petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Cat Food

Wellness CORE Cat Food

Protein-rich, grain-free natural cat food formulaContains no meat by-products, wheat, soy, dairy, corn or corn gluten, artificial flavors, preservatives or colorsIncludes high protein while still controlling fat, calories, calcium and phosphorusDry cat food that features 5 USDA grade meat sourcesActiCoat System applies living, heat-sensitive Probiotic micro-organisms after cooking to support digestive healthMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
85
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
94 out of 98(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Review 81 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better cat food

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Since we've been feeding our cats this food (especially the "big boned" one) we've noticed good changes. Better coats, more energy, and even a little weight loss with controlled portions. What we've read about what cats should eat tell us this is the way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Food on Market

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
from New York ,NY
You can't beat 50% protein content in a dry cat food. Has more protein than canned food. The only way to get more protein is to prepare it yourself. I use it for my breeders and my neuter/spays. They have wonderful size, coat, eyes and activity. Some have tried to convert me to the mail-order food which is very high quality, but Core is less expensive and contains better ingredients.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, healthy, delicious!

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
We feed our cats Instinct canned food, which also contains no meat byproducts, fillers, or grains, and wanted to supplement our cats' diet with a similar, dry food that they can munch on between meals. Core fits the bill perfectly - it has all of the qualities we were looking for, and our cats *love* it! They get very excited when it's poured from the bag.
Both of our cats are adult cats, one around 8 years old, the other around 13. Neither have weight issues, and they're very healthy and energetic. I highly recommend Core for cats of any age.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Adult & Kitten

PostedJune 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
My cat's love this food! I have an adult and a kitten, and Core is meets both of their needs. So I only have to put one food out, and they gobble this it up. I'm really glad to find a dry food that is of such high quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
My cat is a VERY picky eater, and I was hestitant about switching his food. I have done it many times before with no success. I brought this food home, and he LOVED it. I have been feeding him Wellness CORE for about 3 months now. He is now at a good weight (he was a little over weight before he started on this food). It is a little on the pricey side in comparison to supermarket brands, but since it is high quality and has no fillers, cats don't have to eat as much food. My cat and I would highly recommend this food!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a life saver for me and my cat

PostedFebruary 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have a Ragdoll that is 2 years old. Shortly after I bought her as a kitten, she developed a black to brown crust around her mouth. It spread down her neck, in her ears and on her cheeks. I would have to spend almost an hour a day removing it by washing and cleaning. Needless to say, she was not happy. I tried all kinds of medicines from 4 different vets, one was a pet Dermetologyst. All kinds of cleansers, shots for infections, allergy medications. I got rid of all of her plastic bowls, metal, changed litters, water and many brands of food including food for allergic cats from the vet. She was even treated for mange and other mite type critters. Nothing worked.
I was getting a new kitten as a friend for her, which I tthought might help. Going on line I found a breeder in Australia who beleived that cats should only be fed organic meat and no grains. That her cats where all very healthy. Unable to do that, I searched for a dry food that had no grains. That meant no corns, oats, soybeans etc. as well as wheat. It also had to have a high protien ratio, no by products. She had been on one from the vet, but it's main ingrediant was liver. Liver is a wonderful source of vitamin A, but too much will hurt the liver. Besides, the liver filters out the toxins and retains them, so why give my cat, liver. She didn't even like it. I found Wellness Core and decided to try it. I had spent thousands on vet visits, medications and trying different products. Since she has been on it, her face has cleared up, she has gained weight (She was too thin), her coat is gorgeous and feels like an angora. If I were into showing cats at shows, I think she would do well as she is now a stunning cat.
She loved the taste, right off the bat. I put some in with her other kibble and she only ate the Core. After 2 days I threw out the other food even though it was expensive and I had a lot left. Her sensitive stomach is fine. All the medical bills and this was all she needed. In addition I have added Wellness Chicken and Chicken and Meat canned food to her diet. I just give her 1/4 can a day as a treat and she loves it also. I warm up the refrigerated portions before I give it to her as if she were eating wild fod, it would be warm. Well that is it. I can't thank Wellness enough for thier wonderful food, Core. When my kitten is a little older, she will be on it also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats are happier and healthier

PostedFebruary 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
The price may seem high, but because the ingredients are of such high quality, you will need a lot less to feed your cats. I have 3 cats and am on my first bag which is still 3/4 way full after over a month of feeding. After 2-3 weeks, there was a huge change in all 3 cats, the most notable being with an overweight, shy cat that used to hide under furniture all day. Her fur was greasy and matted and she wouldn't come out to play, but now she is active and her fur is soft. She also throws up a lot less often. I attribute this to switching from a cheap brand to this great food. It's DEFINITELY worth the price to see your cats have a higher quality of life!
A note for people whose cats don't take to this food right away: Mine didn't either, so I mixed it with a little bit of "junk food" until they got used to the taste. Most kids don't like the taste of salad and plain chicken but it's arguably better for them than a cheeseburger.. so just stick with it and your cats will adjust eventually to eating healthy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best.

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Plantation, FL
My cats were switched onto this diet after the required time on the I/D diet was over. This is hands down the best food you can buy at a normal pet store. High in protein, no meat by-products, wheat, soy, dairy, corn or corn gluten, artificial flavors, preservatives or colors! Human quality meats! Their coat is silkier and smoother than ever. They are happy and playful. My two cats eat the dry kibble alone and they like the wet food just as much. I did not have to ween them off old food at all, they took to it right away with no problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great product, but not for my cats

PostedJanuary 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
I picked this product because of how good the ingredients are. The first two ingredients are deboned chicken and turkey, rather than wheat or some by-products. It's got one of the highest protein levels I've seen in a cat food without getting a medicated food. Plus, there isn't all the garbage in it most foods have. I would recommend the food, but you should get a small bag first to see how your cats like it. I tried it on my cats (I have a 7 year old siamese, 2.5 year old main coon, and 3 kittens under 4 months) and none of them would eat it. I was very surprised and disappointed by that. The food is much healthier than what they have been eating, but for some reason, they just didn't have a taste for it. I would still recommend it, but you should try it on your cats first to make sure they will eat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Undoubtedly Worth the Price!

PostedDecember 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Maine
When I adopted my kitten I started her on wet food at first, and soon discovered a rather horrible thing: gas!!! This cat was quite possibly the smelliest farting cat I'd ever had in my life! After the recommendation of a PETCO associate I tried her on this food and was amazed by the results. My cat's coat returned to its silky softness, which she has not lost at 8 months old, her energy level has increased, she's sleek and muscular, and she certainly smells better! I had tried to switch her to another more cost-effective food but the change was for the worst: her coat grew coarse and she was eating a lot more. Definitely this food is worth the price. I wouldn't change her to anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great no-grain dry food

PostedDecember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Although wet food is far better for your cat than dry food, if you think you must feed dry then a no-grain food is the only option. Wellness CORE is a great no-grain dry food and all of my cats will eat it. Although it costs more than the cheaper, corn-based foods that are so bad for your cat (cats don't need carbs!), they eat less of this food because they get more nutrition out of it. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Dry Food

PostedOctober 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have three cats ranging in age from nine months to seven years. They're all indoor cats, of course. One has food allergies and one has a very sensitive stomach. Six weeks ago, I switched them from their previous food to this food, and I have noticed a big change. They're more playful, their coats are much softer (like down feathers!) and shinier, their bowel movements are more regular and not very stinky. It has not irritated the kitty with allergies. The kitty with the sensitive stomach hasn't gotten ill since the week of the switch. For a dry food, this food is top notch!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the cost!

PostedOctober 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
It is great having a cat food that you can use for more than one lifestage! Although CORE is pricey, if you've got an adult and and a kitten, this is a very cost effective option.
My cats like the taste of this, and I'm happy that they're eating right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Kitten/Cat food EVER

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Ok so I rarely write reviews but this had to be said. It is a food for both cats and kittens. I had been struggling for weeks to find a food that accommodated both my 6-year old Norwegian Forest Cat and my 2 4-month old Maine Coons. The older one loved the fatty kitten food and I couldn't keep the kittens out of his hairball food. This has been the miracle food. Not only does it contain no grains, all the kitties love it. The litter box odor has been greatly reduced which is a joy. We all know how bad kitten droppings can be, there is hardly any smell and it goes away fast. There has also been a major reduction in the shedding and hairball situation. I had to brush the Norwegian almost everyday and would get brush after brush of fur. I was surprised he wasn't bald. Since changing to this food we brush more for pleasure than necessity. I am lucky if I get 1 brush full of fur. My friends don't need to use the roller every time they leave and I can go to work without folks asking me how my grey and black cats are (I am usually covered from head to toe). I can't rave enough about this food. We also do the wellness wet and the treats which I have to hide or else I wake up to the bag on the floor chewed open. Thank you wellness. Katie, Smokey, Louie and Buzz
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Cat Food

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is the best cat food there is, if you don't count raw feeding. It's grain free, very high in natrual meat and low in carbs. Just an excellent all around cat food. Our cats absolutly adore it and just gobble it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money, Excellent Food!!

PostedAugust 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
I had been feeding my Persian Purina One which he had been doing fine with. We then adopted a Birman who was constantly throwing up, whether she wolfed down her food or not. She was on original Science Diet. After doing a ton of research I decided that the natural ingredients in Wellness sounded like the way to go for BOTH my kitties. I had considered Science Diet for sensitive stomachs, but the ingredients in Wellness are much more appropriate for a kittie's digestive system, so I decided to try it. I slowly mixed their food with Wellness over a week period, and for two weeks now they haven been solely on Wellness. I am happy to report my kitty has gone a WEEK now without throwing up!! They both really enjoy it. I also feel so much better that they are eating food that is so much healthier for them. Highly recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not mentioned by PETCO: Core is an all ages food!

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I've fed my adult cat several formulations of Wellness dry since he was a kitten, and recently switched to Core. Upon getting a new kitten after the switch, I made a pleasant discovery: Core is an all age formula. It says so right on the bag. That means it can support a kitten's dietary needs too!
It's great not to have to buy two different foods, and not having to patrol the feeding area to make sure the cat does not eat kitten food and viceversa. In fact, my cat and kitten insist on eating from the same feeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Choice Available for Dry Food

PostedJune 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Carbondale, IL
Low Carbohydrate, grain-free food that all of my furkids love. I still feed a wet food primarily, but if you must feed dry, this has to be (at least so far) the best choice I have come across.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5