petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III

Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III

Steps feature larger landings making it easier for your pet to get up and downCarpet is removable and cleanable for longstanding useSteps gently slope upward for maximum heightLightweight and easy to move
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
30 out of 39(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Review 1 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I ordered these stairs for my English Bulldog puppy to get in and out of my bed. They were easy to assemble, and they are very sturdy! The carpet on the stair tops helps him keep his traction, and he is up and down those steps all day! Great purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well worth the time and effort needed.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Des Moines, Ia
I bought the steps after my ShiTzu mix had to have knee surgery to repair torn tendons. She was unable to jump or run both before and after surgery.
I ordered the steps to elimate the risk of jumping off the bed. It took a little coaxing with some favorite low cal treats to teach her how to use the stairs. Going down was especially tricky but she has mastered them now. She has to get her momentum going and doesn't realize that she can climb them slowly but it works just the same.
Putting the steps together was a challenge until you understand what they are trying to say on the directions. Not very clear at first. A rubber mallet with a piece of soft foam rubber to protect the steps was very helpful since pieces are hard to push together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Petco Brand Steps are just BETTER!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, Or
I initially bought the Pet Gear Brand Steps. My dog hated them!!! 3 Reasons why the PETCO BRAND STEPS ARE BETTER!!!
1.The steps are smaller than on the Petco Brand.
2.The Carpet Pad is smaller than on the Petco Brand.
3.The Carpet Pad is Less Plush as on the Petco Brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good value

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fulton, MO
Works well for our dachsund. Sturdy, for the money. Easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steps

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Height is just right for height of bed and steps are not to high
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gear Easy Step III

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington, North Carolina
The steps are wide enough and the right height for our Boston Terrier to be able to climb up to our bed.
The unit is durable and not too heavy. The assembly was tricky, though. Good thing I have a patient hubby!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Stairs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Galveston, Texas
Before purchasing this product, I read many reviews for various pet stair products looking for the perfect one for my two 90lb. golden retriever/chow mix dogs. This stair works perfectly. It is very sturdy and doesn't wobble when the dogs go up it into my car. It is the perfect height for them to climb up to the top step and get right onto the seat of the car with ease. The gripper pads on the bottom of the stairs prevent it from moving when in use and it's made out of heavy duty molded plastic. I will use this item for a long, long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
I now have the 2-step, 3-step and 4-step version of these stairs and they all help my english bulldogs get up and down as needed. They are sturdy, strong and easy to assemble. Perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Step The Sequel III

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston MA
After looking and trying other steps I was very lucky to find these online. Very easy to assemble and solid with a non skid pad. The dog took right to it and she likes to use the steps instead of leaping on and off. Great price too. Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

need heavy duty hammer

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from utah
The stairs look nice in the photos but are cheap looking in person. The real fact is you need a mallett to put the stairs together. They don't fit and are hard to assemble.
Buy cheaper ones and they work just as well as these wannabes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
The steps work great for my Westie to get up on my bed by herself. The size of the steps are perfect. I bought another product from a store and the steps were very narrow which made it hard for my dog to climb.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Step III

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I ABSOLUTELY love these steps!!!!!!! I have a 15 lbs. Shih Tzu and it only took her about an hour to learn how to use them comfortably with just a little coaching! I have a very high bed (35") and these steps come about 5" from the top of the bed. They are wide and long but yet, only takes up a small space. VERY HAPPY with my purchase and so are my pets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy Setup

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Eau Claire, WI
The stairs went together easily. We were hoping the dog would love them, because they didn't take up as much room as the ramp we were using. Well, the stairs scared the dog. Her nails would touch the plastic and the sound scared her. Also, they were a little wobbly. Maybe if the dog would have been use to stairs to begin with, they would have worked out better. We did have to return them. No problem with the return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Warwick RI
I love the steps they went together in seconds and they are great for my Frenchie to get on my bed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These steps are exactly what we were looking for

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from piqua oh
No negative issues on these steps. Good quality, right size, non slip steps for safety. One problem is that we can not get our 25# lhasa apso to use them. We have had the steps over 10 days now and still no success. Any suggestions?
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saving the puppy's knees

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
The vet diagnosed my Pomeranian mix puppy with luxating patella. He said that she should not jump up and down from high places. This set of steps will save her little knees. It was easy to put together, in just a couple minutes. It is stable and looks pretty good, for plastic. I would definately recommend this set of steps.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
These were a perfect solution to my baby not being able to get on the bed after my friends raised it for me when I got hurt.
My room isn't that big so I have them placed with the side of the stairs to the foot of the bed, but this would have been the same with any stairs I picked. It was pretty easy for my friend to put together. The pieces aren't labeled so I recommend that you lay them out and look at all your pieces carefully before assembling. Luckily, if you do something wrong there aren't any screws or anything and it is easy to take apart and fix. My pomeranian learned very quickly how to use them to get on and off the bed without needing my assistance. They look nice and she seems to like them just fine!
Other reviewers said they had problems with holes matching up. I can see where that might get to be a problem because at first my friend tried putting the wrong stairs in the wrong place. The pictures on the instructions though are detailed if you just follow very closely to the drawings and the pieces you are working with. I would recommend this to anyone needing stairs for their furry kid, like I did!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent steps

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Texas
We have an older Jack Russell with arthritis. This has made it possible for him to maintain his mobility throughout the home. Love these steps and fantastic price. David
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lacking quality

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Easy to put together but not very well made. Lightweigt plastic moved alot when my 40lb dog was on it and scared her. she would not use it after that. May be ok for small lightweight dogs. Had to return it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pet Gear Cocoa Easy Step III
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pieces Didn't Fit Together!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
DON'T BUY THIS! Just tried assembling it and the pegs didn't match up with the holes on any of the pieces and will have to be returned. This is the 2nd item i've purchased from petco.com that has been defective. I'll never purchase from them again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>