petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps

Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps

The simple solution to destructive scratchingEasy to use: simply trim claws, add adhesive and applyDoes not interfere with the normal extension and retraction of your cat's clawsIncludes self locking cleat system for improved grip
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Review 1 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pisces7386
from PA
I would recommend this to anyone! A cat recently adopted us and had kittens... and we needed to protect our arms, clothes, and furniture. A friend recommended these so we gave them a try. I was worried they would fight having them applied and then chew them to death, but two of the cats fell asleep the first time we put them on and the third purred the whole time. They hardly noticed the soft claws once they were applied. We had to cut the kitten sized ones shorter for the kittens (they were tiny, only 2 1/2 month old)... but that was easy- just snip snip with the kitchen scissors. Out of the original 30 (3 cats with 10 front claws each) only one fell off in the first week and a month later only three have needed replacing. We just finished reapplying the missing ones and the cats didn't even notice. The only thing I would change is the number of replacement glue tips... I feel we are going to run out of those faster than the glue or soft claws if we replace the soft claws as they fall off. Also... I would love to see lager packages for cheaper prices and better colors for kittens at Petco ( they are available elsewhere).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft cover nail caps

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
rainys
from Cape Cod
Simple directions, to follow. give your cat time to adjust to them and if your as lucky as I am with my cats they forget they are there and you and your furniture are safe from their sharp claws. I would much rather do this this, than try a de -clawing that comes with lots of problems.
I recommend this product !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ProudArmyWifeMommy2Be
from Fort Riley, Kansas
I love this product! We bought Soft Paws 2 days ago for our 1 year old cat Abigail. We bought them because we are moving out of country, and she kept popping the airbed which we sleep on and clawing us up.
She was not too happy about getting them put on (we did it ourself's, took about 10 minutes, simple) After she got them on she was happy and pleasent again. I don't even think she notices them. :)
They are super amazing and I was joking with my husband that our kitty will be wearing them for as long as she lives. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
gsxrbunnie
I had the vet put these on both of my cats when they went in for their yearly shots. Yesterday was the first time I personally have tried to but them on. All I can say is wow, my kitten was not to happy. Now I'm kinda scared of even trying the big old cat. But I do love them. Wish I would have done this years ago on the older cat (then maybe my door frames wouldn't be so torn up).
The only thing I wish is that Petco would carry all the colors. It would be easier to tell on the cats if 1 has fallen off it they were colored and not clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
these are a great alternative to declawing - easy to put on and they fall off as the nail grows
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
15of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I put these on the squirmiest cat in the world.

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
pinknails3
I adopted a cat who was previously abused and HATES being restrained in any way, which he lets you know with his claws and teeth. I was going to pay my vet to apply these, but thought I'd give it a try.
Here are my big tips:
-Clip your cat's nails the day before so that it's not too much paw handling in one day.
-Pick a place to apply them that is on a table top against a wall so that the cat cannot run forwards (into the wall) or backwards (into you).
-Have a buddy who can hold your cat by the nape of the neck if your cat starts biting.
-BEST TIP: Open a can of your cat's favorite food and have it on the table top for them to nibble while you apply the Soft Claws. It is so much easier when your cat is distracted/happy to be eating. This also helps your cat stay still & occupied for 5 minutes while the product dries.
The food is crucial to keeping a cat with more "personality" calm and content. Hope this helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+46points
46of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful alternative to declawing

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
MaoMao
from New York, NY
These take a little effort to learn to put them on properly and they don't stay on for much more than a couple of weeks. We still have to check the cat's claws constantly and replace the fallen soft claws, otherwise you will get scratched when the soft paws fall off. This is a wondeful alternative to declawing which is unnatural and painful
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly if you use them correctly.

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
JPirate
Most of the bad reviews for these are from people with either unrealistic expectations for an item or from people who didn't use them correctly. If you have a nippy or squirmy cat these might be a bit difficult to use but with practice they become a breeze to get on. The most important step to remember is to clip the nails first before putting them on as stated in the directions.
They only last for a few weeks at best but honestly your cats nails will have grown enough in that time to warrant redoing anyway. Having to redo them so often is pricey but so is replacing your furniture. De-clawing requires the removal of part of the cats toe so it is something that would never ever be an option to me. These are a wonderful alternative that will help protect your furniture and your cat if they are an obsessive scratcher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really saves the furniture! lol

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
fhaney0828
from Kingsland, GA
My cat loves to scratch up things, as most cats do. I have tried scratching posts, the double-sticky tape stuff, and my husband was threatening to have her declawed and I don't agree with that at all. So, I thought I would try these before we had to resort to any of that. These do work! The caps on her dew claw and 1st one fall off all the time, but other than that she can't do any real damage with two claws exposed, lol. I really like these, and my new furniture can stay looking nice!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Better Than Expected

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steen
My kitty loves attention and always wants in your lap...by any means possible. I was getting tore up from this, scratches all over, very painful. Putting these on him were super easy, but again, just the touching and attention he was getting meant he loved the experience. They've been on for a few weeks now and it's so much fun, no more cuts and scratches and playing with him is 100% fun now. Only one fell off so far, I just replaced it and it's back to pain free fun! I am super happy with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!!!!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
DPurd
from California
I got these for my fiance's kitten who would constantly scratch me and our bedroom door. These are amazing! I can even give the cat a bath without getting red gashes up and down my arms. While they come off pretty easy because the cat is still a little small, it's easy to reapply if you just wrap them in a blanket. I keep them right next to our bed now whenever we need a new cap. I LOVE THESE!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Useful but not the final solution

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
xdolphin222
I have 4 cats that are declawed and two that are not. I thought I would try Soft Claws as a solution to declawing. First of all the glue in the kits is useless, nails pop right off. I ended up using human fake nail glue and that did work much better. Soft Claws are useful in that they do prevent SOME clawing damage, but not all. Even with the nails on, my cats are still able to dig into the weave of my carpet and pull it out. One of my cats will actually dig into the carpet right beside the scratching post! This is the way I see it. I would rather see a declawed cat with a home rather than a cat with claws that is homeless. Both cats are now scheduled to be declawed in two weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-65points
9of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without!

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
RuffHaus
from Frisco, TX
This product has saved my furniture from destruction! I am using Soft Claws on my kitten until she is old enough to have her front paws declawed. My kitten does not like her paws touched, so I wrap her snugly in a towel while I apply the caps. If the cap is too large I snip off the opening with nail clippers. Cats nails are made of layers that shed and when this happens the cap falls off. 2-3 caps a week fall off of my kitten. The only con is the price. Its a little expensive but still worth not having claw marks on my furniture!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-18points
4of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
LINZWO
from Lenexa, KS
I used these on my adult cat when he was younger and do not have to now because he knows what he can and cannot scratch. My kitten I am still working with but in time he will come around too. Like others have said your cat wont know the power of their claws, well you need to teach them, when they have the covers on they should still be corrected when clawing things.That way they will lear what is right and wrong... Love these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a great solution to clawing

PostedSeptember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
gia101
from Randolph County, NC
Easy to apply, but pay attention, the adhesive is essentially super glue and the potential for disaster is looming if you have a squirmy cat or any penchant for clumsiness. One cat has taken to it very well, the other has chewed off all but three. I will definitely buy these again, because they're saving the carpet and the furniture!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedMarch 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
LoveMeakin
Kitten doesn't even notice them. Two have fallen off after a couple days, but that is only because they weren't put on all the way. Really cute on the kitten and no more scratches on furniture or skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my cat!

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
amberski
from Texas
I have a really laid back cat who occasionally stretches his uncovered claws along the back of a chair or on the carpet. He wasn't adamant about destroying furniture so even if I don't replace one that falls off after 2 weeks right away, I'm not too worried. I don't think this product is THE alternative to de-clawing. I just got lucky with a cat who's so "chill" that he doesn't mind me doing his nails...I think he might like it when I paint them. :) And now he's taken up this really cute habit of biting all his nails (I only put the soft-claws on his front paws). A previous review mentioned that because of the soft claws his or her cat now doesn't realize the severity of their scratching. This is a great point. However, my cat has almost completely given up clawing rendering it futile but he now bites extremely hard!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
JDNYC
I purchased a new italian leather reclining couch and chair. Didnt want to declaw my cat so I purchased these and stuck them on her front and back claws. I followed the instructions to the T, and they worked for about two weeks. Then, yesterday a back and front cap came off while i was at work and my new couches had gashes all over them from her running around on them. I now have to get my cat declawed...sad, but i dont see these as a truly affective alternative if your motive is to save your furniture...all it takes is one day of having them off and your cat cant wait to dig her freshly uncovered claw into your beautiful furniture.
another thing to consider...when you put these on your cat, they begin to realize that they cant hurt you anymore when they extend their (covered) claws...so if u start to use these, youre stuck changing them every 2 weeks to a month for the rest of his/her life. Once they fall off or u decide your cat doesnt need them anymore, they wont udnerstand that their claws can seriously hurt you. I have the cuts to prove it, and it was only one day.
hope this helps, and goodluck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-34points
9of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great declawing alternative

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lbowles
from new haven, ct
works WONDERS on my unruly kitten, A+ product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Soft Claws Clear Cat Nail Caps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedJuly 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
TDRH
We rent, and did not want our cats tearing up the house! We are against declawing, so we tried Soft Claws and LOVE this product! It took about 2 minutes for the cats to forget they were on...they don't even notice them now. The first time we put them on, my husband held the cats and I put them on. Now, I can do it in literally 2-5 minutes. Every week or so, I check to see if any have fallen off, and simply replace the ones that are gone....about 2 per month. The caps last for several weeks, and as the claw grows, they will fall off, but it is a slow process and very low maintanance! I must confess, we use regular super glue (not the adhesive that comes in the package..it was dried up) and so far so good. I doubt that regular super glue is healthly, but it lasts forever, and no adverse effects yet! The cats are not able to lick it or eat it because it dries inside the cap instantly. Good Luck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>