petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

Adds moisture to dry, irritated skin promoting a healthy shiny coatMay be used as an appetite enhancerOil is moleculary distilledMade with Atlantic salmon from Norway
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
29 out of 32(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ADDS SHINE TO THEIR COAT

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
22meme
from honolulu
ALONG W/ ADDED NUTRITION ,MAKES THEIR FUR SUPER SHINNY
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
manyfacets
from Hot Springs, SD
As usual one of the cans was leaking. There is usually a problem but this time it was more serious. I plan to take the box and can that was leaking to Petco the next time I go shopping in Rapid City, SD, which is 65 miles from where I live.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger is better

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
BrandosDaddy
from West Hollywood, CA
My pup loves this fish oil. His coat is shinier and softer... and it makes is chow taste better too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

doesn't smell fishy

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
lovesbruno
from nj
My puppy loves this. It doesn't smell fishy like the other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ohrandi
from Tulsa, OK
I switched my dog from Wellness Core to Merrick because of price. Merrick was great, he put on weight better, but his skin started getting dry and itchy. So I bought this, and it has helped a lot! I suspect Wellness Core (the fish version) probably had similar vitamins in it which is why he kind of dried out when I switched foods, so this makes up for it. It's a good price for how little you have to use, and how shiny and soft my dog's coat has gotten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetCo Salmon Oil

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
DebnAki
from McKinney, TX
Love the pump bottle (less mess!) and Aki loves the Salmon Oil squirted on his food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No visible change in coat softness

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
chihuahuapetowner
from Jersey City, NJ
My puppy's coat was coarse and his skin was very dry. A sales assistant suggested me that this product would help maintain a healthy coat in within one month or so. It has been a couple of weeks, but I haven't noticed a considerable change.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Salmon Oil

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
mydogshedstoomuch
from Los Angeles, CA
Firstly, the bottle leaked inside the package (was ordered online) and the package was covered in oil and it was so stinky and there were other items in there as well! Luckily, Petco did the immediate exchange for me over the phone for all of the products. The new package arrived very quickly which was very convenient since I wanted to give it a shot right away. However, the pump of the bottle broke so now I have to pour it out from the bottle and measure using a spoon. All in all, this item just seems inconvenient... and maybe it's because I don't like fish. But we'll see how it works in the long run.... I hear great things about salmon oil for dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

same but better price

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
nefertari
from alaska
I was buying a salmon oil from another large chain of pet products. Paying $26.00 for the 16 ozs, and no pump on the bottle. Without the pump the oil gets on the outside of the bottle and a smell that only a dog or cat would love. The pump is so easy to use, a chart on the side tells you by wieght how many pumps, no mess, no smell in my fridge. I have 2 East German Shepards with long thick hair, this product keeps there coat soft and lovely. We are very dry in Alaska, and it help to keep there skin from drying out. Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Stuff!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RattlesnakeGal
from New Hampshire
I noticed that my seven month old Cairn Terrier was scratching more than he should be. With a flea comb, I was able to determine that Harry had dry skin flakes. (What a relief that he didn't have fleas!) Off to PetCo, where I found this easy to use salmon oil. My boy loves the taste! I am absolutely thrilled that four days after starting it, his coat has changed dramatically, being so silky soft and beautiful. I am happy to report that not a single flake of dry skin can be found with the flea comb!!! Wow!
After reading all of the reviews, I have also started my two year old Cairn Terrier on the salmon oil because of her allergies. Bailey's coat also looks and feels so much nicer! Not totally sure that it helps with her allergies, but she likes it and she does look good!
I love the ease of use with the pump! The idea of getting fish oil on my hands absolutely had no appeal to me. Personally, I do not find this oil to be smelly at all. I am a happy customer and hope that you too will have excellent results with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salmon OIl

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvkinney
from Statesboro, GA
I have always given Salmon Oil to my two dogs. My local Petco store was out of stock and I really needed to get my pets their omega-3 which I am convinced help with heart health, nice shiny hair and non dried skin. as a result I bought 2 cans to make sure I will not run out again
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Samon Oil for Dogs

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sammysmum
from Bellefonte, PA
I've seen a marked improvement in my dog's coat. In addition, the product is much easier to use than the capsules received from the vet. Love the pump bottle!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft fur

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
pattycake8
from Kaneohe HI
my dog itches less and has much softer fur, we will keep giving him this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salmon Oil

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheBigThree
from Woodbridge, VA
The product is excellent for the dogs coats and they really love it on their food. However, it keeps leaking in the shipping box. For that reason, I do not recommend getting it through the mail.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it!

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
melikesid
from Orange County, CA
I have a Saint Bernard and his skin sometimes itches and he gets hot spots. I purchased this product to help with his skin, but I discovered that he loves the taste. He still scratches and chews on himself, but all I need to do is add a few pumps of salmon oil to his food and he will gobble it all up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for less shedding.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
healthypup
from Ohio
My dog really likes the taste of this product and I like that it doesn't smell too bad. Pump works really well and sure beats poking holes in a capsule and getting it all over the place. I would recommend this product to other dog owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient & Effective

PostedJune 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aussie1215
from Delaware
I bought Petco Salmon Oil for my Australian Shepherd puppy. It was not hard on his stomach at all, if anything it made it easier for him to digest. It convenient, because I just pull it out of the fridge when I am making his food and squirt some on top. He loves the taste. Now, his coat is the softest and shiniest of any of the dogs I've had!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my pup!

PostedJune 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
GSDHuskyMom
from Tacoma, Wa
A Petco associate recommended this product for my dog's dry skin. I've been putting it on his food for a week now and have already noticed the results. He scratches a lot less and his coat is shiny. I haven't seen any flakes and he seems to be shedding a bit less. He also loves the taste, so that's a bonus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use supplement Salmon Oil for Dogs

PostedApril 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Menauhant
from Cape Cod
I bought this product to help my dog with a seasonal alergy that causes her hair to fall out in exposing black skin. My dog is a boxer and this is very common in the breed.. I can't tell if it is working or not but my dog does like it. The pump makes it very easy to use, no measuring and no mess. My rating is based on the ease of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Salmon Oil For Dogs

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanB
Both of our dogs love this. They wait for me to put the 1-2 squirts of the oil on their food and then eat.
In our semi-dry climate, this stuff is great for their coats. Our vet recommended the oil for their health, as well.
Each bottle lasts about three months in our house, because there are 2 dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>