petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate

Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate

Generation II Soft Crate is easy to assemble, so it's ready to go when you need itFeatures a durable steel frame, three double coated mesh openings and 600 count denier enclosureIncludes a double sided pad storage pocket, matching accessories case and a soft, plush fleece padFolds flat for easy storage and relocation
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Review 1 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect size

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lewisville, TX
So far very happy with the crate. For me it is fairly difficult to fold down and put up though. The bars don't move very easy. But it is easy to carry while up. You need another cushion as the one that comes with it has no padding.
It fits perfect in the back of my SUV with room on the side.
I would recommend this to product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver,WA
Bought this crate for our seventy pound Lab. He loves it! We traveled 1250 miles with him and had zero problems. Easy to set up, easy for him to get in and out of. Love the fact that it folds flat enough to go under the bed when not in use. Great soft crate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke within a day

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
I am so disappointed in this crate. It looks great, but as soon as my dog was put into it, the zipper on the door broke. I would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Eugene, OR
I bought this for my crate-trained 3 month old labradoodle pup. He wanted nothing to do with the hard-shell crate I bought for him before he came home. This one, however, is larger and has enticed him in for several naps. While it won't fit in my car, it will be a good "dog cave" for Finn into his adulthood. Since it's so light and easy to put up and take down, I do plan on taking it with us when we travel, so that he has something familiar in new places. I'd give it 5 stars, but it's too new to the family; our experience is limited.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Gear II Soft sided crate

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from British Columbia
Had for several years now and it is easy to put up and take down, is sturdy and I have basset hounds.Someone on this site had her dog escape through the windows. Never had a problem
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really awesome crate

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from tx
Awesome, folds flat easily, The small size is a bit too large for the backseat of my car. But this would be perfect for a home crate. Seems very sturdy and well-made. Has extras like the pad, a zip bag, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for travel

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington
The light weight soft design makes this carrier perfect for car travel or camping. Folds up easily, allows lots of air flow, and the dog can see out on all sides including the top. Would not be appropriate for animals intent on getting out or carrying your dog in without bottom support.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sturdy enough for our Portugese Water dog (40lbs)

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from solana beach, ca
This crate seemed great, easy to carry, metal frame... but the mesh windows and portals were not sufficient as the first time our dog was in it the car, he easily ripped through the mesh and escaped. I hope Petco will take it back or give me credit. What a bummer. Is there an equivalent wire/metal crate that is easy and portable?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great crate

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Our 6-pound Chiweenie loves this crate. She uses it as her den and has plenty of room to stretch and keep toys in (crate sz. extra small). It's well made and easy to clean. This is a quality product that meets all our needs at home and on the road.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good soft-crate!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
I bought this as a result for my two new puppies who are Teacup Puppies. So I bought this and all 3 of my puppies sleep comfortably! Its really nice and sometimes I throw an extra blanket in there for comfort when it gets cold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Perfect Fit

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
We purchased this crate for our English Setter to use when traveling. It fits in the back seat of our pickup and is so easy to set up and take down and to move into a hotel room. The dimensions are also a perfect fit - just as advertised. This is what we were looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft travel Crate

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
Great purchase, although a lot bigger than what I expected to arrive. I used the breed size selector to pick the size I needed and for my pit bull it choice the intermediate size. My dog and no pit bull is the size of a Labrador and I own one of those too, he fits in it perfectly with my pit bull! That's a combined 125 lbs- fully grown 85 lb lab and my full grown 50 pit bull. I'm almost certain the small size would have fit him better.
The gear bag that comes with it is great because my pit bull is training to become a Therapy dog and I am always having to pack all of his extra snacks, water, bandannas, toys, leashes, etc. everytime i take him out with me, which is almost daily. This is a very convienent accessory to have on hand just for his stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crate delivers as promised. My dog loves it and so do I. It is easy to set up and take down, plus it is light weight and easily transported so I can take it when we travel. My dog is 2 years old, already crate trained, and likes his new "house". I don't know if it would contain a dog who tries to escape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Crate

PostedApril 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Indy, IN
High Quality Red Crate with a lot of vents for Dwight to breathe easy. Easy Assembly and fits awesome in little backseats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I bought this crate for travelling in the car. I have an SUV and our dog (48 lb) was always whining in the back. I felt distracted by that and the fact that he was never lying down and moved with every turn or stop. The crate fits perfectly, is easy to lift and our dog feels much more secure. I was able to leave him in the car while doing some shopping. Something I couldn't do before because I was afraid he would start chewing. I like the multiple openings, that makes it very versatile. The only thing I don't like about the crate is the slippery material. It comes with a reversible mat which doesn't stay in place at all. Overall I am happy with this purchase, it full fills our needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Designed

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Hillsdale, NY
This soft crate is the way to go...literally. It is well designed, easy to set up and collapse, and the fact that it does so makes it a way better choice than a hard wire crate. Plus it comes with handy accessories, like its own waterproof liner and pad and two zip pouches (one detachable) to store doggy stuff. The soft design means no scraping the inside of the car, yet it is strong enough to do the job of keeping any Fido secure and comfortable. Well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
I was given one of these crates but needed a 2nd for my other dog since they are too big now to fit into just one. This crate fits in the back seat along with the other one perfectly; with plenty of air circulation with the screens on either side as well as on the ends. They can see one another and are still safe for travel. I put different bedding in for them as I discovered what came with it slides around; now they are so comfortable they don't always want to come out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Cute, and AFFORDIBLE!

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
I justgot my carrier today, and as soon as I got it, my bunny just layed down in it. She loves the soft bottom, and I love how there are pouches on the outside that are reatachable! She also loves it when I take her to Pet Co. It may seem like a lot of money, but trust me, it's wwaayy worth it! Did NOT dissapoint me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pet Gear Deluxe Generation II Soft Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Install- Perfect Fit

PostedAugust 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is a great portable crate for large dogs. My Old English Sheepdog fits with room to spare. It is light weight and installation is quick & easy! Also, it fits into the back of my smaller SUV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.