petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding

Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding

Earth-friendly pet bedding for all small animalsColorfast sticks to the bedding, not to your petHighly absorbentPillow-soft pet substrateNatural lavender scent calms pets and always smells freshGreat odor control for pet waste
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
36 out of 43(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Review 1 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best!

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Badkitty
from San Diego, CA
This is one of the best bedding for hamsters.
This bedding did hold the orders for 2 weeks now.
I usually have to change bedding in 3 days, but not this one. It feels good, smells good. Can't complain about it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Good For Guinea Pigs

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this bedding for my American Guinea Pig a few months ago and I found that I wasn't as satisfied as I thought I was.
1) The Lavender smell only last maybe a day before it no longer smells good
2) Guinea pigs get scared quite easily and if you have an wire cage like I did, They flick the bedding ALL over the floor when they run or get scared.
3) Isn't very absorbent. Imagine it like little rocks (Gravel). It's Soft enough for them to lay on but, it causes the owner to change their cage every single day
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for rabbit litter box

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
LouieSmores
from Providence RI
We have had a bunny rabbit for 6 years and have tried various bedding for his cage and litter box area. This product by far, is the best for our bunny's little bathroom. He seems to like the purple flowers and goes less anywhere else in the cage when this is the bathroom option. We also keep him in the house, so the smell is kept to a minimum, if anything at all! Love this purple stuff!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oh Ferrets

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lesbatron
from Denver, CO
Not suggested for these little guys! This bedding gets all sort of mixed up in their fur, and their smell is not really moved, just masked and combined with (lavender and ferret is not a good mix).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Loved at first sight, but then dissapointed

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yuls
from Washington, DC
I was so happy at first to discover this one, I love lavender and it smelled amazing, looked great, too, and our guinea pig always found something to chew on in the bedding (like rose buds!). Then we started to discover side effects. First, it's very loose and stays this way. On one hand, you can easy remove dirty patches, but on the other, I believe it is very hard to sleep on. We keep the cage open so our guinea pig can stand up on his hind paws and greet us and demand his treats. every time he jumps up there are loose pieces of bedding flying around and considering we have him in the kitchen... it's not very attractive. it is a constant mess, although I swipe the floors few times a day. Also, because he moves around a lot, there are spaces where bedding piles up and there are also bare cage floor. When he tries to jump up to the upper "shelf" his paws slip and he falls back. We thought it's unacceptable and we can't be there 24x7 watching his cage to make sure the bedding is evenly spread at all times. We don't put too little, as you might think. We are very generous in pouring the bedding. So, as much as I love the smell and the appearance of it... we are going to choose other brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

long-lasting freshness

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susiepetlover
from Amarillo,TX
Love, love, love this product.. I have a male Guinea pig and he can be quite shooey at times. I hade tried so many things that would last but 3 days and felt as if money was going down the potty. THIS STUFF WORKS so well that company can't tell I still have Mr. Stinky. Also, the different scents are nice too. Lavender has been known to have a calming effect and it sure keeps the piggie fresh (plus my house too). I also enjoy the cinnamin and rose scents although they dont come in the larger bag :(.. Try it out- you will love it guarentee!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaytee Lavender Litter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
niittymaki
from southern Illinois
This is by far the best litter I have ever found. It beats all the others hands down. It smells nice. Absorbs very well. It is a little more expensive than the others, but you are not having to use as much of this, so therefore that makes up for the extra cost. Try it, you'll like it. : )
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well for my bunny

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
rnr52
from Rochester, NY
This works well for my bunny and his litter box. It has a nice scent and good odor control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small animal odor control

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
lmaton2
from Atlanta, GA
I have three rabbits and use a combination of this and the CareFresh recycled newspaper in their litter pans. I put the lavender pet bedding in the corners of their litter pans where they urinate and cover the whole pan with the CareFresh product as it costs a lot less than the Kaytee product. Really helps keep the ammonia smell under control.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom24Kiddoz
from Murrieta, CA
I put a small layer of the natural carefresh bedding in the bottom of my guinea pigs cage, then put a light layer of the lavender granule bedding on top. It smells nice and really keeps any odors at a minimum.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
iluvlucy
from va
The best bedding for hamsters. My family said hamsters smell so when I bought mine I asked for the best odor protectant and I was referred to this. Well I havent heard my family complain once about the odor and frankly I have never smelled an odor from my hamster. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveLee
from San Antonio, Texas
This product is amazing. It handles odor so well I almost forget to clean the cage. It NEVER smells. Another thing I really like about this product is unlike the wood shavings or carefresh paper bedding, It stays in the cage. My bunny will hop and kick the others right out of the cage and on to my carpet very easily. This one takes a day or two before I find any little granule balls on the floor, and they are easy to just vacuum up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Countess24
from Wisconsin
I LOVE the smell of lavender and this is an awesome, natural way to control odors. I nearly forget to change the cage because it NEVER smells! It's better than the carefresh stuff, which although the colors are fun, doesn't help with odor as much as this does. It's a bit pricey though. I have mixed the carefresh with this and it still helps with the odor and makes it last a little longer than if I were to just use it alone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great smell!

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
nannabelle
from Houston, Texas
The lavender scented bedding is amazing. Our guinea pig NEVER smells. We have to use a calendar to remind us to change his bedding, because we never notice an odor coming from his cage. We have a male in a 50 gallon tank with a reptile fitted lid. He squeals when we put him back in his tank after a bedding change and runs around kicking bedding everywhere and piling it up to sleep in. Awesome product that I recommend all the time,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smell

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hammieandfishy
from CA
this smells soo good. smells are elliminated.this is an amazing bedding.doesnt stick to cage when wet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST!

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
kams712
from Plainview, NY
We have a male Guniea Pig who can really stink it up quickly. This litter is FABULOUS at order control and very absobent. I love it. I also believe Oreo loves it! He himself seems to smell better :)...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tbrown8
from Clinton, Ia
We have 3 hairless rats, and they can get stinky very quickly. We've tried several other odor-eating beddings, and none have worked as well as this product. We'll stick with this from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for litter

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
nummy1to1the1ummy
from Toledo, Ohio
i got this for my rabbit and it works great as litter sense its scented and super absorbent but as bedding you could get better especially if you have a large cage like i do. but if you have a hamster rat or mouse this would make great bedding! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Deal!

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
FluffyMarshmallow
from Alexandria, VA
I have bought cheap bedding, and the premium, most expensive, and now this Lavendar Bedding which is absolutely the best. Eliminates Odor, and is soft and cuddly that my guinea pig prefers to sleep on a pile of this bedding vs. her fleece hammock that she used to sleep on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Soft Granule Lavender Pet Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells Great

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
HammieLuver22
from Glendale, AZ
This bedding so far for me and Milo(my hamster) pretty good. It smells great, too. The only thing that i didn't like though was that since the bedding is more compact than others, my hamster can't burrow like he wants to. Overall it's great and would probably purchase it in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>