petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate

Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate

Heavy-duty plastic frame surrounded by steel insertsQuickly folds for easy transportation, travel and storageIncludes four access doors for easy in and outBuilt-in wheels and pull handle make moving these dog crates a breezeChoose medium or large dog crate for your dog’s specific size
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Review 1 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gear Crate

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
crooztime
I bought this crate for my cockapoo puppy. The only negative was when traveling it rattled a bit. But that is easily fixed. I love this crate and the diversified uses it has. My puppy has never gotten out. I am ordering a larger one because, the breeder was wrong about what her size would be, not quite a year later. I will use the smaller one for traveling. The new one will be used for stationary use. LOVE IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
RBixbyG
from Discovery Bay, CA
I was very excited about this product after watching the video on the Petco website. However, when it arrived, I couldn't believe how heavy it was. It does have built in wheels so the weight was not that big of a deal. But then I put my 14 month old lab puppy in the crate. He escaped in less than 5 minutes. For me the purpose of a crate is to keep dogs in. This crate fails to do this!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
kellisat
My family travels a lot and this is the perfect solution for lugging around a crate. It is easy to put up and take down, although a little akward for one person it's still doable. I'm 5'2" so the other kind of crates are difficult for me to carry since I can't get a good grip, but the wheels and handle on this crate make moving it from one place to another no big deal. It is also easy to clean . I love the "garage" door so that the crate can be open for him to get into if he wants but without the door hanging open. I have had this for about 2 years and am still loving this purchase. It was a bit pricy, but if you travel this is the perfect crate for your family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Alright

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
shellbell123
I felt it was expensive but nice. We liked it a lot and would have kept it but it was too small for what we needed with it. Still even on sale I felt it was expensive for the size but I think all these things are expensive for some plastic and metal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality product

PostedJuly 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sashab72
from Los Angeles, CA
This crate was not as it seemed on the site. It was flimsy and did not stay together once you had it assembled. Does not seem sturdy enough to be moved often if at all. Not worth the price paid for it. I returned the one I purchased.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

PostedMay 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
KayJayCee
I bought two of these. They were easy to put together. The wheels make them easy to move, and they do not scratch my new hardwood floors! I compared prices with other companies that offered this crate and Petco had the best deal. The reason I picked these was for the 'garage door' option and I am very pleased with the numerous doors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Crate

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
clubcollie
Very simple assembly. High quality crate and worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value for the Money

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charmaine
from Dallas, TX
This crate offers the adaptability I wanted. It is easy to move from room to room. My dog likes it because she can see out of all four sides. The cushion should be more pet-friendly. I substituted a more substantal cushion. Overall, I am very pleased with this crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
PekOwner
I love this crate. One side opens up like a garage door letting the pet have access to his crate while you are at home without having to leave a door swinging open and in the way. Also, this crate looks good. I have it in a corner of my kitchen and I am not embarassed of it. My only dissapointment was when the box came and I opened the crate for the first time the garage door came apart and I had a hard time getting back in place correctly. For me this crate is wonderful for daily use but not practical for travel. Pet Gear makes another crate that is canvas, smaller, and much easier to travel with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned this crate

PostedApril 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
BeagleSF
from San Francisco, CA
We had to return this crate because our Beagle got out two days in a row! For a more expensive crate this certainly does not do the job.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Deluxe Steel Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"I love the innovation

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
tbell
from FL
"I love the innovation of this crate! It looks much better in my home than the old plain wire crates that reminds me of a jail or prison every time I have to use it. This PET GEAR crate has huge improvement in features. The basin on this crate is deep, giving floors protection against accidents that pets sometimes have in their crates. If that should happen, the wheels make it easy to roll the crate outside, instead of dragging across floors, before letting the pet out, eliminating tracking across carpets and flooring with dirty feet. I do not have to worry about my dog getting his feet caught between the pan and wire of a traditional wire crate and possibly loosing a toenail. All of the doors give lots of options for placing it in a room, you can always have the door opening towards a wall so that it's not in the way when the pet is trying to enter. The plastic gives nice rounded corners so that people and pets do not get scratched or caught on sharp corners as they walk by. The cross pieces on the bars help prevent the pet from getting a leg too far out of the crate when they try to reach for something tempting nearby. I'm thrilled with the improvements this crate offers. This crate gets first place .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.