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
FishLover2211
I have had issues with everything since I bought this. The fans were broken, making loud sounds when you turned on the lights. The lights dont last long. The filter goes from loud to louder. When you try to call to get new parts, they send you to online sellers. You cannot buy directly from them. I have been doing fish tanks for nearly 25 years, I would save my money next time and get just a plan tank. SAVE YOUR MONEY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oceanic BioCube Aquarium

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sek1958
from Florida
I love it, as it is a self-contained unit for either fresh or saltwater. I am still in the process of set up as I decided to try my hand at saltwater. I have had fresh water tanks over the years, but since I moved to Florida, it makes sense to go salt. I would recommend this tank for either salt or fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biocube-29

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
BobA5
from Bowie, MD.
This tank system is all inclusive,and needs nothing but fish and decoatives. I think this is a fantastic system. Bob
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice for a small tank

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
new2salt
from florida
this tank is really self contained and small i love the fact that it is a glass tank i have a acrylic tank but i prefer the glass better i haven't set it up yet but i like that all of the filter stuff is hidden in the back of the tank so you don't see all of the tubes and stuff coming from the back of the tank will let you know when i get it up and running
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

29 Gallon BioCube

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
eltigre
from Clarion, PA
Was easy to setup. Nice diagrams in the manual as well as a very nice list of parts in the manual as well. Part of my pump was missing and the cooling fans for the lights did not work. Contacting BioCube currently for either parts or replacement as it should be under warranty since I ordered it two weeks ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this biocube is good except its Replacement Filter Cartridges

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
miumiu
the Replacement Filter Cartridges in my 14gallon biocube is useless, only 1week it turned to brown and didn't work well at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this for Fresh Water Fish

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
PetcoJenn
from Bethesda, Maryland
We love this for our fresh water fish. The aquarium is the perfect size for a space that we have and the aquarium is very sturdy and set up nicely. There's nothing hanging off the tank, it's all tucked in behind the glass and under the hood. Well, except for the heater, that's the one thing but it's very nice that there is space for a power cord for that.
Anyway, the fish love it, it's pretty easy to use. It's nice that it has the 3 different levels of lighting (moonlight, med flourescent and what I would probably call nuclear meltdown lighting - we don't usually turn that on).
The filter was a bit difficult to get in properly, but I'm sure that that will get better with trial and error.
You do need to keep the water at a certain level (there's min and max water level signs on the sides) so if you go away, you should leave some conditioned water out for the person stopping in because they might have to add some.
Anyway, it's a nice space for the fish, nicely designed stank, it's sturdy, it's not noisy, most everything is included and we're quite pleased with the purchase. If we ever switch to salt water fish, we can start w/ this tank as well (adding the protein skimmer and the chemicals).
Also, there is no space for fish to jump out as someone else posted - that must have been an old (unfortunate) design. We have small fish in there, and that is not a concern.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a verry nice aquarium.

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
aquariumguy88
from Quartz Hill Ca.
I have now had this aquarium for a month and i really like the desighn and the lighting! but the filter is really not that great the cartriges are too expensive and do not do a good job or last verry long. i ended up having to replace mine in a couple weeks. I have since modified my filter with the inTank media basket and i absolutly love the results! i have never seen water so crystal clear! the initail price to get it started was high but the filter media lasts 3 months and is cleanable and reusable im running purigen and chemi-pure elite in my inTank and i love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great aquarium, all included, looks great

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
wvujeb
from Clarksburg, WV
This aquarium looks great and includes everything needed to start a saltwater reef tank, except a heater. (Some corals may require additional/different lighting.) The other great thing is that the aquarium will do well on its own or can be modified to be even better. Many users have utilized the filtration chambers to add/modify filtration and store their heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good...?

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
AshevilleShrimp
from Asheville, NC
Have had my 29g BioCube running for about a month now and so far everything seems okay. Need to keep up with the daily doses and I do not have the HQI set up so I can not grow some species of LPS and SPS but it's all a learning experience.
Future notice, the more water volume the easier to control all parameters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roryb24
from Nc
Awesome easy to use easy to setup and modify.
It's great for a person who is new RO saltwater tanks. The price is high but it's worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-11points
6of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
chloeiscute
from Albany, NY
I have had every tank ever made all glass, from 5 to 48 gal. bow fronts...started over with this tank OMG WONDERFUL.......easy set up, everything you need is there, and is the perfect size...love the optional lighting... set up in a couple of hours and cant wait for the tank to complete the water cycle so I can get started with the fish...here is the tank after I set it up : ) COULDN'T BE HAPPIER
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank for Beginners like we are. Must Buy!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
AntnLo
from Chico, Ca
About a year ago we wanted to go from fresh water and try out salt water and figured this was our best bet to start with. This tank comes with everything you need to have a reef tank. (Soft Corals only due to not enough lighting but that is also for a more experienced hobbyist) My tank has 5 fish in total. Wrasse, Clown, 2 gobbies (yellow and neon blue) and a fire-fish. We also have a sand-sifting star fish, several algae sails and a few other crabs etc. Corals we have a ton throughout too many to name and two Anemones. We are maxed out BUT everything is doing fine. First few months is a bit hard natural cycles need to go through you will loose fish until totally ready. Would like to warn everyone tho If this is your first salt tank once we received you need to put a lot of hours and money into the tank before its fish and coral ready... You need live sand, live rock, several chemicals and test kits not to mention the salt water and eventually fish, inverts etc. It is a very rewarding Hobby but VERY costly to start and maintain. I would absolutely recommend this tank if you are for sure ready to start getting into the salt water tanks. It is just right not to small (anything under this 14 gal) and not too big where its over whelming. SO I hope this helps and if you are ready for the fun, excitement, disappointment, time and money this is a EXCELLENT tank to start with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great start

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
SamuraiSteve
from Burleson, tx
Received everything fast and in great condition. I wanted to start a saltwater tank for the first time. This was recommended to me by lots of people from petco and other local pet stores and I am glad I followed their advise. The setup was easy and I am so happy with it! From doing other research it would have been more of a hassle and fairly expensive to convert my current freshwater tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
squirrelz
So far i enjoy this biocube im cycling now and everything seems to be in great shape it came in excellent condition and it was a great deal opted to not get the stand however and put it on a very strong iron endtable instead looks great and is real quiet
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tank purchase!!

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jrtrino
This is th e easiest tank set up. The tank does it all. All we needed extra was decorations and a heater. Fish are doing well and the tank looks great. Lighting is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Aquarium

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
BoontonBill
from Northern New Jersey
Great aquarium for beginners. I am new to the fish world. I will be setting up a fish only saltwater reef aquarium. The biocube has everything you need to get started. I will be using artificial coral and artificial live rock. The only thing I have to add is a 50 watt heater. I would recommend the Biocube to new aquarium fans anytime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME !!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharonisasillyrabbit
from denair, CA
I did some research before buying this aquarium, and settled on the 14 gallon Bio-cube. It is fantastic. I love it. It was so easy to put together, and has a very quiet pump. The veiw is so wonderful, and when all set up, it is just like being underwater with the fish. Very good product great price....you cant go wrong with it.
I will definately buy another one of these !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great nano Tank!

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
reeffreak
from MI
Shipped very quick. Arrived in good shape, everything was very easy to set up and get running. Already have tank set up with live rock, and starting to add my inhabitants.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oceanic BioCube Aquarium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase

PostedAugust 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
fivedobies
from Jupiter, FL.
ordered the 29 gal tank for my grandson and it came damaged. Brought it back to the nearest store for refund--quick and easy and it was a weekend-and received new one in just a few days. It cycled quickly and was easy to teach my grandson how to care for the tank. Loved the ease of it so much that I ordered one for myself !!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>