petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder

Handles full range of kibble sizes and shapesSimple to programDispenses food at three selected times a dayFeeds your pet when you're awayDispenses 1/4 - 3 cups per serving
Average Customer Rating:
3.265 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
12
27 out of 49(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Review 21 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment!

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Manju
If you travel a lot, and dont have any one to take care of your pets, Petmate Le Bistro is awsome to have! You can leave your pet for up to 1 week depending on their size, and how much they eat. You can set to feed breakfast, lunch, and dinner with different portion sizes. For me, I only feed my pets breakfast and dinner, and theirs an option to do so. The device works perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mine does not work properly.

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bluebottle
I like this cat feeder. We use it primarily when we go out of town or leave the cat alone on the weekends.
However, I have had one problem with my feeder. It will not let me program lunch time for any time earlier than 1:00 p.m. In other words, I cannot set a "1" for the first number or a "2" for the second number as the cat's lunchtime. I find this very annoying and obviously it must be a defect. Our cat eats breakfast very early and we prefer to give him lunch at around 11:00 a.m. Our feeder will not allow us to program that time. Weird, huh? Has anyone else had this problem?
I would like to buy another, better quality feeder and I doubt that I would buy another LeBistro product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so easy

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
kats8765
After reading all these poor reviews, I feel very lucky that I got one that works perfectly. I've had it over a year and it's wonderful. Everything has worked great, no malfunctions. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 paws instead of 4 is that it has a plastic food bowl instead of stainless steel, and my cats have feline acne on their chin now, and the vet said the plastic bowls are a big cause of feline acne. So now I have to go find a stainless steel bowl to fit in that feeder, or else it's back to hand feeding... :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GOT ANTS?

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
808bellyrubs
from wahiawa, hawaii
We recieved this feeder as a gift to our chihuahua. LORD! Crazy ants everywhere! What a waste of food,ended up thowing everything away! We had it indoors too! GROSS MESS : / NOT recommended.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unreliable

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kippy17
I bought this product a couple of months ago for my cats and at first it worked great, but now it's just not working. I'm not sure if it's jamming or what, but lately it'll come to feeding time and instead of doling out the food, it releases nothing and resets itself. I check on the machine and it's blinking 12:00 and I have to re-set it. Then when it's time to feed, it doesn't dispense and it blinks 12:00. I wish I read the other reviews before purchasing. I am very disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

will be returning soon

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pups1819
from Las Vegas
Just purchased 2 of these medium feeders to replace our 2 older sets and neither one has been consistent. Either one gets jammed or they both do and it is a pain to have to watch and make sure these things are working. I will be looking for an alternative brand since Le Bistro is no better than hand feeding.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thor
Over all it gets the job done. However, I have a large breed dog and the food tends to get stuck and the proper portions aren't dispensed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst Purchase Ever

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
basia007
I have tried many different types of dog food. It just does not work with dog food.
My dog went 2 days before I realized the food was getting stuck and not dropping.
Also very cheap plastic fins thus food gets stuck.
Do not buy for a dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Food stuck in paddles

PostedNovember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
MydogSky
Medium to small chunks of food jam delivery paddles. Sky, my Aust. Cattle Dog loves it when food is delivered, but the system is not trustworthy to leave alone with my dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work long

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
rsmith
from WV
I purchased three of these a few months ago. I had problems immediately with two of them. One came without a piece to hold the backup battery and the other wouldn't feed at all. They replaced both of those and now all three of them do not feed. I have to stick my hand up in the feeder to release the food. What's the point of having an automatic feeder if you have to manually release the food anyway. Do not buy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for smart food-loving cats

PostedJune 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
mrdvm
I had purchased this product to feed my cat while on short vacations. Initially I liked the product, but after an initial testing period of 2 days my cat learned how to reach up into the dispenser to get to the food. Therefore, if you cat has smarts and is food oriented this product is NOT for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the best thing ever !!!

PostedMay 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yaz66
I was fortunate enough to get two of the newest Le Bistro Automatic feeders (5lb).
The company sure listened to the complaints of commenters from 2006 -2008 and made improvements.
1) The unit now has the option to use an adaptor instead of batteries if you wish.
2)You can program different amounts of meals to be served during the day (I serve my 3 cats 1/4 cup for breakfast and 1/2 cup for dinner).
3)You dont need to reprogram the unit after replacing batteries; per the manual (I have not had to do this yet because my batteries are still going strong).
4)When I first got the units I thought the programming was going to be difficult from what past consumers had said; but it was so simple to program. It took me less than 3 minutes to program one unit (and that was with only looking in the manual on how to clear the amounts served and how to bring up the breakfast, lunch and dinner menu). I dont know why past consumers had such difficulty but I'll give them the benefit of figuring that the company made the programming much more simpler because if they didnt make any improvements, then these people better stay away from anything electronic that needs to be programmed because it couldnt get any easier.
5)I did follow the recommendation of a couple of people who said they had to cut a circle out of a paper plate to have less food dispensed. The maual does clearly state that the amount of food dispensed depends on the size of the food. One of my units has kibble that is approx. 1/2" and does serve 1/4 cup of food exactly (I measured just to see). The other unit has kibble that's approx. 1/4" and the unit served between 1/4 to 3/8 of a cups. So I cut a circle out of a paper plate to fit between the hopper and the wheel that serves the food. I was lucky and on my first attempt, the circle was large enough to serve only 1/4 cup of food. The unit does cough up a few extra kibble (5 - 10 extra pieces) that comes from the wheel but not enough to make any difference.
6)I found the machine to be very quite. The only noise you hear is the food comming out into the bowl.
7)The only thing about the unit I dont like is the cheap plastic used for the hopper. When I close the lid or turn the hopper to lock it into place, I'm sometimes feel that I may crush the plastic.
I would highly recommend this feeder to other people.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not reliable

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
JLWR
Worked okay for 9 months, except cat could get extra food by reaching in and pulling out. Now it only dispenses every 1 out of 4 feedings. We are having to constantly check it, and often manually feed. Don't know what we are going to do come vacation time. For $85, it was definitely not worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Cat Proof!

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catgrrl
This worked well until my cat figured out how to get as much food as he wanted out of it. He reached up inside the chute and tore the rubber strips off the dispenser. The machine is destroyed, and I can't find any way to have it repaired, so I'm faced with adding a hunk of plastic to a landfill or keeping it in the basement forever.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

PostedApril 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bing707
I have had this product for almost 1 year and it has worked perfectly. It took me ten min. to set up, and it has made my life soooooo much easier! It not only allows my cat to be on a perfect feeding schedule with not worries to me but it also made my cat disassociate me with his food, so he never wakes me up to feed him!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of Junk

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
quatrogatos
This worked for about 48 hours and then the entire unit failed. Probably bad internal electronics. I changed batteries, reset them, there was absolutely no display. The thing literally was an expensive piece of junk. I am so glad I was watching to see how it performed before it depended on it or my cats would have starved. Don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good at first...

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
akmalamute
We enjoyed the 5lbs. feeder for the first 7 months. Our only gripe with it was that you couldn't save the settings when turning it off, then turning it back on and you had to re-set it each time. At that point we would have recommended it. But after 7 months, the feeder stopped dispensing the food in the set amount. Our dog was getting fed but it was only a very small portion. Instead of feeding 2.5 cups, it only dispensed out .5 cups. Big difference.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeder

PostedJanuary 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
whodoneit
from Columbia, SC
Had it 4 months now. Use Science Diet. Holds a full bag. I have 2 cats, and set it to feed twice a day. Easy to clean the bowl. Still using original batteries, but if you need to replace batteries it needs to be turned upside down, so you need to take off bowl to prevent food from spilling all over. Should redesign battery location. Wtherwise, a great thing to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stopped working

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
dmbfan
I purchased this product because I figured it would be perfect for when I am out of town for the weekend. After working fine for about 2 months, it just plain failed. Unfortunately this happened during a period when I had left for 3 days, and my cat did not get fed because of product malfunction. After reading 2 other similar reviews out of a total of 10, I would not consider this a dependable product, unless you consider a 30% early failure rate acceptable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Petmate Le Bistro Portion Control Automatic Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Way to Lose Weight -- Paws Down!

PostedJanuary 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Redman
from Pleasanton, CA
Our cat was affectionately described as "hefty," but after the vet declared him morbidly obese, we struggled with his diet. His hunger made him aggressive towards the other four members of the household and he bullied all three humans into feeding him. But thanks to LeBistro, he's turned into a new cat. Six months later, he's almost half his original weight (we gradually dialed down the amount), and he's nice to us again--even to the other cat! He still begs--very gently, but he doesn't pester. He knows that LeBistro is the only reliable food-giver. We've never had a problem with the unit. It's worked perfectly every time. Thanks to LeBistro, we don't have to choose between a happy unhealthy cat and an unhappy healthy one. We now have a happy AND healthy cat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>