petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Cat Food

Wellness CORE Cat Food

Protein-rich, grain-free natural cat food formulaContains no meat by-products, wheat, soy, dairy, corn or corn gluten, artificial flavors, preservatives or colorsIncludes high protein while still controlling fat, calories, calcium and phosphorusDry cat food that features 5 USDA grade meat sourcesActiCoat System applies living, heat-sensitive Probiotic micro-organisms after cooking to support digestive healthMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
93 out of 97(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Review 1 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJuly 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
PreOre
We've long made the commitment to introduce healthy and nutritious food to our pets. Wellness has always been a top contender in our household. The quality of food is superior, with wholesome ingredients and no junk or unnecessary fillers added.
Our cat is the certainly one of the PICKIEST cats out there, and she has never turned down this formula. She also loves Wellness Core. It's reassuring to know that not only are we feeding her some of the best food out there, but she LOVES it as well. Wellness foods will always be a staple in our pets' diets, highly recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
20of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greta Grain Free

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
jeanbeanie
from Hyattsville, MD
This cat food is loved by our six cats. It doesn't have grains, fillers, or additives. It also isn't "raw."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it and it may have cleared up their skin

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
deathanddream
from Washington State
Great ingredients! Switched awhile back because my cats both had bald patches in their fur. It wasn't fleas, didn't see any kind of rash or hot spots or anything, so I thought maybe it was their diet. It's clearing up now, and although I'm not certain the food did it, the timing is right. Regardless, they seem to enjoy it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Grain-Free

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
MadCoCats
from Hunstville, AR
When my 14 year old cat developed thyroid problems, I was living in Bush, Alaska where there weren't any vets. I did a lot of online research, waded through the nonsense and discovered that cats are obligate carnivores. Well, duh! I research grain-free catfood and Wellness rated the highest. I purchased it, spent a fortune to have to shipped to northern Alaska and my cats loved it. I tried to introduce them to the raw-food diet. They won't give up their Wellness dry food, although they are still supplemented with healthy, grain-free canned food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Probably the best dry food for cats

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dynamitediva
from Los Angeles,CA
I feed my cat a rotation of dry, wet and raw meat. He's finicky so not just any kind of food will do. He likes real ingredients and in guess in terms of dry food, Wellness Core is as "real" as it gets. He never completely switches over to wet, I think he's used to the crunchiness of his kibbles, they are hard but not rock hard and you should be able to crush one with two fingers.
My cat generated far less stools than when he was on Royal Canin and loss some weight to his now petite 8.3lbs figure. I've tried Wellness wet but he simply hates pate food. So, this is the only Wellness brand I can get him to eat. It's more expensive than others but a 5lb bag will last me for 3 months, so no complaints here.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Core is where it's at!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeeluB
from San Francisco, CA
My kitties both LOVE all of the Wellness foods, and I love that the CORE version is grain free... Cats are not omnivores - they need a protein-based diet, and they don't need all the other junk... Wellness has been so great for my kitties and I am excited for the new flavors!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pennyebony
from Swampscott MA
Since addressing the crumb problem or fine problem, the product is much better. My cat was previously not happy with all the crumbs. He is once again enjoying his food.
I use this product for my diabetic cat. The ingredients appear to be much better than the brands sold by the vet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wellness is a wonderful brand

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BBBeauty
I love wellness, I have been feeding every varriety of wellness for years. I've also tried many other brands and none of them are digested as well as wellness. The only problem I have with Wellness Core Original is the fact that it has fish in it. While for many indoor/outdoor cats this might be fine for.... fish is known to cause "smelly" stools and trust me IT DOES! all other other Wellness cores say "fish-free" so if you have an indoor cat or a litterbox for that matter try the turkey or the indoor formulas they are fish free. =) I love wellness!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dry food for my two angels

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
boweryqueen
from dover,n.h
I augment this original core formula dry food with the Soulistic canned food.Mainly because they like the kibble and their teeth seem to stay nice.Both cats have sensitive tummies and these two foods work for them perfectly.I also feed them small amounts throughout the day and then nothing but water after 6pm.This seems to naturally coincide with the nocturnal behavior of the wild cat.Hunting through the night and then intermittedly snacking on what ever was caught during the day.My old senior male Butters and our young miss Katy are very healthy and happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cat food!!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
trescats
Just recently switched our three cats (1 y/o, 6 y/o and 10 y/o) to Wellness Core and have already noticed they energy levels... not that it was a problem before! I know this food has a strong fish smell but the cats love it! Made the decision to feed natural food and this is the best pick, would recommend to everyone who wants the best for their animals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great nutrition for my cats...

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
dzancan
from Chicago, IL
All 6 of my fussy cats LOVE Core! I have 2 with grain allergies so it is critical for me to have well balanced healthy grain free food! This has been a great alternative to the hard to find and pricier other brand I had been feeding them
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats look great!

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
MultiAnimalHouse
I have two black cats who have beautiful shiny coats since switching to this food. One of them used to vomit quite often, but that has greatly decreased since switching to a grain free brand. My only complaint is that it slightly smells like fish food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line dry cat food

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
MILKandHoney
from Seattle, WA
This is a very good dry cat food. The kitties love it and it is one of the best dry cat foods. It provides good nutrition for cats, focusing on animal protein and avoiding corn fillers. Well worth the cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness CORE dry cat food is wonderful

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
GraceInKC
from Kansas City, MO
My cats have eaten this product for quite sometime now and still love the taste. I chose it because of its high quality, high protein, grain-free ingredients. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutritional Value

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
FabricGoddess
from Austin, TX
I love that this product is grain free. It is nutritionally dense and I find that it makes both of my cats coats softer and more luxurious. After switching them to this food I see them more active and a vast improvement in their fur's texture and softness. I've recomended this food to friends and family. I love to know my cats are getting the nutrition they need without all the byproducts and fillers found in so many other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
FranklinsMom
from NC
I have been feeding this to my indoor cat for 2 years now with no problems whatsoever. He eats the recommended amount found on the bag with 3oz of wet food each day (also Wellness). No weight issues, no health issues of any kind. His coat is very soft and shiny. His teeth are perfect. He really loves this food as he comes running anytime he hears the bag move. Has the highest amount of protein on the market that I'm aware of. Has a really fishy smell but my cat loves seafood varieties.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Core Cat Food

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
islandlover
from Michigan
Excellent product. My cat stays full all day and is not constantly begging for food. Very good quality and glad it was recomended to me and that your store carries this brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Ingredients!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MissSophia
from Lompoc, CA
I easily switched my cat over to this food recently after she turned 1 and no longer had the need for kitten food. I did my research, this by far has the best ingredients, and my cat loves it. Thanks for carrying this food, PetCo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality grain free diet

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dagny
from St. Louis, MO
Cats do not need carbs. They eat 100% protein. Our cat passed away from renal failure complicated by feline diabetes. After this I decided no more cheap grain based foods. We feed our new cats Wellness Core dry cat food. It is a grain free and protein based diet. Our cats love the taste are lean and energetic with soft healthy coats. I recommend this cat food to anyone looking for a grain free protein based diet for their cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wellness CORE Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love the product, but not sure my cats do

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
burrybur
from Memphis, TN
I really wish my cats would have loved this food as much as I do. It's great nutrition, but for the price, they're not all that into it. I've been searching for something that's good for them and that they like. They seem to love the cheapy foods like Friskies the best! I guess like humans, junk food tastes better. The search goes on...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>