petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

Adds moisture to dry, irritated skin promoting a healthy shiny coatMay be used as an appetite enhancerOil is moleculary distilledMade with Atlantic salmon from Norway
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
38 out of 43(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to add to food

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from East Aurora, NY
My chocolate labrador always enjoys his food more when I add a dash of salmon oil....he now waits until I add it to begin eating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smells terrible!

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY, NY
I've been giving 1 pump of this once a day to my 6lb Maltese/Shih Tzu mix for 5 days now and she smells TERRIBLE. Her skin reeks of fish and her coat has no noticeable change. I purchased salmon oil in an effort to help her very dry skin, and she is still scratching and biting just as often. I will definitely not be re-purchasing, as the smell is unbearable, and I assume it can only get worse over time. We'll be switching to pills and hoping that is more effective (and less smelly)!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
I use this product, especially during the winter, to help with my dog's dry skin and to help their coats withstand the cold weather better. They don't have to stay out in the cold very much (they're both 60lbs, they're only out during the daytime if we're not home, and it doesn't usually get that cold here in the south!), but I figure every little bit helps for these spoiled furbabies! This product works great to increase oil production for insulation and improve the quality of their coats! Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YUM!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pearisburg, VA
My dogs LOVE this treat in their meals! I put this on their food every day and it greatly improves their skin/coat and is a fabulous source of fatty acids!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warning

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
This is a very good product but be sure to check the ingredients of the food of your pet before . excess fatty acids can cause diarrhea in your pet. If your pet food contains omega 3, you don't need this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The fish oil is good

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tenn.
The fish oil came in a container with a plunger on top for measured dispensing . The plunger didn't work and I have to open each time to use which is messy. Very disappointed . Would have been cheaper elsewhere without the non working fancy plunger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is beautiful, what is this, velvet?

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Garden grove ca
Great product! About a week after applying this to my Australian Labradoodles dry food, she has a very shiny smooth coat already! Very minor fish smell on her face for about 30 minutes after she eats, but it doesn't linger, which is great. She seems to like her food more as well, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product...BUT

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This review is regarding Petco's shipping of this item. The first time they sent this to me, I opened the box and the slamon oil had leaked all over the inside of the box and reeked of fish. I called them and they stated that they were going to send me another one. Well, they sent me another one alright. Once again, it was leaking inside, but on top of that, they didn't send it with the pump piece on top of the bottle!! Get it together with shipping this item Petco! It shouldnt be that difficult!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Salmon oil

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
I've been using this for my dogs for a couple of years and it helps tremendously with their coat! It's much cheaper to order it online and I normally never have any problems with the delivery. But this last time, half of the bottle leaked out all inside the plastic bag. It's a good thing it was well packed in a bag, then in a box that was in another plastic bag which was yet in another box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rutherfordton, NC
I like this Salmon Oil because it's easy to use and it doesn't smell very fishy. Unlike some other fish oils, this can stays clean and the pump keeps working until all of the product is used up. And being Salmon oil, my dogs breath isn't fishy smelling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
my dog love it, his hair shines with 3 days by taking it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ADDS SHINE TO THEIR COAT

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from honolulu
ALONG W/ ADDED NUTRITION ,MAKES THEIR FUR SUPER SHINNY
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hot Springs, SD
As usual one of the cans was leaking. There is usually a problem but this time it was more serious. I plan to take the box and can that was leaking to Petco the next time I go shopping in Rapid City, SD, which is 65 miles from where I live.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bigger is better

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Hollywood, CA
My pup loves this fish oil. His coat is shinier and softer... and it makes is chow taste better too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

doesn't smell fishy

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nj
My puppy loves this. It doesn't smell fishy like the other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
I switched my dog from Wellness Core to Merrick because of price. Merrick was great, he put on weight better, but his skin started getting dry and itchy. So I bought this, and it has helped a lot! I suspect Wellness Core (the fish version) probably had similar vitamins in it which is why he kind of dried out when I switched foods, so this makes up for it. It's a good price for how little you have to use, and how shiny and soft my dog's coat has gotten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetCo Salmon Oil

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
Love the pump bottle (less mess!) and Aki loves the Salmon Oil squirted on his food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No visible change in coat softness

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jersey City, NJ
My puppy's coat was coarse and his skin was very dry. A sales assistant suggested me that this product would help maintain a healthy coat in within one month or so. It has been a couple of weeks, but I haven't noticed a considerable change.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Salmon Oil

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Firstly, the bottle leaked inside the package (was ordered online) and the package was covered in oil and it was so stinky and there were other items in there as well! Luckily, Petco did the immediate exchange for me over the phone for all of the products. The new package arrived very quickly which was very convenient since I wanted to give it a shot right away. However, the pump of the bottle broke so now I have to pour it out from the bottle and measure using a spoon. All in all, this item just seems inconvenient... and maybe it's because I don't like fish. But we'll see how it works in the long run.... I hear great things about salmon oil for dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Salmon Oil for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

same but better price

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from alaska
I was buying a salmon oil from another large chain of pet products. Paying $26.00 for the 16 ozs, and no pump on the bottle. Without the pump the oil gets on the outside of the bottle and a smell that only a dog or cat would love. The pump is so easy to use, a chart on the side tells you by wieght how many pumps, no mess, no smell in my fridge. I have 2 East German Shepards with long thick hair, this product keeps there coat soft and lovely. We are very dry in Alaska, and it help to keep there skin from drying out. Love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>