petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper

Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper

Soft but rugged constructionFloats high on the waterBrightly coloredUnsinkableGreat for interactive play
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Review 1 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toy

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, CO
My dog loves playing fetch with this toy more than any other toy. She refused to jump in my car (Ford Explorer) until I got this toy. I threw it in my car and ever since, she can jump in my car by herself. The same happened with her jumping off a dock into water. She just absolutely loves this toy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water toy

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Haddam, CT
My water loving, swimming obsessed Golden Retriever absolutely loves this wonderful lightweight Amphibious toy! Have tried many other types of water toys, none can compare with this one. We both declare "A BIG THUMBS UP!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Durable

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Sadly the quality of the product has declined. This is one of the few toys my dog will fetch & bring back so I've continued to buy them, but no more. They used to last a couple of months but with the last several, the rope has frayed and broken off at the attachment point. I watch him carefully to make sure he is not chewing the rope, but he's a terrier and he likes to grab it by the rope and shake it like prey when he comes out of the water. A few shakes is all it takes for the rope to start to fray and then it breaks. The most recent one broke the same day I got it so I plan to return it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Favorite

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Racine,Wi.
This has always been my dog's favorite toy. He has a number of toys , but this is THE one. I have a yellow lab & this toy is very durable & lasts a very long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sanford, NC
It doesn't last very long. My dog had it torn apart within a month of receiving it. It's long since been in the trash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than plastic bumpers sold at pet stores

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach CA
When retrieving bumpers my dog bites on them as he swims back to shore. Within a total of approximately 60 minutes of retrieving plastic bumpers, he has bitten through the plastic in several places and it will take on water; we were constantly having to drain out the water between throws and, even at that, the holes and cracks would become so large that the bumper would eventually sink. Though we've only used the Chuckit! bumper once (for a total of 20 minutes) it seems that it is going to be much more serviceable. The middle section of the bumper is not hollow like plastic bumpers so it's not going to fill up with water. I'm looking forward to using this for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great water toy!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Reno NV
My dog is very hyper so when trying to fetch a ball in the water...well lets just say she bobs for it instead. She is able to grab this one, it is easy to toss and it has withstood her jaws that rip many other toys apart :).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

wasn't happy with what it cost as to how long it lasted

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from massachusetts
this toy maybe fine for small dogs, however anyone with big dogs, like mine a 90 lb shepard, that loves playing on the beach , the problem is if 2 "big dogs" use it as a "tug a war toy" it doesn't last, you would think this toy is made for dogs, dogs have more powerful mouth's than humans ,that the company would have put more time into this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted my money....

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Woodbridge, VA
....as my dog (23-lb Boston Terrier) destroyed this toy in less than 20 minutes with pieces of it strewn throughout my yard. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great durability, poor function

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
My dog and I go to the water all the time, I bought this item because I had a similar type product and it was getting old. I like how the product is made because it is durable and it floats very well. My criticism is in the function. The length of the rope should be a bit longer to be able to get more distance as well as the weight of the item. Other than those two criticisms the materials used are great I just wish that I could chuck the thing farther into the water like my previous toy because my dog likes to swim.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Live in South Florida (puppy from Cape Cod, MA
My Dobe, now named Fritz, LOVES this toy. We did our first "pool play" today. he had a great time. Still won't jump into the pool n his own (his young); but, he will step onto a "foam" raft. Looks like a Surfing Dobe!! I could get him to jump from the raft into the water and towards the steps to get out. I think it really improved his self-confidence with the pool and water.
Enjoy!
Fritz
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
My 4-month old puppy loves this toy! She's still learning to fetch, and this makes it more fun....into the kiddie pool and out again :o) The color is awesome. I can find it anywhere in the yard or water and the size is just right .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST POOL TOY

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is the best pool toy EVER! It floats high in the water and doesn't sink when my dogs try to retrieve them. My 2 golden retrievers love them in and out of the pool!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Floats Good

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
I liked this toy alright but would've liked it to be a bit bigger. I got it so my dog when swimming wouldn't lose track of it if I threw it far into the lake. He likes it a lot though and so far it is worth the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Much Fun

PostedMay 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
My dogs love to fetch this both in and out of the water and it helps that it's easy to throw for them. Durable materials have made this indestructible even for my Jack Russell who finds a way to destroy everything. Easy to see in the water too...my swimming Corgi loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great training toy

PostedAugust 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte NC
My two year old lab loves this toy and I am now training our 5 mo old lab using the same bumper...best bumper out there...nice and bright, easy for even the baby lab to grab on to and swim back with...this is a great toy for doing retrieving exercises on ground too...ordering more as when I do multiple retrieves this the best bumper I have come across.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chuckit! Amphibious Bumper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great floating retriever

PostedJuly 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
from HF,WV
My Golden loves this toy- it is very bright to see when we throw it in the river- easy for him to retrieve and the price wasnt bad either!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.