petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel

Helps reduce stress and tensionRecommended for travel, fireworks, boarding, grooming and separationDogs love it, tastes like a treatEasy to administer, either have pet lick from your finger or provide from a dish
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Review 1 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweendog
from Columbus, OH
My Yorkie Poo is 8 month old (6lbs) and gets car sick easily. I have tried the calming pills, but he will not eat them on his own and has gotten smart to me trying to hide them in his food or treats. Plus the pills were large and I had to cut them up or crush them. The gel is great. It smells like beef bouillon and it is easy to give him if he turns his nose up and I can adjust the amount I give easier than the pills. I have used it for car rides and it does work, although for long car rides (over 2 hours) I will give him more when we stop for potty breaks. I recently gave him some for the 4th of July fireworks and he laid on the blanket beside of us for the whole thing and didn't mind the fireworks. I would definately recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's okay!

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
msbb45
from Garden City,KS
We've only used it a couple of times for when we take our two small dogs in the car. It seems to help a little, but doesn't calm them down as much as we'd like for it to. Our youngest dog, likes the taste of it, he'll lick it all off of my finger right away, but the other one we have to stick it in his mouth before he'll eat it. But I guess I would recommend it to a friend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spydede
from Mississippi
This stuff just does not work... You cannot judge it by leaving your dog and returning to find them resting. This can happen anytime. STAY with your dog to see any results. I have tried it several times. I t doesnt work at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Calming Ever

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mootsie
from Gonzales, Louisiana
My small dog Zach is very antsy before we get into the car. I give him a little of this aid and he is calmer and I don't have to worry about side affects.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
boxermomma80
I have 2 boxers who have separation anxiety. One barks and urinates when in his crate and has hurt himself in the dog run. I bought this today and gave them each some 30 mins before I left to go to the store. When I came back they were both laying in the crate, no barking, no wet bedding. I hope it continues to work. I am gettting the DAP plug in as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works GREAT

PostedJune 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
ruskl
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
My dog Bosco had a surgery and the bandage that they used was so tight and tough it was difficult to get off without making him crazy - finally I got the calming gel - skeptically about it working - its not as tasty as they say so I had to use a greenie pill pocket 20 minutes later Bosco was chilling on the floor where I was able to get the bandage off in just a few seconds - if you have a need - GET THIS GEL!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't seem to Work

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
jammin
I used the calming gel prior to a car trip. I read the instructions and used at least a 3" line of the gel. We couldn't see that it had any type of calming effect on our 15 pound dog at all. It might work for other breeds or dogs with other tempraments, but we were disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Calming Aid Dog Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
what4
I bought the calming gel in the tube when my dog has a major operation, hopping it would calm him and it did. He likes it and takes it well I'm going to try when he gets groomed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.