petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor

PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor

Electronic Dog Door unlocks as your pet nears, re-locks automatically after pet enters or exitsFeatures 3 modes: Locked, unlocked and automatic accessActivation via SmartKey ranges from 6 inches to 3 feet and can be easily adjusted by pet ownerSmartKey conveniently fits on pet's everyday collar and only weighs .64 ouncesBattery powered pet doors – requires 4 D Cell batteries, not includedModel: Small PPA11-10711; Large PPA11-10709
Average Customer Rating:
3.308 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
7 out of 13(54%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Review 1 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was a wonderful solution!!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, Florida
We have 3 dogs, 70, 48 and 20 pounds. we bought the large door and installed in on an outside door. We keep it unlocked during the day, and locked at night to keep critters (other than our dogs) out. We do not use the dog key-tags. We have a door to the kitchen that keeps them from the rest of the house, it works so good when it rains (Florida, right?) they can get in from the rain (as well as the heat) when we are not at home. To go from lock to unlock, or reverse, we just press the button on the door. WONDERFUL!! It took a few times in and out for the dogs to feel comfortable, but now it's easy!
Installation was even pretty good!!!
Full Recommendation!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Problem Solver

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
I live in an apartment where I keep my cat's litter box in a large storage closet. I have always had a pet door allowing the cat access to his box and it kept my 97 lb dog out! Recently I added a much smaller dog to my family. It took some time but my little 6 lb dog finally figured out how to go through the door and "snack" from the litter box. Gross. I bought this Electronic SmartDoor and I have my cat wearing the SmartKey on his collar. It's set for a pretty close range so now when my cat goes in to use the litter box my little dog cannot go in afterwards and "snack". It was easy for me to install into my hollow door. My cat is a rather large cat (13 lbs) so the SmartKey is OK on him but it is kind of bulky and I do wish it were smaller. Otherwise the sound it makes when it locks and unlocks is very discreet and my cat isn't bothered by it. This door is a great little problem solver for sure!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Takes patience and training.

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minden,LA
I've had this door abt a week. It's easy to install. But it is very loud when it unlocks. My dog was afraid to go near it. But over the week I have trained her to become use to the sound and if I hold the door open she will go through it. Right now the door just serves as a alarm for when she is ready to go out and come back in. It's going to take time but I am confident that we can train her to be able to use the door for its intended purpose. However I have 3 cats and they have tried but have not been able to get through it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Goooood Luck!!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
We bought this to solve the problem of #1: getting up and down a hundred times for our three large Labs, and #2: stop a very aggressive cat from the neighborhood coming in and attacking our cats. The door is not NOT made for large dogs as it says. The large size door should lower the weight limit to maybe 75 pounds. It lasted a week before it started malfunctioning and jamming up. With three big boys its just not made sturdy enough to hold up and the door broke almost right away. Now we are faced with the fact that we have to buy it again ( I know!!) because the hole is already cut and measured for it and any other better made product would require us to buy an exterior door as well. FRUSTRATED!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

electronic pet door

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chandler, AZ
Thus far I have been very happy with the electronic pet door. One dog figured it out before the other but soon the other dog began to understand it, as well. I have it set on the closest possible opening in order to prevent my cat from following them out, and it has worked. It has performed exactly as I had hoped it would.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Door stinks

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from scottsdale
My door arrived with no key, no extra key we paid for, no bolts and just the door. Still nothing has come a week later.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea, bad execution.

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from AZ
These doors have been a pain for me for 2 months. Yes I said doors. After replacing the first one in the store I bought it from, I had the second one replaced by PetSafe, and as of today have ordered another replacement door, again. Hopefully door number 4 works.
The first door I bought locally worked for about a day, then sounded like it jammed and gave me the "internal failure" malfunction indication. After buying new batteries (as directed by the manual) it still was jammed and took 3-4 cycles of the mode to get it to unlock. I returned that door and replaced it from the store.
Door two had promise. It worked for about 2 weeks. So in finished the installation by caulking around the door to eliminate drafts. A few days later, "internal failure" again. New batteries (remember the manual says to try this first) and still no luck. PetSafe replaced this one, paying for the shipping. A few days later (about 2 weeks) I had a new door and was again replacing the old one.
Door 3 was the one directly from PetSafe. After being installed for about 2 days, another "internal failure" and jammed door. New batteries (per the manual) again, still jammed. This time it took 4 cycles of the mode to get open so my dog could use it. As of today 10/7/2011, PetSafe is sending me door number 4.
My door placement is in the wall of a new addition. We framed a hole in the wall for just this door, so I am very frustrated that it is doing this. Instead of putting the screws through into the outside frame, we put them into studs to hold the door. For the third door, I only put a couple in to make sure I was not stressing the plastic in any way. I am not sure what I will have to try next, but if you want a hassle free door, this may not be the one.
All the service people are very nice, and I appreciate their saying "this is not normal, you should not have any problems like this, but I have not seen anything else. My friend has the small size of this door with no problems, so maybe the plastic gear (I assume that is what they are) need to be replaced with actual aluminum or steel for a door this size. Something needs re-engineered. PetSafe, if you are reading this and come to AZ, I will show you my problems.
When the doors have worked (a couple days at a time) my dog has got used to the waiting for the door to open, and I love the security of the locked door. I just wish it were reliable enough to leave in the Auto mode when I am not home. I can't chance the dog getting locked in.
PetSafe, please consider a re-engineering of this door to beef up the mechanics and mechanisms. Also, a power adapter would be great to plug the door in and stop buying batteries.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works as advertised

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
One week ago I installed the PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor. Simple to install
Be careful no to overtighten screws because the screwholes strip pretty easy.
My 2 dogs adapted pretty quickly to going through the door. Notes of caution: The door makes a pop when unlatching initially one of my dogs would jump. There is a time lag during which one of my dogs continues to paw at the door, I hope it can handle that.
Overall I am happy and time will tell if the product works over the years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
it's alot better than having to get up hundreds of times a day to let my 2 dogs out. they both caught on very quickly on how the door worked to go in and out and it was no problem after that. Installation is very easy also just follow the direction and you can't go wrong they are simple and easy to follow direction..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worry-free nights

PostedApril 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
I really enjoy the smart door! We were having trouble with stray cats going into our house at all hours of the night. But now that we have our smart door, we just lock it at night and we have a good night's sleep. Thanks again for this great invention! (we are dog lovers)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
I replaced a small, magnetically operated door with this one. The original one was not raccoon proof, and I installed a manual gate to keep out these nocturnal critters.
My new door looks sturdy enough. Minor problem: My Pomeranian(16 years old) gets spooked by the loud click when activated, but she's getting used to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 is a charm?

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have installed the 3rd one now.. 1st didnt work at all, 2nd worked for an hour, 3rd one worked for a day.. and now seems to not work. wow.. great idea.. just not made well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petsafe Electronic Door

PostedFebruary 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
We got the door installed and it was fairly easy. It worked great for about an hour, then it stopped working and our dog was locked outside. Now we have a huge hole in our door, and the dog can't get in or out, and the cat is having to be locked in a bedroom until we can figure out the issue. I read that we could return the product to Petsafe, and they would send a repacement. But in the meantime I have this huge hole that a human can fit through!!! This did not work like promised!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.