petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box

Automatic litter box scoops waste for youRemoves odors with powerful activated carbon filtersEliminates daily contact with waste and dirty litter pansPowerful yet quiet motor unit
Average Customer Rating:
3.547 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
10
36 out of 53(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not last; more work then regular litter box

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
In the first month of owning this I would have rated it a 4. now after 6 months of struggling with this box and the amount of effort it takes to maintain it (it no longer works). I would easily choose a regular manual scoop box over this. It's expensive but if it worked.. totally worth the money.. however, it doesn't. i have one 7.5lb cat which should be no challenge for this "multi" cat box...right?!
The quality of this box is poor. after the first month if you don't constantly keep it perfectly clean it starts to struggle. even when you do constantly take it apart and clean it; it gets stuck. If it has a heavy 'load' to scoop up it struggles; It gets stuck a LOT. sometimes it will free itself and fling the cat waste 3 feet out of the box. This means not only do you have to manually clean out the litter every other day because it's stuck you have to clean up the mess it throws all around outside of the box.
After two months of owning this i had to reset it at least 3 times a week and every other day clean up the mess. buy the 4th month it was worse.. now at 6 months the box has no sense of the size of it's 'track' and it tries to run itself off of the track every single time and stops working. so now, I have a large, bulky, expensive, manual little box.. and I'll tell you what.. in this state manually scooping everyday/other day is easier than the work I had to do when the thing actually 'functioned'.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multiple cats

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rockport, Tx
great for multiple cats and they had no problems jumping right in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The rake hangs up...

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Frankfort, KY
I was anxiously awaiting the arrival of this product from the reviews I read and the video I watched. Once it arrived, I followed the directions to put it together, then placed it in the laundry room. I hit the power button to turn on the unit, and the rake got caught up and was bending backwards under the containment tray. Then violently pops forward throwing litter & clumps out into the floor. The rake hangs up 4 times before it ever reaches the end of the litter box to dump the waste. I'm afraid it will break itself since the casing is plastic and the rake is metal. Quite disappointed...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gloucester, MA
The motor isn't strong enough. Binds on clumps. A very, very expensive litter box. i doubt very much anyone will contact me for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built and works!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford, NH
Easy to put together, well built, quiet and works very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartScoop box

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I haven't had any problems with the SmartScoop box and I use the LitterMaid litter. I have a manual box next to the new one and my 2 cats seem to choose to use the new box more, probably because it is cleaned after each use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didn't work at all

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from shelton, CT
I had purchase this unit a year ago and it worked great for the first week after that it kept jamming. My thought is the motor isn't strong enough to go through the heavy used liter. I have three cats. I continued to use it but had to unjam it daily. I then purchased the litermaid ulitmate for multiple cats that unit that was a disaster the waste container system is a joke so it was returned the same day. So I purchased another smartscoup and the rake kept getting caught and in fact it bent with clean liter!!. Needless to say that went back to the store. None of these units are for multiple cats especially large cats that my feeling. I went back to our old litter box and scoup manually. Not worth the cost and aggravation
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have always wanted one of these

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
This is my first automated cat litter box. Someone went to a lot of research to make this item work perfectly, and the motor and moving parts are made of high impact plastic. Set up takes less than five minutes and the cats took to it immediately. They appreciate having a fresh pan every time. They are fascinated by watching the rake go back and forth. On one occasion the rake hit bottom and some welds broke. Customer Service provided us with a new rake free of charge. No matter how much we serviced the old style cat litter boxes, the house smelled of cat. This cat box is odorless. Waste is simple to dispose. In all, the perfect solution to the only down side of having cats (except clawing the furniture).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Smart Scoop

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
I purchased Smart Scoop for my cat.I was hoping to get one which performed better than a competitors electric litter box I previously owned. I would rate this as only slightly better. Smart scoop does have a disposal system which is cheaper than the previous brand I tried. However, my cat is large, 19 lbs , so his waste amount is large. The waste sticks to the rake, or jams in the raking process. So this product is better for smaller or medium sized cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent So Far!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
Okay so I have had it less than 24 hours, but so far I love it. I have held off getting an automatic scooping litter pan for a long time because my husband objected and because of bad reviews of them breaking or not working properly. I very well might hate this machine after a while, but as of right now it works and works as advertised. It doesn't pick up everything, but it says that right in the directions. If it shortens the amount of time I spend maintaining the litter box and works for a year or more then I am considering this money well spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great catbox

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from california
Let me start off by saying this is a great catbox, the information on this box is a bit misleading though, it says you can use the litter you use all the time before the purchase of this box. What the description for this catlitter box needs to say is that it is recommended by the manufacturer that customers use Fresh step or Tidy cat(Blue bag) because the clay content in these litters are lower, and its easier for the machine to work. I use arm&hammer double duty cat litter, and the machine struggles to clean the catbox. I do plan to switch to Fresh step once i've used up the litter i have now, but i thought customers should know. I've had to have the cleaning rake replaced once already since i recieved it in the mail, but that is only because the rake was bent up when i recieved the catbox.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

One year later

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Walnut Creek, CA
My cat has used an automated litter box all of his 7 years. The first was a Littermaid. Our first LitterMaid lasted 4 years and we loved it. It never caused a problem until the third year when it started slowing down and finally died. The second LitterMaid was a new design and made more cheaply. It only lasted a year. I got a 3rd LitterMaid that lasted about six months, that's when I decided to change brands.
I changed to the SmartScoop after consulting with the PetCo employee. When we got it home, it was easy to put together and a bit noisier than the LitterMaid but not bad. It worked well for about three months then would jam periodically. One year later, I am about to purchase something new because this machine doesn't go a day without jamming.
I am lucky that my cat is the best in the world and tolerates the mechanism being out of place if I don't catch it in time. I have now turned off the machine and I'm using it as a manual litterbox. I'm looking for something new that actually works longer than one year.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Litter Box!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
I am used to the Litter Maid and I just like this box so much better. Litter Maids only lasted on average 10 months in my house until we decided to try something else. I have had this for almost a year and the motor started stopping and giving an error light. Less than five minutes on the phone with a customer service person and they are sending me a new motor in 2-3 business days. That's way faster than I expected. My cats love the bigger size this has and cleaning is pretty easy for me, everything is easy to take apart. Once my other Litter Maid dies I'll be replacing it with this one no questions asked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SmartScoop

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Reading MA
Did not like this product - right out of the box it gave me problems. The rake kept jamming on the bottom of the pan and caused the rake to bang. Tried to fix but ended up returning to store. I got the Littermaid Elite and much happier with it already, a lot of nice features.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
We have a Litter Maid as well as this unit. The Smart Scoop has worked so far after a few weeks. Some issues raised in other reviews have come up but so far have not interfered in the function of the unit. In spite of spraying the bottom with the anti-stick spray as recommended, urine-soaked litter can still stick to the bottom. When going through a cycle, the rake seems to get stuck or jam against the bottom of the box and this forces it to reverse and retry multiple times. Eventually it does make it all the way to the end and scoops waste into the bin. The cat litter we use is Arm and Hammer, which seems to clump well enough. Although I like that the rake is metal, it could probably use a little design tweaking. As far as noise, it is much quieter than the Litter Maid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats' Best Friend

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin, WI
I bought one of these over a year ago and its motor quit working. I contacted Smart Scoop and they sent me an entire new unit to replace my failed motor. I couldn't be happier with the customer service I received. I will never buy a different kind of litter box. Thank you Smart Scoop for making my life and my cats life much easier.
ps...I have 3 cats and one box serves them well, but for their tax return present they will be receiving their second :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works 4 Me

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I read a LOT of reviews of various auto-cat-boxes before choosing this one. I see they all have shortcomings. This one is not perfect, but it is very good and does what I expected.
The engine is strong enough and has not had a problem in the 2 months I have had this for my 13 lb cat. It didn't take too long for this middle aged cat to accept the box, but she still gets curious when the motor comes on.
Scooping is OK but not great. It works...mostly. The rake lets a lot of smaller bits through and sometimes something has gotten dropped outside the box. If the rake were tighter the motor would have to be stronger...and the price would have to rise. With my medium sized cat, you definitely won't get a weeks worth of collection between changes. 5-days is pushing it. The carbon filters are great. When it is nearly full, I take my old box scooper and move the contents of the collection bin to insure even distribution.
My cat will NOT climb that ramp or go in through the front, choosing the side entrance every time. And a small hand vac nearby is a good idea.
Overall, this does what I expected it to do and makes my life easier. I can trust that my cat's box will be usable for a few days if I am out of town.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I read the mixed reviews but decided to give it a try after my other box stopped working. It. Was. Horrible. The bag was tough to remove once the waste compartment was filled - sometimes I had to empty it part way into the litter box just to get the bag off. Worse than that - my cats like to go at the front of the bowl - where the rake doesn't reach. So then I've got clumps sticking to the front of the box inside that I have to scoop out myself. Worst of all - the rake would dump clumps outside the box almost every day. This box required daily attention or it causes a mess. There was very little that was *automatic* about this automatic litter box. I took it back after a week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth it!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Somerset, KY
This was my first time purchasing an automatic litter box so I hesitated to spend so much on a cat litter box, however, I was sooo tired of cleaning my regular one out daily with 3 cats. I am impressed with this one because even though it's not perfect, it does the job and I don't even have to worry about checking it daily. I haven't had any major problems with it at all which I've had it for only 3 weeks now. I don't smell any odor and it always looks pretty clean. It does leave behind a few clump crumbles from time to time, but the majority of waste is picked up so I'm not complaining. It has dropped a few pieces over the side a couple of times, but once again, I can handle sweeping up an occasional mishap compared to scooping and cleaning the old box out daily if not twice a day with 3 cats in the house. I do have to empty the waste bin at least every other day and replace with a new bag, but I'm sure if I only had one cat that it may actually go the full week without having to do so. Not that big of deal to do so, it's really easy to change the bag and your not touching the litter itself. You do have to add fresh litter occasionally since litter is removed daily. So far, I do not regret buying this product. It has made my job much more convenient and easier to maintain. I would definately recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SmartScoop Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

2.5 Stars - You won't love it, but you won't hate it either.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This product is pretty cheap.
It's not that it even that it doesn't do what it's supposed to, it just doesn't do it well.
It was very easy to setup. The motor and cat recepticle are all one mostly pre-assembled assembly. It was setup in less than 15 minutes following the instructions.
The problem seems to be design. The scoop is driven all on one side. Even with minimal litter (below the mimimum fill line), the scoop bogs down (and the two sides of the scoop progress unevenly at times). It even sometimes flings litter outside the box. If it was driven by a slower but more powerful motor on both sides, I think it would become a 4 star product, as long as it doesn't throw litter.
SmartScoop claims that you can get by a week between emptying the recepticle but acknowledges that if your cat sticks to one side of the box that that side will fill up faster (preventing the recepticle from closing and allowing odors back into the room)and you may have to empty it every other day. This is true.
You don't need to use any particular cat litter so long as it's clumping, but you may find that your litter seems to stink a bit more than before. Maybe because litter seems to last so long? We are moving to doing a full replace more often than when we first introduced the self scooping litter box into our home.
The box works but barely. The apologetic tone on the SmartScoop website lets us know that the device will perform, but it will never meet your highest expectations, but it may fill your minimal needs.
You won't love it, but you won't hate it either.
The hardest part of this review was choosing "Yes" or "No" to the prompt "I would recomment this product to a friend." I would, but I'd probably steer them to another make and model so we could compare notes. If I found a self-scooper that was quiet, worked without signs of being underpowered, and really did only require emptying once a week, I'd go with it. As is, this is better than manual scooping, but not dramatically so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>